We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean budget room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isleview Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean budget room”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Budget rooms are pretty cramped - def cannot hide a third person in there. It's cheap which is great. And really clean! (thanks housekeeping!) Ideal if you weren't planning on spending any time at the facility except to sleep. Free wifi and free continental breakfast that included coffee, juice, donuts, muffins, and pastries. Bed wasn't super great but sheets smelled wonderfully clean. Don't forget your toothbrush/toothpaste because they don't provide you with these.

Room Tip: Budget rooms are extremely small. Get a cottage if you want a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beauventures B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We are glad you found the room clean and enjoyed the free Wi-fi and breakfast. The Budget rooms are small and it is noted on the website so you know you are paying a lower price for a smaller room. More room and/or amenities are available in cottages or motel rooms. As far as providing toothbrush/toothpaste; I can say in all my travels in the US and abroad, including the higher end Bellagio in Las Vegas, I have never been in a hotel that provided these, especially a budget priced motel such as Isleview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    59
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
89
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I got a budget room with the $5 web discount. These rooms are located above the office and I was given room 15, which is a decent size with a separate bathroom and sink/mirror en-suite. Doughnuts, muffins, pastries and coffee are available for guests in the morning (the coffee was particularly excellent). It is in walking distance to two lobster pounds and a short drive to Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. I recommend this as a good alternative to those who don't want to pay island prices. Also, it is a little more convenient for those who want to explore the "Quietside" of the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxxma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate when customer reserves a room and understands what they are getting for the price. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I really wanted to give this quaint cottage five stars...there is much to love about the cottage.

Pros: cute as a button. Clean and unique. Out door seating. Central location to Bar Harbor and Acadia. Nice seating area outside the office/breakfast area...great to sit and drink your coffee and enjoy a pastry. Budget friendly rates.

Cons: the biggest problem was the mattress...very soft..sagging . Worst bed we had during our 13 day Maine vacation. The busy road and airplanes were mentioned on these reviews...so that was not a deal breaker. Shower is very small...as is the bathroom. Will not stay again because of the beds.

Room Tip: The motel rooms might have a better quality bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawanda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are glad you were pleased with the cottage overall. As I stated when you complained about the mattresses in the office, you were the only guest to ever complain about them! To back that up there is a review further down on the same cottage saying they "slept soundly in the comfy beds." Since you stated you had bad backs I'm sure you prefer a certain style mattress and this just wasn't it. I also had to chuckle because two days later, the next guest came in from that cottage and said it was the best nights sleep he'd ever had!I wish we weren't given a lower rating just for this reason because we have to go with the general consensus on complaints that we receive. In the motel business, mattresses are like Goldilocks and the 3 bears, the same mattress is different things to different people. We have gotten so many positive comments on the beds in this cottage that for now they will stay. Perhaps you could try one of our queen cottages or motel rooms with a different style mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
565 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed in the couples only budget rooms and have no complaints. the rooms are not terribly big, but the price is right and you have exactly what you need and will probably not be in the room much given the playground that mt desert island and acadia are. the check inn and check out process was painless, we had free wifi and the location is good for exploring both sides of mt desert island. when you arrive you may be concerned by the sound of aircraft flying overhead, while that takes place during the day I cannot recall hearing planes after dark. The rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: take shower at night, water is hotter then
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We loved everything about our stay in Cabin #2. It had every convenience...there were even dishtowels near the little sink, and a doorstop for those trips to the car with luggage. The flowers outside our window were cheery, and there was ample seating inside and out. We slept soundly in the comfy beds. The owners were very helpful, giving us maps of MDI and of Ellsworth, recommending a fantastic pizza place in Ellsworth, and explaining the parking situation in Bar Harbor (parking can sometimes be non-existent at dinner time...so we ate our main meal there mid-afternoon and our breakfast really early...no problem). We chose the Isleview for its great reviews in Trip Advisor and its terrific value, but also because it was convenient to both MDI and the turnoff to the Schoodic Peninsula, which are in opposite directions. Since only had two days, we wanted to experience both locations without having to retrace our steps. The Isleview was as we hoped, a location that makes it easy to travel in either direction, and a homey place to be when not on the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moseyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleviewcottages, Owner at Isleview Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were happy with your stay. We appreciate our customers taking the time to write about their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent five nights in Cottage #1 and were completely satisfied with both the service and facilities. The kind, friendly owners were readily available to answer questions, housekeepers came daily to empty our trash and bring fresh towels, and everything was immaculately clean and orderly. One of the two bedrooms is a walk-through to the bathroom and back bedroom, so there is minimal privacy in that space, but that didn't matter to our three pre-teen sons. We'd also wondered if staying in a cottage off the island would be a difficulty, but the location of this place is perfect, less than five minutes from the island, and though located on the main road heading to Acadia, didn't seem noisy to us. Cottage #1 is tucked behind the office building a bit, so maybe that made a difference? Staying here, we were also fifteen minutes from Ellsworth which meant easy access to grocery stores, a laundromat, and a Wal-mart, conveniences we appreciated. For the price, I can't imagine a better place to stay during your Acadia National Park adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 004_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed in cottage #4 which was adequate for 2. The room was immaculate. The bed and linens were comfortable. Traffic noise was not a problem with a/c running. The owner was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend the free Island Explorer bus. It picked us up right on the property and we were in downtown Bar Harbor in 45 minutes. What a convenience, we did not have to fight the traffic or hunt for places to park. Across the street was Downeast Lobster Pound, so we did not use the car during our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
8.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
0.1 mi away
Open Hearth Inn
Open Hearth Inn
#1 of 2 in Trenton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isleview Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isleview Motel and Cottages

Property: Isleview Motel and Cottages
Address: 1169 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isleview Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located less than one mile from Mount Desert Island and just minutes away from Acadia National Park. We are family owned and operated. The Isleview offers a variety of cottages and motel rooms to meet your lodging needs and budget. All of our one or two bed cottages have cable flat screen TV, WI-FI, coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave, heat, A/C and bathroom with shower. Our motel rooms offer 32" flat screen TV's and mini fridge. Our low cost budget rooms on the 2nd floor are a "sleep and go" option for adults only. We have picnic tables, grills and a campfire area for guests to enjoy. There are 3 lobster shacks within walking distance for the true Maine dining experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Isleview Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isleview Motel And Cottages Hotel Trenton
Isleview Motel And Cottages Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing