We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What You See is What You Get”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Open Hearth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Open Hearth Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Trenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What You See is What You Get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

After pouring over reviews and being so disappointed (and shocked) by hotel prices in Bar Harbor, I settled on the Open Hearth Inn. 2 nights by myself (woman alone) and 2 more nights with my husband who had just ridden his bicycle 5000 miles across the US!

Cabins were very cute and we loved the Knotty Pine walls and the quilt on the bed. Very, very clean. Yes, they are small - you know that going in. Big deal. Opened windows when it was hot and turned on heater in the mornings - worked perfectly. Shower pressure was awesome.

We did not use the hot tub, but it looked very inviting. Continental breakfast was adequate, homemade muffins were quite tasty. Proprietors were very sweet and willing to help if needed.

We did not mind the 10 minute drive into Bar Harbor to eat, etc. In fact, we liked being a little more out of the town where it is quiet. You do hear a bit of traffic, but nothing that bothered us.

I would not hesitate to stay there again for a true Maine cabin experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Divebugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    52
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Let me start off by saying we're not usually B&B kind of people - we prefer the modern conveniences and furnishings of hotels - but we were looking for a place near Bar Harbor on very short notice and Open Hearth was available and not too pricy. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a try.

We arrived close to 7PM on Labor Day and were promptly greeted by our host who said he'd been waiting for us. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Before escorting us to our room he took quite a bit of time to show us a map of the area and give us very helpful tips for our visit. We asked for a dinner recommendation and he steered us to the Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound just down the road, where we had a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Getting to the room was a two key, two handed affair so it was a good thing he showed us the way the first time. My wife was a bit nervous over the very steep steps to the second floor rooms. We knew we were booking an upstairs room and the pictures on the web site did show the slanted ceiling, but we didn't realize how annoying that would get. We lost track of how many times we hit our heads trying to get around the bed or getting to the refrigerator, and my wife is barely over 5' tall. The bathroom with shower only was small but functional. The room was very clean, had a small sitting room with a TV and refrigerator, and had wireless internet service that worked flawlessly. Aside from the ceiling, our biggest complaints were the too soft and uncomfortable queen bed, and the traffic noise from Bar Harbor Road. I turned off the window air conditioner midway through the night but then had to turn it back on to try to mask the noise.

Breakfast was self service with some very nice muffins, fresh fruit, cold cereal, and juice boxes.

All in all I'd recommend Open Hearth for anyone who generally enjoys the B&B experience, but it probably wasn't the best choice for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard beach ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

So I read both good and bad reviews of this inn. I have nothing bad to say. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was cute and just what I imagined a cottage to be. Outside we had a bbq and some chairs to sit. The jacquzzi was a great touch. Clean and big - it was great after a few days trekking through Acadia. Its about 20 minutes to the park. The breakfast was fine. I had no bug issues or temperature issues.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 346nicgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

When driving up to the Open Hearth Inn, it doesn't seem like a great place to stay. There are small cottages that look like they need a paint job and the decor certainly isn't great, but the inn keepers are friendly, it is close to Bar Harbor, it is clean, and it was pretty cheap. This is definitely bare bones, though. Really small cabin-like room with not many amenities. I didn't sleep well because the bed was hard as a rock, but some people may have a better experience. There's not much of a breakfast-- it is basically just juice boxes and muffins, but we weren't expecting a huge gourmet breakfast, so it was fine with us. We also didn't mind the small room because we didn't spend much time in it at all.

Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, but I wish that we had paid a little bit more to be in the heart of Bar Harbor and in a more comfortable room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vix814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were only here for one night. It was very clean and charming. Not very big but we were only sleeping here, so it was ok. The cottages are so cute, they are decorated shabby chic, as I said before, very clean. There is air conditioning, and cute little window boxes with loads of flowers. The only downside is that the bathroom shower is very small. The owners were lovely to deal with and they gave us lots of tips on where to go and eat. In the morning they even had homemade muffins ( blueberry, pear, strawberry cheesecake, white chocolate and more..) that were scrumptious! If I am ever in Maine we will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortgageone4mz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a lot of rain when we stayed here, so we spent quite a bit of time in our cabin. These cabins are not for spending a lot of time in though. It's ok for a place to sleep, but even the bigger cabins are very small. We spent a lot of time disposing of flying ants and wondering where they came from. On our last night there we realised there were hundreds of them living in the ceiling.

The heater didn't work too well and I'm not sure if they have AC.

However, the owners are very friendly and helpful and Trenton is quite close to Acadia NP, so all in all it's good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s1llybunnyrabb1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We arrived very early to give ourselves enough time to do everything we wanted to do during our trip to the Bar Harbor, Acadia Park region of Maine. The inn keepers welcomed us and spent lots of time and circles on the maps they gave us ,making certain we understood where and when to go to make the best of the fully booked holiday weekend. They were right on the money! The inn itself is right for the money. Lovely well appointed cottages that were both comfortable and private. My partner snores loudly enough to wake the dead so I try to keep to ourselves as much as possible. Make sure you understand and use the free bus system, it really saves on gas and frustration.

Room Tip: Ask for a single cottage for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildKate34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
8.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Inn

Property: Open Hearth Inn
Address: 1147 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Open Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Trenton
Open Hearth Inn Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing