We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acadia Gateway Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The title is the one thing to keep in mind. Cabins are seasonal, bare-bones accommodations, and are intended to be a place to hang your hat and sleep while in the area.

That said, Acadia Gateway provides simple accommodations. Our cabin shared a building with a second cabin, and it was around 160 square feet. No phone or alarm clock. The accommodations are pet-friendly, and that was a major consideration in booking here. There is plenty of space to walk dogs, and the cabins are very clean. Note: when someone enters or exits the adjoining cabin, you will hear them, but the wall between the cabins is solid enough to buffer interior noises.

Just a couple of gripes. There are TVs in each room, but they are placed on a TV shelf, meaning that you cannot easily lay in bed and see the TV. This is OK if you are only chilling for an hour or so late at night, but if you are rained in all day, this will definitely not be the place for you. And while I don't expect luxury linens, some new pillows with a little thickness would help the bed seem more comfortable and make TV watching in bed much better. An extra pillow in the room might help as well.

The owners are extremely helpful in all ways. I really wanted to like this place better. Like I said, a cabin in a vacation area is really just supposed to be a place to crash at night, and the bed was just not up to par. Given that fact, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend; I'd toss it out there for consideration only.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chowowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2009

Me and my husband stayed at Acadia Gateway Motel with our two dogs. We loved it- the owners are very accomodating to the fact that we had pets. The room was very clean and there was a delicious breakfast place across teh street and it wasn't too far from the national park. WE'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tripper171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York State
12
Reviewed 16 July 2006

We stayed at this motel for two nights in different rooms and found both rooms to be extremely clean. The motel is furnished simply and is dated but it is extremely clean. The hosts are great - a nice family. The rates are reasonable. We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2005

Spent two nights at Acadia Gateway Motel. During the summer season room rates are sky high in this area so I was excited to get Cabin #2 for $175 total for two nights / 3 adults. Up the road and closer to the park the budget Fairfield Inn by Marriott was charging $200 plus a night! The Acadia Gatewat is about 20/25 minutes from the entrance of Acadia National Park. The cabin was extremely clean. The interior is a bit dated and nothing fancy. The cabin has two small bedrooms with one double bed each and a sitting room with a television and 3 chairs. The bathroom is tiny but again very clean. The unit has one large A/C unit in the sitting room, a window fan and one floor fan. If you don't require anything fancy and you don't want to blow all your cash on a place to sleep, the Acadia Gateway is for you. PS - Across from the motel, don't eat at Maine Luau Seafood & Barbeque - food was fair, very small portions and expensive. Next to it is another restaurant (attached to gas station and con. store) that is open for breakfast - excellent, nice pancakes.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 48summits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2005

We stayed in one of the cottages. It was awful, dreary, dark and dank. There was no alarm clock, the blankets was old and musty, there were ants crawling all over. There was also no hot water for the shower. The owner was very nice and tried to fix everything when we complained but it just wasn't worth it. Also, it is right near the highway so all night you hear trucks running through, Never again.

3  Thank aloha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
10.9 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
186 reviews
4.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
6.9 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#35 of 41 in Bar Harbor
23 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Gateway Motel

Address: 329 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-5816
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Hotel Class:2 star — Acadia Gateway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Acadia Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Gateway Hotel
Acadia Gateway Motel Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing