We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Valentines weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Concord NH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Valentines weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a great weekend. Have stayed here several times before but they must have new management or something.
Book the Valentines weekend special with another couple. We stayed in 11-E. The unit was very clean and quiet. The master bedroom had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Maid service in the morning was great.
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    157
    35
    28
    16
See reviews for
331
200
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friends and I often book a suite at VBTS. Always a wonderful experience. We come back often! At different times of the year, always a great time!
Shops, restaurants, and beaches all close by.
The staff is helpful and cordial, makes us comfortable right from the beginning, and all through our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the Chick a Dee building, top floor. Beautiful ocean views, and it doesn't even matter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marykc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I led a group of 8 couples on a trip to Wells. We had an amazing time mostly because everyone enjoyed the accommodations at Village By The Sea. The rooms were clean and well cared for. Most of them had a great view to the east. The living areas were comfortable and the bedrooms were as well. No complaints. It was peaceful and quiet. The staff made sure our needs were met and gave us some great tips on the area. The indoor pool and spa were a welcome relaxing amenity.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we had were very nice and well cared for. I had the upper floor and took full advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VT-Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I'm a writer and come here every January with another writer friend to get some work done. The 2BR/2BA unit is spacious and quiet, very conducive to writing. The view is great. The fitness center is fine - a few treadmills and ellipticals, some weight machines. Staff are very friendly and responsive. The fully-equipped kitchen means we save time and money having breakfast and lunch in the room. Some seasonal restaurants are closed, but there are some very good ones nearby for dinner.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroostook County, Me
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

An unused piece of dental floss was in the bathroom trash can. That is the one and only remotely negative thing I can say about my recent stay at Village By The Sea in Wells, and I had to stretch to even find that. That's how nearly perfect my stay was. This facility is just fantastic! The units are spacious, quiet, and absolutely spotless. Each is quite private and comes fully equipped like a home away from home. The views are gorgeous, and the amenities like the pool, hot tub, game room are top notch. I stayed during the offseason, and got a terrific deal on a much-needed midwinter weekend getaway. It was so luxurious that I couldn't believe all that I was getting for what I paid. I highly recommend Village By The Sea in beautiful Wells, Maine, and am looking forward to a return visit soon!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views of the water than others. Check before making a reservation if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisR624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I live in Sanford, Maine in the summer which is 10 miles from this resort. I know a lot of the properties in the area and I always choose this one . The spacious accommodations, the view and the staff are all excellent here. A very nice place to stay when visiting the Wells area.ch

Room Tip: Choose a room on the hill for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowstonemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We always enjoy staying here. The condos are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Housekeeping comes in every day and does a great job. Nothing for me to do but just relax. Inwholeheartily recommend staying here while in Wells

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWrobel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing