We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Lathones
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathones B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived, checked in & shown to our room. Lovely bright, clean & spacious with a jacuzzi bath & a walk in shower. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before going to change for dinner. Food was good but not exceptional. Service at dinner was not great, we sat with empty plates in front of us for at least 20 mins while the staff were setting empty tables for breakfast. Our dinner was also marred by a very noisy party of foreign golfers who were in the bar, they had no consideration for anyone else (the women were the loudest!). Breakfast was good, a wide selection of food on offer. Service was much better at breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms across the courtyard will be quieter, the road is very busy. Our room had a jacuzzi bath &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I normally try to avoid negative reviews if at all possible, but our experience here prompted one! Booked a standard room for one night, and were very disappointed. There were various scuffs along the white wall which by the looks of it no one had ever tried to clean/remove. The bathroom was extremely basic and in addition to mould in the shower seal, there was a large unsightly crack in the side of the bath which also looked like it had been there for a long time. The heating in the room didn't work either. It reminded both of us much more of a tired budget Travelodge rather than the 'beautiful bedrooms' they advertise on their website.

In the nearly empty bar, we were enjoying a quiet drink when the barman suddenly put on a loud pop channel on the TV, which was both unwelcome and completely out of keeping with the atmosphere of the bar.

On checking out I mentioned the faults in the room to the receptionist who seemed completely indifferent. Poor effort!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DoosanBabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a little disappointed with our room, the bathroom was huge, and obviously designed for disabled use, which would have been fine if the shower hadn't flooded every time we used it!
Also the TV was very dated and we could only get one channel, and had too get out of bed to turn off!
It was also very noisy, not only the traffic, but also the occupants of the room upstairs! I suggest carpet might be a good option!
We couldn't fault the food, it was superb!
The staff were also very good, until i mentioned the room problems, and there was no form of apology!

EP

Room Tip: Request to be in the courtyard out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Not sure we would return as there were several areas of the hotel that need attention and upgrading
Positives - service and friendly staff, rooms a decent size, food quite good , courtyard area lovely, wifi in room, view of fields from room
Negatives - public areas very dated and run down, toilets in bar very grubby, bar smelt strongly of damp, beer garden backs on to busy road, The white wine by glass was £6.95 and served warm! (When highlighted this ice was put in the wine itself !) while waiting at reception I Noticed that the bar had very cheap cans of Aldi diet coke stashed out of main view of the bar and were yet charging a lot of money for a glass
Our bathroom in room 4 very dated with old shower that had no pressure and only worked at one temperature -scalding! When I raised this at check out and the fact it meant we were unable to use the shower that morning and has to wash in the sink instead.....merely told me you should have said we would have let you use a shower in another room.
The hotel is not cheap and I think benefits greatly from the fact that St Andrews is so expensive and busy in high season. The hotel would benefit from major upgrading especially in the public areas

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As others have said, the Inn looks a little unassuming and easy-to-pass from the road, but is a great spot for an overnight (or two) with some wonderful food. The greeting is very friendly and efficient, the staff local and keen, and there is very much a "family-run" sense.

Our room (as we booked the last one available) was right at the front of the hotel on the main road, with the traffic noise making it very noisy. I suspect that the other rooms around the courtyard and overlooking the fields would have been much quieter.

There is a nice cosy bar where you can relax before eating, although the outdoor seating area does have the same road-noise issues - unavoidable next to a main road, unfortunately.

The food is excellent - a diverse set of starters that looked and tasted wonderful beautifully. The mains on the menu, at first glance, looked slightly pub-grubish, but turned out to be inventive and excellent. The wine list is interesting - quite high end and with a number of half-bottles, but slightly lacking in a decent selection "by-the-glass". Even if not resident, it would be worth making the trip for a meal.

All in all, a great small hotel in a nice spot and with good food and friendly service.

Room Tip: If you can try and avoid any in the block by the road - 10 and 12 in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Superb old Coaching Log on the A915 at Largoward onto St Andrews the Home of World Golf.The Inn has loads of Character Featuring a Cosy Bar With Helpful Friendly Staff Just Sit Back Enjoy A Malt Whiskey From the Highlands or a Golden Ale from the Kingdom of Fife and Watch the World go by. Accommadation Wise you have an On-Suite Studio either in the Main Coaching part on the A915 or on Site in the Complex...Myself and the Good lady were Fortunate to have Room/Studio 23 Which Gives you your own Balcony looking over a Field full of Sheep...
In our Studio you have a Huge Tastefully Decorated Room With HD TV/Freeview complete with comfy Sofas the bedroom is Huge with a 4 Poster Bed...the Bathroom has Neon Lights with a Jacuzzi thrown in honestly at the Inn you live like a Scottish King.
Breakfast You can Chose From a Scottish Full Monty or Scottish Fife Grilled Kippers Freshly Caught from the old fishing harbours on the "Stunning Breath taking Fife Coast" You Chose plus there's the Usual Tea/Coffee Fresh Orange Juice aswell..
Before I Go Music Fans Check With the Owners If a band is on as well?? And If your Lucky You might bump into Scottish Rockers 'Big Country' Overall the Inn @ Lathones is a great Base to Discover the 'Beauty Of St Andrews & the Stunning Fife Coast'

Room Tip: Choose Studio/Apartment 23 at the Back of the Hotel Complex and wake up to the Sheep in the Field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

doesn't look so great from the outside, but don't be put off. wonderful welcome from dave on front desk, who showed me around. spotless - i had the flat with bedroom and sitting room. fresh milk (a change from the last few places who gave me sachets). spotless, spacious, lovely sound of sheep in field outside balcony. nice breakfast staff and great lady on front desk when i left. friendliness of staff is so important - they get it right here. i'd stay again - recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank TeddyPMEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathones
5.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,498 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,343 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
465 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lathones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lathones

Address: Lathones, Lathones, St Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Lathones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathones
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Lathones 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Coaching Inn that has a name for being eclectic. It has won awards for service, great food, wine list, best small music venue in Britain, best small golfing hotel in Scotland, amongst many more. The Bedrooms are very modern in complete contrast to the age of the main house. The food is all locally sourced and has a modern European edge to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Lathones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lathones Hotel St. Andrews
Inn Lathones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing