We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village by the Sea”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Bailey Island ME
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Village by the Sea”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Every year for Thanksgiving our small family of three travel to our favorite place in Wells, VBTS. This resort is a fabulous value. The units are clean, private, comfortable and well maintained. The pool and hot tub are a real treat and beautifully cared for. They have everything a person could want in the workout room.
The staff, management and housekeeping/groundskeeping crews are all friendly and very good at their jobs. They are caring and responsive.
This is your best choice in Wells. Relaxed, but upscale, friendly, but private and Very well run.

Room Tip: Buildings 1,2,3,4,5,and 6 in Chicadee building have the best marsh views especially top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    157
    35
    28
    16
See reviews for
333
200
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Village by the Sea is an absolutely perfect spot for a family or romantic get away. The fireplace in the room added an extra special feel to the atmosphere of the room. Full kitchen gives you the option to eat in and save a little bit of money if you choose. It has a great view, balconies for every room and close to many attractions and shopping experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our family of four stayed here and it was very nice from the tip of the driveway all the way through the room. Nice facility, reasonable price, clean and well decorated, friendly staff. Wish we could have stayed longer and will the next time!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunkeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had heard about VBTS from my cousin and decided to give it a try. We were very happy we did!! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We were so impressed with the accommodations. Our unit had a complete full-sized kitchen, beautiful large living room and dining room, and large bedroom and bathroom. All were very nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. You will never get that in a regular hotel room.

They are also located close to many activities. Of course, the beach is very close. There is also the Kittery, Me outlet shopping, many restaurants and tourist attractions are right out your door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My mother, sisters, nieces, great nephew, and I recently stayed in two units at VBTS. The accommodations were clean and well appointed. I dreaded the idea of staying in a hotel room with my very active, fourteen month old great nephew so I investigated other options. I am so glad I did! We had a wonderful time. In the evening, the kids decided to bake cookies, we ordered in food, and whole family lounged and talked in the living room. My sister and nephew went to the pool and loved it. We encountered one snag (the bathroom door locked from the outside) and maintenance came and quickly fixed the problem. Everyone was very happy with the resort and we definitely plan to come back again next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a balcony off the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

VBTS is a home away from home!! The units have large bedrooms, living room, dining room and full kitchen. We love being able to pick up meal ingredients at the grocery store just down the street and relaxing at home. Great views of the marsh and ocean. Short drive to outlets in Kittery got us started on holiday shopping!! Plenty of great local restaurants and things to do and see within a 10-minute drive north or south. And to end the day with indoor pool and hot tub was fabulous!!

Room Tip: Some end units have side windows for extra brightness. First floor unit have patio. Other units ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great resort! We stayed for the long weekend & loved the extra space here, especially compared to a typical hotel room. We travelled with extended family and shared a 2 bedroom. The price for our 2 small families was amazing. They have great specials on their website.
The kids loved the indoor pool. And we loved having a kitchen.
We'd love to go in the summer next time. They have an outdoor pool too.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor if you don't want to hear people above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetofly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing