We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home among kindred spirits.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Waldoboro B&B and Inns
1 review
“At home among kindred spirits.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I chose Le Vatout as our honeymoon spot; we were rewarded beyond expectations. Dominika and Linda treated us to warmth, love, good food, intelligent conversation and new artistic friends. Dominika's cooking was simply splendid. Fresh. Organic. Real, and from the heart. We highly recommend Le Vatout and would be happy to return. Go there, converse often, eat well and be happy. :)

Peter and Elizabeth

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterANoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newlondon, nh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I can no longer hold back on my disappointment with my experience with Le Vatout.
My wife and I recently spent two terrific nights at the Mill Pond Inn in Damariscotta Mills, Me. not many miles from Le Vatout. Our original choice had been Le Vatout, but after leaving a voice mail asking to be called back and hearing nothing after a day and a half, I initiated another call.
Imagine my surprise when after talking with Linda I was told we don't want your [--] business.
In fairness Dominika called me eventually and explained there were emotional issues.
I have tried to hold back from posting this review as some of her explanations made sense.
The bottom line, however, is that another reviewer had the same complaint about bad language and the Mill Pond Inn, not far away was so pleasant that my wife and I decided that potential guests shoud be aware of the choices.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank newlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I expected, that people running a b&b would by the time be tired of giving insider advices to customers - but at the Le Vatout I was disabused: Dominika listen to my preferences, my time-budget and suggested my a tour (incl. printing out a map, making marks and giving detailed instructions how to find the places), which turned out to be perfect for me.
Furthermore the room was very nice, beautifuly furnished. The house has a very familiar athomsphere - from the common rooms, the garden to the joint breakfast.
The b&b is perfectly situated in between different destinations and easy to be found.
Dominika and Linda, thanx for the great time and your support!

Room Tip: If you book directly on there webpage you get the same prices like if you book on the usual platform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RialtoBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay at Le Vatout this past weekend was nothing short of lovely. Our hostesses (Dominika and Linda) were wonderful. They made us feel welcome and at home. The house and garden is beautiful, our breakfast superb, our room (goldfinch) very comfortable, the atmosphere truly relaxing. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A family gathering.....a wonderful weekend at Le Vatout that embraced us all! The food, delicious, local fare with fresh herbs from the garden...The rooms, clean and comfortable with a bevy books to read and fresh air breezes from open windows. The garden, paths through flowers and birds and herbs....quiet and peaceful. A river nearby where we sat on stones and lay in the water cooling down bodies and thoughts. We slept well, ate well and had wonderful visits with Dominque and Linda at the lovely welcoming table adorn with fresh flowers from the garden. So many interesting pieces of art and decor all about this wonderful homestead adds a layer of visual enhancement and intrigue. We will certainly be back and we highly recommend this special space and place of genuine and nurturing hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

When we arrived for our one night stay, we found that Dominika had upgraded us from the chickadee room to the nuthatch because no one was in the nuthatch and it was a little larger. This also meant that we were the only ones using the shared bathroom which we liked. This bathroom was quite large, clean and had a nice sized shower. The low ceiling by the sink made the mirror a little ackward, but other then that no problems. Dominika provided us with a large bowl in which we put some beer on ice and we went off to explore the town. We ate at the Narrows Tavern and found the food good and the atmosphere friendly, then enjoyed learning about Waldoboro's ship building history.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. After eating Linda took us across the street and showed us the tail of a large tuna their neighbor had caught, wow--wish we could have seen the whole fish.

The garden was wild, the house rustic and the visit interesting.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

At the end of June/2013 I went to Waldoboro for my 30th high school reunion. I went to school there as an exchange student and I hadn’t been in Waldoboro since then. Reading TRIPADVISOR reviews I selected Le Vatout as the place to stay. I made no mistake. The comments about the special care both Dominika and Linda took of their guests were short in their description. They both provided me a wonderful stay and made my 4 days trip as nice and smooth as they could.
Delicious and original breakfasts, very nice coffee, delightful conversation, useful tips regarding where to visit, restaurants to go in the region, etc.
Le Vatout is located right next to Waldoboro downtown, although it is a very quiet place in a strategic sector. It is located a few blocks from a supermarket and from Deb’s dinner (nice lobster rolls).
The infrastructure is the best you could expect from a B&B. Clean room, nice and comfortable bed, clean and nice bathroom. The rest of the house is as it is shown in the pictures. Nice. Cozy and beautiful kitchen/dinner table. Beautiful gardens. In a sunny day, worth to spend time relaxing and contemplating its landscape. I am already planning another visit to Waldoboro to visit friends and Le Vatout is the place where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldoboro
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
12.1 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
15.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,274 reviews
18.0 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
67 reviews
12.4 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast

Property: Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast
Address: 218 Kalers Corner St, Waldoboro, ME 04572-6003
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Waldoboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waldoboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, low-key and completely relaxed, Le Vatout is just different enough to delight. A traditional New England farmhouse on the craggy shoreline of midcoast Maine, it has spectacular gardens and is filled with art and books by its owners, a writer and an artist. Life congregates in the kitchen where meals have substance, flavors have a twist, and old-fashioned conversation reigns. What matters here is not appearance, what matters here is soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vatout Bed And Breakfast Maine/Waldoboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing