We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful and interesting”

Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Maine wildlife refuge also has a beach on its property.
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and interesting”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was wonderfult to walk around amongst all of the huge hemlocks and pines. The views are fabulous and all of the literature available for each marked spot is very interesting. The walk is very easy and short but crammed with fascinating facts. A wonderful contrast to walking the Marginal Walkway, showing so much diversity along the coast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    104
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than a walk in the park”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is always a restful and beautiful spot to walk. The trail is only 1 mile long and I wish that it were longer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mauncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a great easy trail to bring the dogs”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

this was a wonderfull off the beaten path to be ever to bring our 3 dogs to walk on this 1 mile very scenic trail. you could just take your time and enjoy the quietness of it all. the views were spectacular and it was an easy walk. they had plenty of parking and there was restrooms if you needed them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oneeyeWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sWAMPSCOTT, MA.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great nature walkand kid friendly”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is an easy walk in the woods with views of the marsh and ocean. Kids would love it. It is not very long with nice foliage in the fall and many bird sightings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKCK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a treasure”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I found a great nature trail in Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge in Wells. There were great views of a variety of habitats. It's a fairly flat 1 mile trail with 11 observation decks and strategically placed benches along the way. I walked it mid-day so the lighting was terrible for photography, then I went back around 5 pm when the lighting was more fun. I would love to photograph this refuge through the seasons. The refuge was so serene, if I lived in the area I would be a regular visitor. Plus it's free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing