We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Liked the location. Kayaked in the bay. They have a small ramp. The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had an Elvis night and our granddaughter (11) fell in love with him. There was no shade but we were lucky that we did not have real hot days. We did have cool (cold) nights and we didn't bring blankets. The Island Explorer Bus stops here and is a great way to get around if you don't want to use your car. The showers were hot but could probably be updated - they were very clean. They provide full hookups and getting Directv is a sure thing. The roads were gravel covered but moving vehicles made a lot of dust that was annoying. The grandchildren loved the pool, riding their bikes and kayaking right in the campground. You can walk to a great Lobster Pound (Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound). There are also several other right outside the entrance. Ellsworth is just 8 miles away and offers a Shaws, Hannaford, Walmart, Home Depot, restaurants, L.L. Bean, pharmacies and gas and many many other places. We have this on our will do again in the future list.

Room Tip: Sites near the water are great. Please note that the campground is located off the end of a runway a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_J_D_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just came back on June 28, 2013 from staying at this campground for 5 nights. The campground is very clean and the people in the store are very helpful and made you feel welcome.. The showers and bathrooms were immaculate there is really hot water in the showers. The only negative thing is as others have said, most of the sites have no shade. It was very hot two of the days we were there. I can't imagine what it's like in July, August. There are a few nice shady spots by the water. It was extremely quiet during our stay that was nice for us. I thought it was kind of funny I never saw anyone outside their campers. Not a campground for kids only a pool, but there is much to do in the area. There was still paving going on in front of the campground. I read that in some of last years reviews before we went, the wait in traffic wasn't too long. Thursday night the Elvis guy was great! Everyone always has a different experience ours was nice, now if I'd had the barking dog it would have been different! So for a nice home base, stay here enjoy the beauty of the area and have a nice trip. Oh, Walmart and Home depot are not far away either for the last minute things you forgot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a very peaceful & relaxing stay at the Narrows Too Cabins. Overall it was a quiet campground.
The office/camp store has a good supply of basic camp items. Staff on site were friendly & helpful. The campground is well maintained.
If you are coming in a private plane, as we did, this is a great stop. We were able to rent a car at the airport which backs up to the campground.
A small grocery store (IGA?) was within 5 miles and had pretty much whatever you might need.
Fairly close to many things. The ride to Bar Harbor was about 20 min depending on traffic. Aprox 30 min's to Acadia Natl park. We visited the park several times to catch the view at different times of day for some nice pictures. The only regret we have is not getting up at 3:30am to drive to the top of the Cadillac mountain for sunrise.
Our camp neighbors went and said it was the best part of their trip.
We loved our stop at the Trenton Bridge lobster.
The cabins have 2 sets of bunk beds. 1 lower bed is a double. Big enough & comfortable.
A small dorm size refrigerator, ceiling fan, several electric outlets. Windows all around for good ventilation. Picnic table and a fire ring. Water is hooked up outside at the rear of the cabin. The only missing amenities is the bathroom. Its about a 500 ft walk to a very nice community bathhouse. It would be nice if they had porta potties or something a little closer by. The bathouse was always clean. It had 5 private shower stalls and a large bathroom area with multiple sinks/mirrors and electric outlets. Behind the bathhouse is a community dishwashing station. Garbage dumpsters were never far away either. A nice big comunnity rec room with free wi-fi. At least 1 night a week they have live entertainment. We were lucky enough to catch up with Elvis during our stay. Sometimes they have Roy Orbison or a magician.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Returning to this campground for a visit after a few years' absence, there were many improvements to the facility and grounds. While I consider the term "resort" to be a bit of a stretch, the campground provided everything we needed for our ten day stay. I feel it is a bit pricey considering there's no trash pickup at your site plus the added cost of wi-fi($6 per day). The staff was professional, friendly and accommodating. The sites for big rigs are open and level and have enough space between for adequate privacy. Caution: the signage on the road was difficult to see the first time in, but nearly impossible to see at night as the sign isn't currently lighted. Even coming in many times at night, we still had to use much caution, Combined with the roadwork being done, entry always was hectic(even with three entry driveways). The chief problem was the lack of lighting on the street and on the sign. Overall, this campground has a great location for use as a base camp to explore the area. We travel in a motorhome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arkygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our stay at Narrows Too was one of the best we have had at a campground. Our site was level and situated in a perfect spot. We had a gorgeous view on the inlet and watched the tide go in and out. We had trees for privacy on both sides of us, but none overhead so the sun could shine in and the breeze from the inlet kept the bugs away. We were on site #311, one of the pricier sites but it was well worth it and I would recommend this exact spot. The pool was simple, but clean, nice, and heated. Two days in a row we had the whole thing to ourselves. The store was also very clean and seemed very new. I can't comment on the restrooms or showers because we did not use them. I didn't give it the highest rating because I don't think all the campsites our that great(many lacking privacy), but the ones along the shore are wonderful. This also isn't a campground for people looking for kid activities. We have 7 children so we tend to make our own excitement, but I did notice there was no playground and most of the campers were older in big giant motorhomes. So I felt like I needed to make sure everyone was a bit quieter as not to annoy the neighbors.
Overall though, this is a nice place to camp and close to all the major activities in Bar Harbor. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention, this campground is right next to the little airport, but don't worry, we didn't hear planes all night long, but it was fun to watch the biplanes and gliders fly so close overhead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teacupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

As stated in other reviews the campground is a little pricey. Some of the ocean front campsites are nice and bordered by trees between the sites. Other oceanfront sites are not as private and you are right next to another camper with no privacy boudary.

The pool was nice and was heated. The bathrooms were also very clean and their were laundry and free trash dumpsters located throughout the campground.

The campsite for the most part was very quiet at night for the week we were there with the exception of the last night we were there. There is no one from the campground to contact to quiet over zealous, loud, partying campers. It would have been nice to have a representative of the campground staff ride through the campground during the beginning of the quiet time to prevent this as I have seen at other campgrounds.

Overall, I would stay here again. If I were to stay oceanfront I would request one of the more private lots bordered with trees and not the ones where they put another camper right next to you.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay oceanfront I would request one of the more private lots bordered with trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philsphan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to camp. It's conveniently close to Bar Harbor. We found it to be a little on the pricey side. The sites did have any places to dispose of garbage, and when you do dump your garbage, you have to pay extra on top of the site rental. There is a wifi hotspot on site, but again expect to pay extra for the wifi on your site. Don't see that in many hotels. ?? Washrooms are clean, lots well maintained, and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Walshmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
7.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Open Hearth Inn
Open Hearth Inn
#1 of 2 in Trenton
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
12.8 mi away
Patten Pond Camping Resort
Patten Pond Camping Resort
#1 of 4 in Ellsworth
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrows Too Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Too Camping Resort

Address: 1150 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6025
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Trenton
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Narrows Too Camping Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Narrows Too Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrows Too Camping Hotel Trenton
Narrows Too Camping Resort Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing