We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isleview Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent little Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Can't say enough good things about the people in this part of Maine but one things stand out and it's how friendly the locals are. We stayed in the budget room but It's only budget because of the price. The room was clean, organized, and cool for the +30 degree temps over the last few days. Lobster pounds are all around the motel and some of the best chowder I ever had. Minutes drive to the island and everywhere you go there is available information of all the best sites. If you are a photographer go to the visitors information centre and they can provide you with a list of places to take great photos recommended by Canon. We will definitely stay here on our next trip which I hope is very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanSt_John_s_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your review of our budget rooms. They are small in size but the price is low and most couples are willing to give up the space for the price. Thanks again and we are glad you found the rooms clean and cool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    58
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
88
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Exceptionally good value for money, expecially if one considers that everything else in the same area is at least double price. We were staying in the budget room. It is small indeed, but two of us could easily make it with four suitcases. The rooms are clean, newly furnished and they even have a good, fresh smell to them (a rather unique combination in our experience). The hotel is run by its family owners, who were friendly, very helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We rented Cottage #1 for an extended Fourth of July weekend and had a wonderful stay. For such a busy weekend, it was actually nice being just off the island - calmer and no backups departing on Sunday. The cabin was immaculately clean upon arrival and housekeeping came in to tidy up and deliver fresh towels each day. We had four adults and one crazy toddler and never once felt cramped. There are wonderful grills, picnic tables and Adirondack chairs for guest use. And although it was too hot to make use of the fire pit, it looked like a great place to hang out. We scoped out a lot of the other cottage options on island and Isleview is really one of the best values for staying near Bar Harbor/Acadia. We will return again!

Room Tip: Cottage #1 is roomy and has everything you need for a comfortable stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

First, these cottages are on the main road going into Acadia National Park area, thus you can hear traffic all night, even with the wall air conditioner on. We booked a queen cottage after reading how small the motel rooms are, and frankly, I can't imagine rooms smaller than the cottage room. The room feels like it's a mobile home bedroom with the same paneling you'd find in a trailer. The small bathroom has the same feel, especially the small fiberglass shower. The shower head is forceful and there is good water pressure, though. The cottage has a very small dorm refrigerator and microwave. On the plus side, the cottage is very clean. Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLAhyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Most guests book our property because we are centrally located, budget priced, have good reviews for cleanliness and still offer a small breakfast. We offer a virtual tour of each room type you can book on our website so you can see what you are booking. The motel rooms are larger than the queen cottages because they sleep four, your comment may have referred to our budget rooms above the office. Most of the cottage rentals in the area are located on Route 3 so we all have the traffic issue to deal with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in cottage #4 and enjoyed our stay. The person who checked us in was distracted by a crying baby, but was still efficient. The cottage and its furnishings are in acceptable condition. The bed and linens are comfortable. The shower is pretty good. The a/c works. Everything was clean. There is quite a bit of traffic on the road, but the cottage is far enough back from the road that traffic noise is not a real issue during the day, and the traffic falls off to nothing at night. We would stay again. It's small inside, but hey, it's a cottage, not a house. There are several places to eat within a couple of miles. Access to Bar Harbor Island is great - this place is less than a mile off the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you were comfortable and satisfied. I do apologize for my crying grandson at check-in, he had just woken up from his nap when the door bell rang and I had to grab him and bring him with me to check you in while his parents were out to dinner. They live in Chicago and I only see them once or twice a year, so it won't happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were in the area to attend a wedding and take in the sights in Bar Harbor. Pleasant check in and check out, with the owner being quite helpful in providing advice on where to eat. The cabin was well appointed and very comfortable, with heat, a/c, and fan. Fridge and coffee pot were in good repair. No dampness in bedding, even though the weather was very wet. In fact, we noted excellent quality of bedding with very soft sheets etc.. Towels were smallish but clean. Breakfast was a bit carb heavy (2 kinds of pastries, no cereal or other option). Fresh fruit would welcome, but good quality orange juice is provided. Highway is close, but not disturbingly so.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jkmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

3 of us stayed in cabin 1 (two adults and one young adult) and there was plenty of space. A living room area, a good sized eat in kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and stove, two sleeping areas each containing a queen bed and a twin, two large closets and a full bath. One of the sleeping areas, the one just outside the kitchen, has a curtain that can be lowered for privacy. The back bedroom has a door that can be closed. The beds are comfortable. Air conditioning in the living room area and the back bedroom. We were extremely pleased with the set up. There was even a gas grill right outside our cabin door which we made use of.The cottages are not far from the street but not right on the edge of the street. There is also a small airport near the cottages but it is not a particularly active airport that we could see (or hear). Activity there does not interrupt sleep time. A very good vacation visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia with a very nice place to stay for three days. As a small bonus, we were surprised when we went to check in that we got a 5% discount on the balance due because we were paying the balance in cash. Check in area contains lots of brochures on local attractions. Our eating out was mostly in Bar Harbor and we used Yelp as our guide. Facilities in our cottage allowed us to cook some complete meals which helps those families with a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
7.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Open Hearth Inn
Open Hearth Inn
#1 of 2 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isleview Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isleview Motel and Cottages

Property: Isleview Motel and Cottages
Address: 1169 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isleview Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located less than one mile from Mount Desert Island and just minutes away from Acadia National Park. We are family owned and operated. The Isleview offers a variety of cottages and motel rooms to meet your lodging needs and budget. All of our one or two bed cottages have cable flat screen TV, WI-FI, coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave, heat, A/C and bathroom with shower. Our motel rooms offer 32" flat screen TV's and mini fridge. Our low cost budget rooms on the 2nd floor are a "sleep and go" option for adults only. We have picnic tables, grills and a campfire area for guests to enjoy. There are 3 lobster shacks within walking distance for the true Maine dining experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Isleview Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isleview Motel And Cottages Hotel Trenton
Isleview Motel And Cottages Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing