We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As I always say, Papoose Pond is Papoose Pond! We started going when my daughter was 4 and at 19 we are already booked for next summer. The campground has activities which are posted for all to see, for young and old. There is family entertainment nightly during peak season. The campsites are nice, they are raked before you show up and you can have a wooded site or beach front site. The thought of little kids using the pond has always scared the hell out of me (it is a pond with pond things) but there is a pool. The staff for the most part is helpful. If you like your site book it when you check in for next year -it saves you from losing your site. If you decide to stay at PP check out the surrounding towns and area, there are a lot of hidden gems. Papoose Pond has cabins, trailers and other set-ups in camp to rent or you can rent a camper from a few local businesses, or just tent it! Just remember, it is a campground and not a five star resort. Relax!

Room Tip: The non pond side seems quieter, away from activities. Wifi near main office/carousel area only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Rented one of the trailers on site. It was very clean with four bunks in one bedroom and a double bed in the other. There are are large variety of different camping options from cabins to tent sites. This was my first visit but many families have been returning for years, and the sites book-out in advance. There are activities for everybody from heated pool to the pond beach
Can't wait to return

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at the treehouse the first year and the kids loved it. Had no idea that the pond side is the place to be, young and old so we switched to beach side and found it to be even more entertaining and we are now on our 8th year. My kids are now starting to go off to college and still wouldn't miss the vacation at "The Papus" . I'm sure we will be going for at least another 8+ years. If you are bored at this place....there is something wrong with you! Lots to do...or not do if you please.
Only negative is the bathrooms are in serious need of updating. The attendants come at least 3 times a day to clean but it's tough for them when the bathrooms are soooo dated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loveanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Been going here for 30 yrs. Its the same as I remember with some added amenities. sites are wooded and private. pond is great , bring your own boat for a stroll down the river. Had cabin and cottage experiences in the past and are both accommodating. I was a bit disappointed in the bathrooms this yr. they need updating

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at a Kitch-N'-Bath site for two nights with our kids, 4 and 1 and some friends. The site was big enough for our 20ft popup and a medium-sized tent. Having a sink with hot running water was pretty awesome for dishes and the stove-top was convenient. Having our own bathroom with a shower was great. These sites were pretty well spaced out, but if you want more privacy they have some huge sites in other sections that have more wooded space between sites. The campground was very full, but still quiet by 10. The pool was very clean. The campfire songs were fun. All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: HHK sites are excellent. Hit the pool during bingo time and you'll have it to yourself. HBS si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

With a cold and wet weekend in store for us, Papoose Pond managed to keep the kids entertained. It is definitely a family spot. Some prices are inflated but there are values as well. Definitely will return if we have young campers again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papoosepond, General Manager at Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We would like to thank you and all the other families who braved the cold wet weather while camping with us during Memorial Day Weekend. We always try to provide quality entertainment, however nothing beats a warm sunny stretch of weather while you are camping. We know you have many choices when it comes to camping in Maine and we are glad that you chose us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My family have been going to Papoose Pond for almost 20 years. We love camping here. The pond is beautiful, the activities made my childhood visits here memorable. It is such a wonderful place to stay and visit. I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haileelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins

Address: 700 Norway Rd, Waterford, ME 04088-3120
Region: United States > Maine > Waterford
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waterford
Price Range: £19 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Papoose Pond Resort & Campground Hotel Waterford
Papoose Pond Resort And Campground
Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins Waterford, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing