We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tidewater Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Inn(Rockland)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
250 Main Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockland Harbor Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
US$119
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
53
28
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
28
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobster boatsowner philrushing watertrue mainethe crow's nestreception areafirst floora special placeone night staylobster rollprivate balconya great place to stayshort walk from the ferrytidewaterdeckkeypreserve
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great place to stay, with the tide coming in and out underneath the hotel. Great place for kids. right in town so you can walk to restaurants and to the grocery store. The owner is happy to set up kayaking or a lobster boat ride or to make dinner reservations at (and arrange a boat ride to) the fancy (but very good ) restaurant on the close-by island of North Haven.

Owner is terrific. Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: I think they are all about the same. There is no exercise room but there is an exercise place within walking distance, though getting a hold of the owner and getting permission to use the gym is tricky. The Tide Water Inn owner will help you figure it out.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited the Tidewater Motel in September, and the season was coming to an end. It was an easy walk from the ferry from Rockland, and in the centre of the very quiet Main Street. There was an excellent lobster restaurant across the road. We slept in a comfortable room right over the incoming and outgoing tides. We only stayed one night, and wished our stay could have been longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, on the bridge over the water.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I've always wanted to be near the ocean and this place is right on top a tidal bridge, which provided endless hours of entertainment and I was determined to witness the exact moment the tide switched! We shared a deck with friends and cooked out one night since many of the restaurants in town are starting to shut down. The Tidewater is conveniently located within walking distance of all your vacation needs: food, drink, camera cards, gifts, and more. We borrowed bikes from the Tidewater and found two of the quarries and biked about 10 miles. Vinalhaven is a working island -- and we weren't expecting a lot. It is very beautiful and serene. Imagine our surprise, though, when there was no steamed lobster to be found in early September. Quite surprising and very disappointing.

Room Tip: Pick Room !#10 -- but note that the faucets are backwards on the sink
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moongazer849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here a number of times over the years. Always a warm and welcoming place to stay and explore the Island from. Vinalhaven is a special place to visit and should be on your bucket list. The Tidewater is the most convinient location to experienc and enjoy true Maine Island living.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OceanP0int
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Tidewater on Main St in Vinalhaven. The motel is smack in the middle of main street, what little there is of it. It sits on a bridge under which water flows swiftly either in or out 24/7. Our balcony in room #10 overhung this water barrage. It provided me endless enjoyment as did the small harbor which it looks out onto. The harbor is filled largely with a large lobstering fleet and there is constant activity.

The motel is a work in progress as there is evidence of ongoing upgrading work. Our room was very comfortable, albeit small. A fridge and microwave is available for this room just outside the door. The bath is small but modern.

The breakfast was adequate--all cold. I had two blueberry muffins each day. Coffee is always available both in your room and in the office.

Food options are somewhat limited in town. Fried food is big on the menu across the street at the Gawker, as were lobsters and other homemade treats. Our best meal was at the limited seating Haven (make res before leaving home). For the best lobster rolls head around the corner to the Trickery.

We were surprised not to find any beach areas on this island. There are a few former quarries which kids and families seemed to be enjoying.

The 1 hour and 15 minute ferry ride from Rockland, ME was a delight and you can take your car for $50---reservations are complicated however.

Can't wait to return to my waterview balcony!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews