We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal treatment better than the corporate chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“personal treatment better than the corporate chain”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you're looking to find modestly priced lodging while stopping in Waterville, Maine and often rely on Hampton or Courtyard when traveling, you will do much better at the Fireside Inn. We've stayed there twice dropping off our son at a nearby camp and both times found it to be homey and as good or better than any Hampton or Courtyard at >30% less. Except for the property being a bit worn (cracked sidewalks and some chipped paint) the place is immaculate and the rooms sparkling clean. The furniture is dated but the beds are new and first rate. Great A/C units, clean carpets. Solid amenities: new large flat screen, small fridge, keurig coffee and great quality toiletries. Bathrooms are modest but relatively updated and sparkling clean. Great showers too. Surprisingly nice and well kept outdoor pool. Free wifi is fast. Free breakfast has brand name breads and cereals, fresh fruit, juice, real bagels yogurt and more. Its not hot, but beats the plastic eggs and mystery meat at the Hampton by a mile. The staff is very friendly, warm and accommodating. So look past the worn exterior and go to the Fireside Inn instead of the nearby chain hotels. You and you're wallet will be happy.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room
See more room tips
Green Features: paper plates instead of styrofoam at the free brekfast.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. If I were writing a commercial for this property, I could not have said it better.
I am pleased that your enjoyed your stay so much.
We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    99
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
97
68
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Fireside Inn on our driving trip to Canada’s East Coast.

1. If you don’t mind the overpowering odour of urine (never sure if it was human or animal) then you won’t have a problem with this hotel. The hallway was the worst, with the room only slightly less unpleasant smelling.

2. To cap off the stay, we went into the breakfast room on the morning of our departure, only to find the rug cleaners madly working away just a few metres away. When the workers asked if they could clean the rugs inside the breakfast room itself, the receptionist asked if we would mind. We said “We’ll only be about 10 minutes more” thinking that the receptionist and workers would take the cue that they should wait. Wrongo. Apparently servicepersons’ schedules are more important than delivering good guest service. The cleaners worked away right beside us as through we weren't there. We couldn't wait to leave. Very, very poor overall.

Room Tip: Completely avoid the wing located to the far left of the main entrance
See more room tips
Green Features: We didn't see any in practice. And if rug cleaning while guests are eating is any indication, then their practices are non-existent.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for writing about your recent visit. I am sorry about the odors you mentioned, but I am especially sorry for our timing in shampooing the carpets. We called the carpet company as soon as we noticed the odor, and asked them to come out as soon as possible. Unfortunately, they chose to do the breakfast area in the morning. The desk clerk wasn't sure she had the authority to send them away until another time. We will certainly communicate that better in the future.
I hop ethat you can see this as an isolated incident and allow us to serve as your hoat in the future.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in need of decor renovation, but the major problem I had was the smell. A building can be clean, but if there is an offense smell it seems unclean. The other issue we had was my husband having to go into the hall to tell teenagers to quiet down. On the pleasant side, we were greeted by a fresh baked pastry. The hotel has a bakery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I, too am concerned when I find an odor in a building. We did call the carpet shampoo company as soon as we noticed. Sadly, our timing was less than perfect as you will see in Lorraine's comment. We have a different plan for the future.
Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

To me those three things are very important to a good stay...the room we had was, on a scale of 1 to 10, a 10 for cleanliness. The same goes for the comfort we experienced, and the staff were exceptionally hospitable. The bathroom sparkled, the linens were soft and comfy...just everything was so very nice. There was a continental breakfast that was included with the cost of the room, and there was an excellent diversity for the person with a breakfast sweet tooth, or the person who enjoys more wholesome things like yogart, egg sandwiches, fruit, granola, oatmeal, juice...it was all around satisfying. The hotel is just a bit outdated in decor, but what does that matter if the room is superbly clean, and all other amenities are top notch. Not to be forgotten is the restaurant attached to the hotel...there is the chance for a nice home cooked meal, with desserts that have your mouth hanging in awe. Better yet, the cost couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you found our rooms sparkling. I'm very fortunate to have housekeeping professionals who have literally stayed with us for decades. In an industry that has high turnover, I count myself very fortunate to have these great people to work with. Thank you too for the compliments on breakfast and the comfort of the room, as well as the compliments on the restaurant. I will pass on your coments both to my staff and the fine people at Governor's Restaurant.
Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Region, NH
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were attending a family gathering for the day so we were a 11pm check in. Traveling away fro the first time with an 19m old who has never slept in a strange place IS NOT easy and the time was so late for him the arrival whoopie pies were DELISH! and the front desk associate was very pleasant! We stayed in the Executive Suite and it was comfortable and we wished we had more time to enjoy the accomodations but we slept really well. The pack n play was spotless and helpful in packing our tiny car! The continental breakfast was HUGE and perfect starting early especially when your 19m old wakes up and is hungry...I was able to run down and get a few things for him. The only annoyance was whomever was above us stomped around until 2am should have called the desk. We didn't eat at Governor's but I am orignially from the area and that restaurant is amazing!! We will stay again!

Room Tip: If you can afford it which is was an amazing price...get the executive suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4FunSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and than you for the nice review. I can imagine that traveling with a young child is stressful. I'm glad that our staff made your stay more comfortable. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our early breakfast at 05:30. We find that it helps many early risers.
Again, thank you for writing. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We definitely enjoyed or one night stay here at the Fireside Inn. Like most people say everything was very clean and accessible. Plenty of furniture, appliances, and such in the room with lots of electrical outlets for phone chargers and stuff. Hot tub was very relaxing, but the only downside was no drinks for us because were only19...(were from Canada where were legal so its a downgrade). Staff very friendly and we got a room very fast!!

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for coming from Canada and staying with us. I was pleased to read that you, like others found our staff friendly and that the facilities were clean and fresh. Thank you for taking the time to write. I hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We received whoopee pies and a local newspaper at check in! Also they offer wine and cheese reception in the evening. The room was very clean and nice with refrigerator, TV, table & chairs. Bath and Body Works toiletries in the bathroom! Would have loved to have used the pool and hot tub but the weather was cool and damp. Only complaint is the windows would not open, so had to use the air exchanger and there were yellow glowing lights outside our window all night that interrupted my sleep. It was an easy location close to many stores including Starbucks!

Room Tip: We would have loved to have a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineCaribbeansoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for visiting and thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed most of the amenities that the property provides. I'm sorry about the weather preventing you from enjoying the pool and hot tub. I hope that you will have to opportunity to visit us again and enjoy these, too.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites
Address: 376 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901-4923
Region: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Waterville
Waterville Best Western
Best Western Waterville Hotel
Fireside Inn & Suites Waterville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing