We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect property, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Lantern B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Perfect property, perfect location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perfect is the operative word here - I have stayed in several Bed and Breakfasts over the years and this was by far the best! My friend and I needed to cross Maine off of our bucket list, so we booked sight unseen a complete WEEK with Tom and Judy. We had the Androscoggin room with the beautiful river view. We had the perfect hosts in Judy and Tom. We had fabulous breakfasts with Judy's prize winning baked goods and entrees! Afterwards, Tom would politely ask "what are your plans for today?" and then would suggest several options of activites with recommended eateries included! Their central location was a perfect base with which to sightsee and have fun during the day, and then come "home" with our own wine, cheese and fruit for a delightful happy hour on the big covered front porch with an old fashioned bench swing and 2 rocking chairs! Other perfect touches were the M&M bowl at the top of the stairs, and a baby grand piano in the "music room" which i got a chance to play. i simply cant say enough (I've probably already caused some people to stop reading this lengthy "essay") how wonderful our experience was. Thank you again, Tom and Judy- you're the best!

Room Tip: The Androscoggin room in back has a beautiful view of the river and the back of the property. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We enjoyed meeting and hosting you both and are pleased that you enjoyed both your visit to Maine and stay with us. Just 'cause you are knocking sites off your "bucket list" doesn't mean you can't revisit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
59
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and had stayed here one night in the Androscoggin Room - very lovely views of the river, and quiet as well. Tom (his wife Judy was sick when we were there) was very helpful, without being intrusive. He served an amazing breakfast. Great location close to downtown Brunswick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Gracious and informative (but not intrusive) hosts. Lovely, comfortable, clean room (we had the back room with a wonderful view of the river). Breakfasts (FULL breakfast, not just a bagel and instant coffee!) were absolutely delicious! Sit by the dock, in the backyard, or just simply rock on the front porch to relax or go into town for a choice of shops and restaurants. Tom and Judy know how to take care of their guests - we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We decided early on that breakfast at our B & B should be special and strive to serve a breakfast that guests will rave about. Thanks! We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We will be coming back in two years because we loved Tom and Judy that much. This Inn is ideally located to every point of interest without breaking the bank. There are three rooms to chose from and the accommodations are stellar. The breakfast alone will have you waking up and running down the stairs like a little kid in anticipation of what is coming out of the kitchen. Believe me, I had to sit on my hands so I wouldn't clap in glee when the Dutch Baby came out. Tom and Judy provide the "little touches" and there are too many to mention. Just go and get a room and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for the great comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return stay. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Black Lantern in order to attend a Bowdoin reunion at the end of May/beginning of June. The Inn is ~2 miles from the college. Although we arrived later than we anticipated (10 pm), we called ahead and Tom kept the tree lights on so the Inn was easily found along an otherwise dark street. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated with a garden and river view. Tom and Judy ask for your breakfast time so everything will be ready when you arrive at the table. The breakfasts were superb - fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, and specialty items like Dutch pancakes, along with a never-empty pot of fresh coffee. Tom and Judy are very experienced in the B&B business, and know what it takes to keep guests coming back. They are good conversationalists with a wealth of knowledge about the area. They have traveled extensively themselves, and take pride in making their establishment consistent with the highest standards in hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FromBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We enjoy meeting guests "from away" - A Maine Expression - and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Bowdoin College Reunion. While in town you are correct that most of our neighbors houses go dark after dark so we have enough outside lights to alert our guests that they are "home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Black Lantern, We stayed for 6 nights, and enjoyed every moment. The Innkeepers, Judy and Tom, were extremely accommodating, going out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfasts, served at a time of our choosing, were always delicious. Very convenient to I-295, Route 1, and Brunswick, where there are lots of shops and restaurants. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. Come back again when the flowers are in full bloom.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first stay at the Black Lantern. My son and I are from Santa Monica, CA and on a college tour of the New England area. We had just driven 6 1/2 hours through a blinding snowstorm from Williams College to Bowdoin, a trip that normally takes 4 1/2-5 hours. Every time I called owner, Tom Connelie, to update him on my ETA (my son was supposed to stay overnight in the dorms) I heard a comforting voice. My son new the minute he got to Bowdoin and met some students that he didn't want to stay at Bowdoin and asked if he could come with me. Not only did Tom give me a separate room for my son, he refused to charge me for it. We didn't arrive to the Black Lantern until almost 10pm. It was such a relief to arrive at such a cozy, idyllic location. Tom met us with a smile, a warm greeting, offered us beverages, and asked what we'd like for breakfast. Both rooms were lovely and we slept great. Tom was up at 5am making us and the other guests a delicious gourmet breakfast. He also sent me a favorite belt I'd left behind, at his expense! I can't wait to go back to the Black Lantern and it's wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and quiet. I stayed in the Fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
0.7 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Property: Black Lantern B & B
Address: 57 Elm St, Topsham, ME 04086-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing