We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Lantern B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This B&B is exactly what you expect of a quaint New England town. A well kept property overlooking the river greets you with the comforts of home. We enjoyed the restaurant recommended to us for dinner. You have to stop for gelato in town across the river! Breakfast was fantastic! We've never had puffy pancakes before and they were delicious! Would definitely recommend a stay here, and would stay here again if we make it back to Maine!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
59
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent a short overnight stay at the Black Lantern. It was a great introduction to New England, having just flown in to Boston. A fantastic breakfast, peaceful room with great views of the river , and a tour of the magical garden with fresh produce and friendly chickens. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesEcossais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Mid-Coast Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I were bike touring across Maine, and we called the Black Lantern in the afternoon. They had one room left, so we happily took it and headed towards Brunswick. When we got there, Tom was very hospitable. He provided space for us to store our bikes, and suggested some great dinner (and dessert) spots in town. For those of you who may be bike touring, the Black Lantern is about one minute from a bike path bridge over the Androscoggin River that links to the main path along the south side of the river. After dinner and gelato in town, we slept soundly in the cozy room. Breakfast in the morning was nicely done (very tasty poached eggs!), which made a good start for us before we took a last look at the view of the river from the back yard and headed northeast along the coast towards Camden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Tom and Judy are excellent hosts (and great cooks!) They made us feel very welcome, and provided lots of suggestions and help with our 3-day stay in Topsham. They were especially gracious and friendly to our 12-year-old son, who would have gladly stayed here for another week. And the location above the river is wonderful, with pleasant landscaping and a nice view. In short, the Black Lantern is what every B&B should be. Say hi to Wags and Mopsy for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradAndTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The directions provided by the hosts on their own website are excellent and make this an easy find. Beautiful old house that has been well restored. Offers a great night's sleep, although in early May twilight comes early in this neck of the woods. and the light may wake you earlier than you think. If you like to run/walk there is a nice paved trail nearby that is safe and fun. Adirondack chairs outback overlook the river and you can relax and enjoy the view. Front porch also if it is warm enough to be outside. You can walk to dinner locations or trot around the streets to see what small town America is all about. Memories of a New England childhood were easily stirred. Tom, a retired Naval officer, and Judy are very nice hosts. They have done a wonderdful job in restoring this quaint home. What a joy to spend a night here vice the chain hotels that we find so often traveling. Only a few miles from the coast and nearby to the Moxie soft drink museum. Glad I found this spot and would return if in the area again. Oh,, and the ample tasty breakfast may have you not wanting to eat lunch for you will be satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoopC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was a last minute stay and Tom and Judy could not have been more gracious. The room was very comfortable. Tom made sure that I had space to do my paperwork and etc. Breakfast was very good. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Anyone that comes to this area should really check out the Black Lantern.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed just for one night, but wished it could have been for longer. Our group took 2 of the 3 rooms for hire. Tom made us feel completely at home (his wife was away this weekend). The rooms were great…with down comforters, quilts and fun towels. Local magazines and info for area restaurants available. Breakfast was delicious! Thought the road would be quieter traffic-wise than it was (the only negative - and only for the front 2 rooms). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trughouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
1.1 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.7 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Property: Black Lantern B & B
Address: 57 Elm St, Topsham, ME 04086-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing