We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warleigh House
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So relaxing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for my husbands birthday weekend. I managed to get it on a secret escaped deal and was amazed by the place!
As you drive up to the house, we were struck at just how beautiful it was, then we walked through the front door...well, wow!! It was amazing, huge rooms, tall ceilings and amazing fireplaces (just wish they were lit). We were shown to our room and the amazement just kept coming. The room was huge, warm and comfortable. The under floor heating in the bathroom made the roll top bath even more inviting! Everything you could have wanted was there. The breakfast was fantastic and the views were breath taking. The house has been done up to such a high standard with everything just fitting!!
Warleigh House is a B and B with a difference, cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
68
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Warleigh House is a gorgeous old mansion, being tastefully restored, in a very scenic location. Well worth a detour for a few nights to explore Portsmouth or some of the National Trust properties nearby such as Cotehele.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Warleigh House overnight and wished it could have been longer.It was not long enough to enjoy this fabulous house .
We arrived at Warleigh House after stopping and asking a couple of helpfull pedestrians if we were on the right track ,the sat nav stoped at the village .As we approached this lovely house we thought this looks good.We were not however aware how good until Steven greeted us in the beautiful hall furnished with exquisite taste .We were shown to our suite which was the Lady Radcliffe .Wow ! was all we could say .A huge four poster bed dominates the large room it had all the usual tea and coffee making facilities but with lovely china and extras .Another room with a second television and comfy sofas .The bathroom was another wow ,it is large all marble with under floor heating ,a bath and a roomy shower compartment with jet sprays and I must add the chandelier was my favourite of the three in the suite .
After a comfortable night we went down to the breakfast room ,another wonderful room with views to die for and we were served a most delicious breakfast by Steven .He told us how they had turned this once neglected house into the one they have now ,how they have painstakingly restored it with such detail that it was obvious he loved it and felt pride in what they had achieved .All we can add is see it for yourself you won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: Lady Radcliffe suite was the one we stayed in and although they all looked good we were so pleased w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 870warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
508 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Warleigh House is way beyond Bed & Breakfast. It is way beyond most luxury hotels.
Just because there is no bar or restaurant, the proprietors are not entitled to call this magnificent place anything but a B&B........What a joke!!
Warleigh House was a unique experience for us. It was like living a dream. When I booked our two suites, I kept trying to understand what the catch was. Why such a price? What did I miss?
I didn't tell the other three in my party anything about this place and booked us in for two nights in the Foulston and Lord Radcliffe suites.
We were late arriving and it was dark, which made the approach even more dramatic.
Both suites were absolutely stunning. We got the Foulston, which has a corner bedroom with exquisite views of the estuary. The other couple were in Lord Radcliffe, also facing the estuary.
Everything was beautifully decorated and appointed. Our four poster bed was lovely. the bathroom is huge and comfortably floor-heated (December, remember?).
Steven was charming, friendly and helpful, and told us about the immense work he and Kris put into bringing the house to its present glory.
Breakfasts were excellent, varied, fresh and beautifully served. Our specially set-for-four table was at a huge window facing the view. Unforgettable.
The grounds around the house are gorgeous. One of the resident peacocks peekd in while we were having breakfast.
It is living like royalty in the countryside, only 15 minutes by car from central Plymouth.
I really cannot say enough praise for this incredible find.
We shall certainly be back.
Steven and Kris - Fantastic job!! Keep it up!!
A Real Treasure of a Place!!!
Definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed at!!!! Thanks!!

Room Tip: I believe the Fouslton has the best views. For added comfort, Lady Radcliffe has less of a view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in the Foulton suite with fantastic views of the river. The house is amazing and beautifully decorated. The suite is large with a gorgeous bathroom. We had a wonderful nights sleep in the four poster bed followed by a lovely breakfast. The house is so spacious and it was a pleasure to stay in such a high quality B & B. We hope to return again. It is difficult to find even with a Sat Nav as there is no sign from the village, but it it well worth finding the long drive which takes you to this hidden gem.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest place to find,but when you get there you will find it rather extraordinary.Approaching up a long drive past an ancient dovecote the house is an imposing house looking over the river.The entrance hall sets the scene with a striking collection of antique furniture and fittings.
We were greeted by the softly spoken Stephen who showed us to our room, or I should say suite of rooms,composed of a large bedroom complete with a huge four poster bed,a sitting room, and a bathroom with under floor heating. The size of the rooms was impressive as were the chandeliers in every room.
Antiques from all over the world in all the rooms made the atmosphere that of a very grand country house.
Every need was met with a refreshment tray with coffee and tea, and in the bathroom a complete set of toiletries completing the set up.
This is the most spectacular B and B imaginable! A once in a lifetime experience.
After a gorgeous sleep in the very large and comfortable huge bed we descended down the staircase where it was possible to visualise the ladies in past times in their crinolines enjoying themselves much as we had.
The breakfast room has a wonderful view across the river, and whilst we were admiring this, Stephen came to take our cooked breakfast order. The selection of cereals,juices and fruit catered for just about every taste. The cooking was of the same standard as everything else in this exceptional place.
We wish Stephen and his cohorts every success in his endeavours with Warleigh House and congratulate them with standards that will be difficult to emulate!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed one night on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay in what only be described as an apartment that royalty would struggle to find fault with. The four poster bed was fantastic. I had a great nights sleep and awoke to stunning views across the river.

Breakfast was very relaxed and tasty and again in beautiful surroundings.

Will be returning very soon with my wife for a longer stay as I couldn't fault this establishment

Many thanks to the owners who should be very proud of what they have achieved. I would give seven stars if I could

Room Tip: I had a corner room over looking the river. Amazing room and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamerton Foliot
8.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
8.4 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warleigh House

Property: Warleigh House
Address: Warleigh House Horsham Lane, Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth PL5 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Tamerton Foliot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamerton Foliot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Warleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing