We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special place”

The Inn at Lathones Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lathones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$36
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great food, prepared and served well. That's what eating out should be about and it is what you will find at The Inn at Lathones. The Inn at Lathones has always had a superb reputation for its food and over the years has won and retained many awards for its cuisine but you can be assured we understand that eating out is not about awards. Guests can choose to dine in the cosy atmosphere of the bar and lounge area, maybe even sitting in front of the log burning stove or reserve a table in the restaurant. Our food is served in an informal manner - we are an old coaching inn after all - and offers great value for money throughout the day from breakfast, through lunch, afternoon teas, bar suppers and dinner. Executive Chef Chris Wright uses only the freshest local produce in his menus that change with the season.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lathones is such a great place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal. The lounge bar is comfortable warm and welcoming. The staff are friendly and put you at ease straight away as well as making us laugh. The menu is full of delicious choices it is hard to decide what to eat! My only complaint about Lathones is that my husband doesn't take me there often enough !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1happylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the rooms were very disappointing, but the food was excellent!
We were put in a room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy, and also, our bathroom was very large and obviously designed for disabled,that would have been fine if the shower hadn't flooded every time we used it! The television was also very dated and didn't work properly!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stopped here by chance for lunch midweek. It was very quiet but the service was prompt and friendly. The food was freshly prepared, well presented and of ample portion. What is more, the chips were top class! Not pallid frozen ones. The fish was fresh and well cooked. My vegetarian dish was excellent. The coffee was also superior. I have no doubt we will return next time we are in the area. The soup and sandwich menu also looked tempting. Sadly we were unable to try the starter or the sweet menu as we only just managed the main course.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndsayAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLeod Bay, Whangarei Heads
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scottish Hospitality!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate in the restaurant twice as we were staying overnight. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our evening meals were tasty and we considered very good value for money, As for breakfast..well 'hearty' hardly describes it. There is nothing quite like a full Scottish breakfast, and that is what we were served!

This was our first visit to St Andrews, and we thoroughly enjoyed our short time there. There is plenty to see in the town itself, and we enjoyed a visit to the famous golf course too. Worth noting for those interested, that the course is closed on a Sunday so you can enjoy walking it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As we were staying at a rented cottage close to the Inn we ate there on both evenings and found both the food and the staff first class. The staff could not have been more accommodating to our needs and the food they served was of a very high standard. The Cullen Skink soup was outstanding as was their haddock and chips (delicious) and indeed we were all thrilled with all our choices of food. The Inn has to be highly commended for its service and standard of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasgowrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn at Lathones Restaurant also viewed

 
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Inn at Lathones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing