We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel To Stay In” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winslow, Maine
1 review
“Great Hotel To Stay In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit at the Waterville Best Western Hotel. We were there for two days, and it was a pleasurable experience. The rooms were neat and clean, and the entire staff possessed extreme professionalism. Our king size bed was super comfortable, and we loved that we were right in the center of town. Lots to do around the Waterville area. The pool was clean and warm, and the hot tub was nice and relaxing. I also liked that the gym was stocked with modern equipment. It was a nice relaxing environment. The food in the restaurant was great, and their St. Patrick's day party was a blast. What a wonderful event they throw! Special thanks to Sylvia, she was right on top of keeping our room stocked. Darlene at the front desk was a pleasure to schedule with, and Morgan in the restaurant was fantastic. She was great with her customers, and her customer service skills were impeccable. Thank you for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Casey R,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our property. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasurable experience while staying with us and that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel offers. We appreciate the kind words about our staff. They work very hard to exceed the expectations of guests! Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    105
    57
    31
    26
See reviews for
149
73
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moose River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I use to stay here when it was the Holiday Inn. The renovations as the Best Western blew me away. The rooms were very well furnished 42 inch flat screen TV's, clean and comfortable beds. Friendly and efficient staff. Some noise from the interior hallway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Glenn660,
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with some feedback about your stay. I am so happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable & well-furnished. Our staff strives to improve guest satisfaction!

I do apologize for the noise and hope that you choose our Waterville Maine hotel the next time that you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skowhegan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The front desk was very helpful when we first checked in. After when we went into the restaurant for dinner and drinks Tina and Sherry were very social and made us feel at home. Our room was clean, and Sylvia along with Marnie gave us extra towels and soap when we needed it and they did not
Act like that felt burdened at all. We will Definetly be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronERnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi AaronERnest,
Thank you so much for you recent review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I want to thank you for all the wonderful comments about the hotel, restaurant and staff, we really appreciate the kind words. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolwich, Maine
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Although the rooms were decent, they were having a MASSIVE St. Patrick's Day party in the bar downstairs - which was conveniently never mentioned when I made the reservations for my family (including my 5 year old). There were also a TON of other kids there for some sort of tournament who ran up and down the halls until 11 pm... Making it impossible for my 5 year old to sleep (and me). Past 2am, there were parties going on in a few rooms on my floor... people yelling down the hallway, it was a nightmare. We didn't get any sleep - AT ALL. Had we known this was a weekend in which there was a huge party going on, we would have stayed elsewhere. The entire point of staying in a hotel was to get sleep for my little man's wrestling tournament at 7am the next morning. Also, using the pool was a nightmare as there were tons of kids doing cannonballs (I'm not opposed to fun - but when a 5 year old is trying to swim, giant cannonballs are real pain). We tried to enjoy the hot tub, but were bombarded by 6 boys trying to squeeze in with us - not exactly relaxing or comfortable. I think it would be common courtesy for the front desk to give you a heads up when making a reservation if there are large parties going on. For the price we paid to stay the night - I would have rather stayed at home and made the 2 hour drive the morning of the tournament - at least we would have been able to sleep!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose one higher than the 2nd floor where bar patrons wander the halls!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi JKC28,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with this important feedback. I sincerely apologize that your experience with us was less an exceptional. When the hotel is full like it was during the time of your stay our staff tries their best to maintain the highest level of guest satisfaction and I am sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. We will use this information moving forward to make our hotel better. We look forward to hopefully making your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We've stayed here for 2-3 days in March each of the last four years, and have had a great experience every time.

The staff is unfailingly friendly and professional, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms are a comfortable size. The fitness equipment is well-maintained and replaced as needed, and the pool area is kept clean.

Breakfast is included, and is cooked to order in the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
MLW2013,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy some of the amenities that our hotel offers. Our staff appreciates your kind words, as they try very hard to exceed the expectations of guests and provide a top-notch service experience. We hope to host you again the next time you are in the Waterville, Maine area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Maine, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Having an extended stay here I can say this is one great place to stay. The total staff truly stands out with the warm Maine experience. From the great staff and well prepared food at O brain's to the front desk and all the way through the housekeeping crew they are outstanding. Even though its been so Cold and Snowy it has been warm and comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastor Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed during my son's February vacation and this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was amazingly helpful, very friendly and nice. I am not really sure why some people found issues about this hotel when I read the prior reviews. The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable beds and the heated saltwater pool and hot tub was just what you needed after a day of snow play. The Free breakfast that came with the room fee is absolutely free contrary to what others wrote on their review. Each person in the room rec'd a ticket to O'Briens Restaurant there were 3 choices to choose from and it was a complete hot breakfast served to your table. All breakfasts included coffee, juice, eggs any style, sausage or bacon, homefries and toast, pancake choice or other choice with corned beef hash. If you ordered something else off the menu you only had to pay the difference. This hotel was a phenomenal deal and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank G2176QNsusanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel
Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is upon us and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers cozy accommodations for your getaway! We are a pet friendly hotel so no need to leave your furry friends behind! Our hotel is centrally located and is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy hiking, biking and white water rafting opportunities in our area! Charter a fishing boat in the nearby Belgrade Lakes region or simply enjoy a swim! Belgrade is also home to premier golfing opportunities at the Belgrade Lakes Golf Club. Natanis Golf Course, the Waterville Country Club and Lakeview Country Club are all located just a short drive from the hotel. Our entire property has been upgraded. Come check out our new rooms & meeting space! Our 138 guest rooms are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free fiber optic Wi-Fi and HD TV will bring you one step closer to feeling like your home! Relax in our indoor, heated, salt water pool and hot tub or burn some calories in our onsite fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off right in O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it in O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing