We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Clean affordable hotel with onsite dining/lounge. The staff is very friendly. I've been visiting this hotel regularly over the last three or so years for business and would recommend staying here. Only caveat - wifi - it is really deplorable - low signal strength - drop connections etc...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Lindsay E,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Waterville. We are working on a solution to the Wi-Fi issue that you wrote about with our Internet Service Providers. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Your compliments about the staff will be forwarded on to every department. Our team is committed to serving our guests in the best way possible. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is to be avoided. There are no Four Seasons or Ritz Carleton type hotels near Augusta or Bangor however the "Best Western" is not even a two star. Check-in Monday evening July 29th was by a surly, disinterested young woman. She put me in a room with a view of a pit and sent me to the wrong door. I walked back downstairs to the hideous lobby and asked for a room with a parking lot view. I was given the room key advertising Papa John's pizza and went to the room across the hall. The stink in the hallways made my eyes water. The entry door to the back of the hotel had cracked glass from a rock or bullet strike. The room was clean but the Internet service made dial up look good. No cell phone signal either. I moved across to the Fireside Inn across Main which was far far better.

Room Tip: Do not stay here even for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emistruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear emistruth,

I wanted to first thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write about your recent stay here at the Best Western Plus Waterville. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our staff strives to meet every guests need, however sometimes we all fall short. We use feedback such as yours as an opportunity to re-train ourselves so that we can continuously improve and provide better service. Again, thank you so much for your time and words.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Simple, no frills hotel. Easy access to 95 and close to Colby College. Right across the street from minimall shopping with Starbucks, grocery store, etc. Room was clean with microwave and minifridge. Bathrooms looked as though they have been recently renovated but the hallways had a strong and odd odor. Not a place to stay for long trips but a good spot if need of a couple nights when visiting Colby or driving to the northern sections of Maine. Mainely Brewery downtown was fun (don't miss the lobster stew!).

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

During a motorcycle trip of Maine, we used Waterville as a jumping off spot. The hotel is close to the highway and a strip mall. There is an Irish Pub onsite but the A/C was not working and it was unbearable so we could not check on that. Having a pub and food onsite is always a bonus for those of us who don't want to get back on the bike after a long day of riding.
The lobby and rooms were very good and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathtub drained slow and the staff fixed that the very next morning.
Breakfast was essentially free (they give you a $7 voucher per person) and was to order.

Room Tip: Away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpm119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Ipm119,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Waterville. Thank you for your positive feedback on the rooms, lobby and breakfast. I'm glad our staff was available to fix your bathtub drain. I do want to apologize for the lack of a/c in the Pub & Restaurant. The timing of the a/c not working was unfortunate with the heat wave that we just had. The a/c has been fixed. I hope that on your next motorcycle trip through Maine you will come back and stay again!

Have a great day and safe riding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Wow, I was impressed with the place. Rooms were large with micro & refrigerator. Very clean and accommodating, we asked for extra towels and a few things and they gave us what we needed. The hotel was booked full, but would never know by the service. The rooms were very clean, and nothing like the other review experienced. Never had the breakfast there so I can't comment on that. All in all a very pleasant stay. (3) nights

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricksteric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Ricksteric,

Thank you for your wonderful kind words about your recent stay here at the Best Western Plus Waterville. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy life to write this. We hope to see you the next time you are in town!

Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a beautiful hotel. Very clean. The staff in the hotel and hotel restaurant were very friendly and helpful. My room had a torn up Bible and hey immediately sent a new one. I cannot say enough about how we were treated during our 2 night stay. They have so many amenities in the rooms. Fridge with mini freezer inside,coffee pot,microwave and cable tv.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpipergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Booked over discount website so price was very favorable. Good value with hotel amenities and breakfast vouchers. Room looked nice at check in with low light and shades drawn. However upon closer inspection the room was quite dirty. Lots of dust and grime around floor edges and behind furniture. Blood stains on one pillowcase and cigarette burn in comforter. Bathroom light did not work, no attempt made to fix it. Mesh shower curtain leaks tons of water onto the very slippery tile floor. Bathroom recently remodeled and furniture relatively new. Common areas all pretty beat and dirty. Employee smoking area right outside a main entry to overflowing with cigarette butts- gross. Overall the quality of this establishment has gone down since it switched from Holiday Inn to BW.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

JJPE,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay here at the Best Western Plus Waterville. We appreciate your feedback and will use it constructively to make our product and service better. Upon reading your review we have since implemented a deeper cleaning program that will encompass all guest rooms and public areas. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another try when you are back in Waterville. Our staff takes pride in our hotel so that it can be the best. Feedback such as yours helps us to get closer to that goal everyday! Again, thank you very much!

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel

Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901-4924 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us, and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers comfortable and convenient accommodations for your Maine getaway. We are a pet friendly hotel, so there’s no need to leave your furry friends behind! This centrally located, Director’s Award-winning hotel is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bangor, Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy Maine’s splendid crossover weather while Spring skiing, whitewater rafting, hiking, and Maple season! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and provides ample activities for the outdoor adventurer. Our 138 guest-room property has been upgraded; check out our new rooms and meeting space! We are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free high speed Wifi and HD TVs will bring you one step closer to feeling like you’re at home. Relax in our indoor, heated, saltwater pool and hot tub, or burn some calories in our fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right; eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off at O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it at O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! Visiting a loved one at Colby, Thomas or Unity College? Colby is a short 2 miles, Thomas only 5 miles, and Unity College is a mere scenic thirty minute drive from our door. Our central Maine location will be sure to offer comfortable accommodations for wherever your travels take you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing