We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lunch”
Review of Thomaston Cafe

Thomaston Cafe
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Thomaston
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Farm to table. Locally sourced foods with fresh baked goods. Specializing in local beef, lamb, and pork.
Salem NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stopped there with a group of friends, six all together. Everyone loved what they ordered , served by a pleasant wait staff. I got the haddock chowder which reminded me of mom's. My husband enjoyed the fish cakes. We also shared a piece of key lime pie that was as good if not better than any we have had in Key West.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseySure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go here.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Look, I don't normally go on sites like this and write reviews unless I really have something to say. So, with that in mind, this place is downright AWFUL. It's mostly the food that is my gripe, but the service was bad and the prices were just plain unfair, given the quality of the food. We were tourists in the area, and on a vacation, you hope to get great meals so you don't waste a meal with a bad experience. Restauranteurs should keep this in mind before they open up in a touristy place. By the way, if you aren't a yuppie, don't go here. It ain't for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeguy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredibly Underwhelming”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Overpriced and bland. Our waitress was unfriendly and inattentive, the coffee was definitely middle-of-the-road, and the food, though served quickly, was no-frills. My husband ordered a scallop & brie omelette, which consisted of eggs, scallops and cheese - period. This place counts on their quaint downtown location to make up for an entirely forgettable experience. Drive 10 minutes further to Rockland. You'll thank me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cognosanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We waited a long time, the food was not good, & the service was terrible.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We waited a long time. They were not particularly friendly. Finally we were seated at a table in a dark corner. There were flies, the food was overpriced & not good. They were out of many items & we ate at 12:30. We finally walked to the register as no one would bring us our bill. We were on vacation & very disappointed..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustlismygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had a recommendation for the thomaston cafe and we were passing by on Sunday so we stopped. Quaint and small but full of people who were genuinely glad to have us. Seafood cioppino was the choice. Enjoyed every bit of it down to the last spoonful of broth. A definite revisit is in order.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomaston Cafe also viewed

Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Thomaston Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing