We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KAWANHEE INN, WELD, MAINE -- A PLACE OF BEAUTY”
Review of Kawanhee Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kawanhee Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Weld B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Kawanhee Inn in Weld, Maine is a place of beauty in many different ways. The Inn is perched on a hill above beautiful Webb Lake which is nestled beneath the beautiful Tumbledown Mountain Range to the west and beautiful Mount Blue and its State Park to the north. Hiking trails abound.

The Inn itself and accompanying cabins are historic and beautifully rustic and comfortable. The place abounds with charm and the smell of fresh air, pine needles and pine cones. The Inn's sandy beach is a great place to relax and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear waters of Webb Lake.

Some folks enjoy spending time at the Inn while their son(s) are enjoying a wonderful experience at Camp Kawanhee for Boys which is within walking distance from the Inn. Camp Kawanhee for Boys is nearing it's 100th Anniversay.

And amoung the most beautiful aspects of Kawanhee Inn are the people who work there. Their love for the Inn is reflected in their work and their love for their guests is unmatched anywhere.
From the delicious complementary breakfast buffet to spirited cocktail hours in the lounges and on the decks and the delicious dinners often served on the screened pourches overlooking the lake and mountains - - it all adds up to a wonderful and beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived at the Kawanhee Inn on a Friday evening and were greeted by acoustic guitar and joyful song that stayed very well contained in the lodge's great room. The lilting music welcomed us to the bar (visually stunning woodwork throughout) for a drink and delightful conversation with the many sweet guests and staff, and when it was time to retire, our room was serene and immaculate, and very comfortable. We opened the windows that night, unaware of the lake directly in front of us. Upon waking, we knew this wouldn't be our last trip: the view was postcard-class and visiting with the staff was like making new friends--they really wanted us to have the best time ever. From the scrumptious food and drink to the engaging conversation and picturesque views, Kawanhee Inn Lakeside Lodge has everything a Maine Vacationer could want: swimming, fishing, hiking, kayaking, beach-combing, sunbathing, relaxing, imbibing, or devouring mouthwatering chef-crafted entrees and desserts. We thank Tom, our warm and attentive InnKeeper, and the topnotch crew -- We are certain that this will not be our last visit to Weld, Maine-Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaevePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When The Kawanhee Inn was rescued by its current owner, the tourism business in Maine received the best gift possible. My family and I have enjoyed the individual cabins for several summers in a row and each year our Kawahnee trip wins as the most relaxing and enjoyable family time of the year. Plus, the big Inn has a phenomenal restaurant which serves the best food within a 50 mile radius, the bar is relaxing and perfectly situated in the huge living room style lobby, the staff is always smiling and ever so happy to help you all the time and everything else about The Kawanhee Inn is simply ideal. We will be back next year and the year after and the year after.....

Room Tip: Rent one of the individual Cabins. Choose between one of the 3 on top of the hill or one of the 4 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerekBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We got married at the Kawanhee Inn last weekend and it was truly an unforgettable weekend for us. Kawanhee is the definition of rustic beauty. Our friends and family members are still posting pictures and updating their statuses that "they want to go back..." We wanted a weekend wedding venue where people could enjoy the outdoors, reconnect to family and friends or just sit solo on the porch and soak in the mountain views with a book (or a drink ;-)). Kawanhee delivered! The food was absolutely delicious and all of the staff (big shout outs to Tom and Purse) were attentive and helpful without being obtrusive. They really worked hard to ensure that the entire weekend was special for us and they were very comforting as we fumbled through the whole wedding planning process!

This is a place to unplug from your devices and tune in to those around you (ie, no TVs, not much for cell reception, etc.). Kawanhee is just as romantic for couples as it is fun for families. We look forward to many anniversaries at the Kawanhee...either the romantic kind or maybe, who knows, the family kind. Either way, we hope it doesn't change too much.

Meredith Lynt & Adam Bullard

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the lodge rooms and the cabins in the past. Both are great, but we would ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden Jem! My boyfriend and I went here for a quick get away. We couldn't have picked a better place. The service was amazing. We had a great dinner and enjoyed a few drinks at the bar. We stayed in room 20, which I highly recommend. We will be making this an annual visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scelica91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was invited to the Kawanhee Inn for my cousin's wedding. The property is beautiful and we had a great time. We loved being able to use the kayaks and spend some time on the lovely lake. The setting was perfect for the wedding and the accomodations were comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank TPMD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently My husband and I spent the weekend celebrating our 32nd wedding Anniversary at your Inn and, though it had come highly recommended to us, we had no idea how special it is. The accommodations were excellent - from the comfortable bed to the glass of Malbec in front of the fire! All this was enhanced by the cordial and pleasant staff. Though we arrived very late Friday night, the dinner we were served was amazing! And that is from someone who has eaten in some of the best restaurants in France!!! If you are looking for a treat in a wonderfully rustic environment with many amenities, the Kawanhee Inn can't be beat.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kawanhee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawanhee Inn

Address: 12 Annes Way, Just off Rt. 142, Weld, ME 04285-3349
Region: United States > Maine > Weld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weld
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kawanhee Inn sits on the shores of Webb Lake in the quaint Town of Weld, Maine. We are conveniently located to countless hiking trails, swimming ponds and other various outdoor adventures. Whether you are up for being active or simply sitting by the lake or fire, the Kawanhee Inn is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kawanhee Inn Lakeside Hotel Weld
Kawanhee Inn Maine/Weld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing