We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Medomak Family Camp and Retreat Center
Nearby Hotels
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Towne Motel(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Camden Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
30
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherbal spascheduled activitieseach morningcounselorshollyarchery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For an old-fashioned vacation that the whole family can enjoy, Medomak Family Camp is a wonderful choice. Our eight "campers" ranged in age from 4 to 72, and a great time was had by all. We especially liked the small scale of the camp--just 12 families at a time, so it is possible to get to know everyone, both guests and staff, in the course of a week.

In terms of activities, in the morning kids have scheduled camp-type sports and crafts in groups organized by age and supervised by excellent counselors, while adults can choose from various activities or just relax on their own. In the afternoon, a variety of options are offered for families, and a staffed waterfront is available for swimming and boating. After dinner, more activities for families, followed by a campfire. During the week of our stay, various family members enjoyed archery, astronomy, sailing, tennis, kayaking, paddle-boarding, swimming, woodworking, milking the camp cows, and berry picking, among other fun pursuits too numerous to mention.

But this is not the right place for people who need luxurious surroundings for an enjoyable vacation. If you go, be prepared to make your own bed and bus your own dishes (and sort any leftovers for recycling into bins for compost, pig food, and plain old garbage). Accommodations are in 12 one-room cabins, though these are a step up from the camps of our own youth, with frills like good mattresses, indoor plumbing, and even hot showers. Three meals a day are served family-style, a varied menu of mainly hearty foods made from scratch with local ingredients.

Room Tip: Cabins seem to be identical in all respects, and all are located around a meadow.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank RPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the perfect get-away for families looking for some quality time together outdoors and away from the usual hustle and bustle. Our family enjoyed the wide variety of activities and watercraft available. Kayaking, paddleboarding, archery, yoga, and woodworking were among our favorites -- but it was also a joy to sit by the waterfront and watch the kids (ages 6 and 9) enjoy the space to stretch their wings (meeting new friends, kayaking on their own, swimming out to the float-able dock) in a caring and well-supervised environment.

A few details: Each family had their own cabin, which had everything we needed (including a hot shower) and nothing we didn't (no TV!). There was almost always some sort of activity going on, but there was also plenty of flexibility to join in or ... read a book or take a nap or get an extra sail in. The counselors were fabulous and often around playing with the kids even during non-organized activities, creating an environment in which it was easy to mingle and enjoy socializing with all the different families. Even if it happens to rain, the huge barn is well equipped with games, books, arts & crafts supplies, hoola hoops, foosball, ping pong, indoor basketball hoop, and lots more. Bonus: I didn't once have to think about cooking. And everything was included in the price! Now that's what I call a vacation! We definitely hope to be back next year. This was much more relaxing that a traditional family vacation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank hiker72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If your family values eschew electronic, passive entertainment for growing children and, instead, embrace an outdoor environment where children can explore new activities in a nurturing circle of families/staff, then a week at Camp Medomak is my recommendation. Although I am not usually effusive in my reviews, I believe excellence should be recognized. Here is my round of applause for our week at Medomak:
~ They hire exceptional staff - each of them talented in their own way. With upbeat, enthusiastic attitudes, these counselors will know names, will encourage (but not push) shy campers, will mingle at mealtime, and will be flexible. Their exuberance was contagious! And who knew that Haiku could be so hilarious!
~ I appreciate that Medomak was responsive to the special requests of our family.
~ The owners, Holly & George, are the heart of Medomak and eager to share the traditions of camp. In addition, they lead an impressive collection of activities on their own: sculling, fishing, AM stretch, a history hike, yoga, plus more!
~ Medomak is well-maintained, from the barn to the family cabins to the waterfront to the dining hall. None of the equipment looked beat-up, in spite of heavy usage from active kids. OK, one thing: when we got heavy rain overnight from the tail-end of Hurricane Arthur, the dining hall roof did leak in one place. I'm confident that it's been fixed.
~ Cheers for their many activities for adults and kids: too many to list them all. Capable adult swimmers had a chance to swim to Loon Island and back with a lifeguard trailing in a boat. My personal fav was renewing my love of archery with a bow perfect to my height and L-handedness. Any new waterfront skill, from kayaking to standup paddleboarding, can be tried in the quieter cove before venturing into the main body of the lake. Our family of 2 adults & 2 children (ages 6 & 9) had a misadventure with 2 single kayaks (the kids) & 2 S-U paddleboards (the adults), which ended in a runaway paddleboard (weak knot). The waterfront staff were "no problem" in their willingness to hunt for our lost paddleboard using the camp's motorboat.

With the joie de vivre permeating Camp Medomak, you will hear camp songs from the back seat on your drive home!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this camp in August 2008, 2010, and 2012. The first two times, it was great. Excellent staff who really made you feel part of the family, fun activities. The cabins are "rustic" to say the least, but we had such a good time we didn't really mind.
The last time we stayed, it was a different story. The owners have bought several other properties in the area and were far less present at camp, and it showed. Several groups of families were there together, as was the case the previous two times, but there was no effort this time to include everyone in activities. We mentioned this to the staff but nothing was done. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OskiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We just finished our 5th visit to Medomak Family Camp. My earlier review still stands and there is little more I can add (please read my Aug 2008 review for lots of details). Medomak is a great place for a family vacation. We are not the only family that returns again and again. This is a place many families have made a family tradition. The only thing I can think to add that I did not mention before is the flexibility of the staff. They adjust the programming to what the campers want. On more than one occasion during this most recent visit I noticed that schedules or activities were modified or changed according to the request of the campers. That is customer service! In addition, they do listen to camper feedback and make improvements to their facilities and activities each year. The owners, George and Holly, are very warm and welcoming and make you feel like part of the family. They really strive to make each week an amazing experience for all. Thank you George and Holly for a wonderful place to bring our family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familytravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews