We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acadia Accessible”
Review of Open Hearth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Open Hearth Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Trenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Last year My wife, my adult son and I stayed in a cottage. Small and cozy but the bathroom was a bit small but for one night it was fine. My review then would have given it 4 stars.
This year we stayed three nights in one of the Loge rooms, D and it was perfect for the three of us and if our other son has come with us, we still would have had plenty of room. The only drawback would be if you don't wish to climb stairs, There is a deck however to relax in should you want to be outdoors. The owners Chuck and Sue were again friendly, pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast was exactly what we needed before heading out for a day at the park. Coffee, tea, juice, yogurts, cereal, fruit and the never ending muffins made hot and fresh each morning. There is an IGA supermarket/gas station a 1/4 mile away and as you've read from other reviews, the entrance to Acadia National Park is only a 15 minute drive. Should we again visit Acadia, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Open Hearth Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just finished a four night stay at Open Hearth Inn...this was our 3rd stay near the national parks and would definitely come again! Owners sue and Chuck offer terrific service and personal attention which was superb. The pros: a great location just 8 miles outside the national park, lovely homemade muffins with a continental breakfast, apartment A was a nice accommodation for our family (2 adults, 4 young kids), both apartments had full kitchen that was well stocked and convenient, the hottub was nice after a long day of hiking (only open at night) rooms were generally quiet and clean, and service was terrific. The cons: understand the property is more cottages and larger motel- type rooms called lodges (2 apartments that are larger, apartment B is largest, although darker than the bright apartment A), the location is right across from the tiny Trenton airport (bi-planes) but we really didn't hear much noise (never durIng the night). Overall, a great value and perfect for our larger family to use as a stepping stone to Acadia.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The place is quaint and clean and the cottages are cozy. The real star is Chuck and Susan's friendliness. We enjoyed Susan's home made fresh muffins every morning and Chucks extensive knowledge of the area really helped us to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggroves44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The owners, Chuck and Susan Starr, made our Maine vacation so much better. We rented a fully stocked apartment for a very reasonable rate and made great use of Chuck's in depth knowledge of the area. We discovered so many lovely spots, and really felt like GUESTS, not customers; an important distinction. We ended up staying 4 nights instead of our planned 3 just because we were so very comfortable there.

Room Tip: Ask to see the apartments!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When we arrived, we were greeted by the owners. They really made us feel welcome and they were so pleasant and very helpful with anything we needed or asked about. When I seen my little cottage I was thrilled, just the cutest little country home. When we opened the door and went in, I just fell in love with it's shabby chic decor and cedar wood through out the cottage. I really felt so comfortable and probably could have stayed there forever. It really was like a home away from home. Thank you for the great stay and being so kind, I know next time I return to Maine this will definitely be the place I choose to stay!!

Room Tip: I am sure that all the cottages are great, our friends had the cottage just next to ours which had i...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We made a last minute decision to visit Bar Harbor and Acadia NP during larbor day so most hotels on the island were pretty much booked by then. We checked out the inn's website after some more research and found the only available option is Suite 2. There is no picture about the suite itself on the reservation page, but the affordable distance of the pace to Bar Harbor and affordable price made us take our chance.

The place turns out to be a big and nice surprise! Although located just next to the highway and a small airport, it is pretty quiet. The house is very old yet it is kept very clean. Not only that I like the outdoor decor also. Inn owners Chuck and Sue were very friendly and gave us many useful guides and tips about the area upon check-in. The place is very convenient just cross the bridge and you would not have problem at all to Bar Harbor if you have a car. Suite 2 is very sweet and cozy. I love the room decor in particular. It looks old for sure but all the stuff from big to small seem to have been carefully selected and neatly put in the house. The couch, the bed, and the rocking chair were very comfortable. Daily housekeeping was done well too. Continental breakfast was more than satisfying, with fresh home made muffins being the highlight. The place is within walking distance to 2 lobster pounds. After day activities of hiking around in Acadia and walking around in Bar Harbor, a lobster dinner and a coze house was just amazing! For the price we paid it was absolutely more than expected. There is a family jacuzzi also, but we didn't get time to check it out. The cottages look nice too from outside. We will for sure choose it again next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ying C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

this place is cute and homey. don't go here if you are looking for a fancy place with all the high tech stuff and posh decor. country decor in the cottages, which are tiny but cozy. nice staff. delicious muffins at breakfast. great prices. overall, exactly what we were looking for. we would like to go again sometime. away from the hustle and bustle of downtown bar harbor and cheaper than in town accommodations.

Room Tip: we had the last cottage in the row, furthest from the main house, so it was quieter and felt more se...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kami3Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
368 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
8.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
0.9 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Inn

Address: 1147 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trenton
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Open Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Trenton
Open Hearth Inn Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing