We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for one night. Check their website for specials in the winter - they seem to regularly have some available. We had a 1 bedroom for two people. We were surprised at how big the place was. We could have easily had 4 people in there comfortably! We stayed in room 8A. The suite was very big with a king size bed and 2 bathrooms. It was clean. Location is convenient to many services and nearby attractions - including the beaches.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Soliterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We recently booked a vacation in Wells, Maine at this resort in early March. We just wanted a couple of days of R&R and this place was great! Well appointed, and in the off season VERY affordable! Don't discount the ocean in the winter ! We always prefer staying in a condo rather than a hotel. It gives you so much more room and the possibility of eating in or not!
I would recommend this resort, it is close to the attractions, and if you are staying in the lower building a great view of the marsh. The sunrise is spectacular!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubspeid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were visiting the coast of Maine just for the weekend for a short get away. We drove by Village by the Sea and decided to check them out. We only stayed one night but wish we had discovered them the night before. The place was excellent. Great value for off season, clean and so comfortable. We will be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Enjoyed the indoor pool as it was 10 degrees (or colder) outside! The hot tub was used by all! The units are nicely done with full kitchens so you have the option of eating in. Great staff, very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPhpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Staying at Village by the Sea is the ultimate in "going away". The space in 14E is awesome and the fireplace is an added plus. The unit is bright, comfortable and owner and management have left nothing to chance. Every time we visit we are never disappointed. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Check out the units with a fireplace and try the upper building for an awesome view of the sunrises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memere A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The staff was really nice and helpful. The 2 Bedroom Unit was Awesome I wasn't expecting to be a whole apartment. It was like they were welcoming u home and making sure you were as comfortable.up in ma you get one small room with two beds I didn't feel comafortable at all. I give this hotel 4 stars. The only thing that bothered me was the pool being to deep than it was supposed to be. Thanks and I will recommend to anyone to go there free wifi and fitness center and game room hut tub was good.I will go back there for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myawesomekidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a great weekend. Have stayed here several times before but they must have new management or something.
Book the Valentines weekend special with another couple. We stayed in 11-E. The unit was very clean and quiet. The master bedroom had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Maid service in the morning was great.
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
444 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#5 of 29 in Wells
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing