We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterville Best Western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pine Plains, United States
1 review
“Waterville Best Western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

a good hotel in an easy to access location for day trips. Easy walk to alternate places to eat. We were on motorcycles but the hotel was not a H-D friendly hotel. Only issue since we had to carry water from room to clean bikes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Sandra B.,

Thank you for your review. I wanted to let you know that we are a Ride Friendly hotel. Our apologies that you were not aware and the inconvenience you faced. We have everything available that you need to wash your bike. Unfortunately, because we don't have a lot of requests we don't leave it set up. Please don't hesitate to let us know that you will need it and we can have it ready for you! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    105
    57
    31
    26
See reviews for
149
73
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Probably the worst problem I had was that my card key did not work TWICE. Which required me to take a five mile hike to the front desk TWICE. Very inconvenient. Kinda a basic need to have a working key to my room. "Clean" remote had red sticky substance with hairs on it. Wifi was weak. Breakfast was almost indigestible. A/C did not work well. Skimpy towel service. BUT, the beds were clean and reasonably comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ChefFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
ChefFood,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay here in Waterville. I apologize about the inconveniences you faced while you were here. Your feedback was talked about with employees at meeting just the other day! We are always striving to better our guest service and product! Thanks again for taking the time to write this review! We do hope that you will come again and stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a very good stay there, Tony Noonan was very helpful in giving directions. Restaurant, was very excellent and maid service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends as an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Donald R.,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about Tony have been passed along! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alstead, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We mad a reservation at this hotel and received a confirmation number. After traveling 6 hours, we arrived and were told there was no availability, even with a confirmation number and a hold on my credit card. There were other parties that were told the same thing. I showed them my confirmation email and still was told there were no rooms available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Delores L,

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered on your recent trip to our hotel. We value your feedback and the time you took out of your schedule to write this review. We do hope you will give us another try when in the Waterville area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

- dirty rooms - rude staff - room door open when we came back to room no one around - smelly hot tub Restaurant mgr was very rude to us,when it say commentary breakfast it is not, there is a value for the room of $14.00 very hard for 4 people to each for $14.00. Waitress was good, friendly but the restaurant mgr was very rude, should not be working with the public. I had booked 4 rooms for 3 night for 12 people, room were not made up each day not even the beds, we had to call for towels twice in a 3 day stay. Internet keep dropping. Best Western is normally a good place to stay but this one is one I would never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Carolyn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay. We value your feedback as a way to better train our employees. I'm sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We certainly try every day to do our best! Thank you again for your time and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Recently took a trip to Maine and stayed at this hotel. The stay was incredible. Friendly service (Darlene and Tony) were wonderful. The pool is awesome and the grounds are immaculate Will recommend this place to my family and friends. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Callie G.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Waterville property. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed along to Darlene and Tony! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthas Vineyard, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a terrible experience at this ......hotel tonight. We had a reservation for tonight and we reconfirm it and when we arrived, they were sold out!!!! They didn't give us the hotel room that we paid for 3 weeks ago, or any room at all! Patricia at the Front Desk didn't even try to look or do anything, they just told us that they are sold out, and that Expedia didn't send them the reservation, even when we called in the afternoon to reconfirm.

So right now we are in the middle of Maine with no hotel room, even when we already paid for one, and the people from Expedia and this hotel blaming each other.......

I will never go to any Best Western in the world!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ralph27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspaulding, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ralph 27,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize about the experience you had and the inconvenience it caused for you and your family. We value your feedback and will use it to better train our employees to keep this from happening again. Again, thank you for your time and our sincere apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel
Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is upon us and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers cozy accommodations for your getaway! We are a pet friendly hotel so no need to leave your furry friends behind! Our hotel is centrally located and is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy hiking, biking and white water rafting opportunities in our area! Charter a fishing boat in the nearby Belgrade Lakes region or simply enjoy a swim! Belgrade is also home to premier golfing opportunities at the Belgrade Lakes Golf Club. Natanis Golf Course, the Waterville Country Club and Lakeview Country Club are all located just a short drive from the hotel. Our entire property has been upgraded. Come check out our new rooms & meeting space! Our 138 guest rooms are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free fiber optic Wi-Fi and HD TV will bring you one step closer to feeling like your home! Relax in our indoor, heated, salt water pool and hot tub or burn some calories in our onsite fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off right in O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it in O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing