We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston Spa,, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a three night getaway last weekend at VBTS, taking advantage of one of their off season specials on their website. This is the third time we have stayed at VBTS and as usual we were happy with our accomodations. Staying at VBTS is more like renting a condo or apartment than staying at a hotel, although they do offer daily light housekeeping and have a nice indoor pool. I would recommend looking at the photo's on their website before booking as the units decor is different with each one, depending on the owner. Some are more updated that others. With most you will find a kitchen from the 1980's. If this bothers you I would recommend looking elsewhere. If you don't concern yourself with that on vacation and appreciate having vastly more space, a washer and dryer in most units, and a full kitchen as mentioned, than you will probably appreciate VBTS. As usual the front desk staff was pleasant and accomodating and the housekeepers were prompt checking in on us with fresh towels each morning. One small complaint for me is the use of the indoor pool for local birthday parties. We experienced this on Saturday. When we arrived at about 10:15 AM with our two young children we had the pool to ourselves. By 11:15 AM the pool was completely filled with screaming, rambunkious preteen girls with their clueless parents texting and talking on their phones. Out of concern for our two kids and to preserve our hearing we quickly vacated the area. No staff from VBTS was present and their appeared to be very little supervision for the this "party." I noticed that VBTS is now advertising this on their website and while I understand the desire to generate more outside revenue, I think the pool is an ammenity advertised and paid for in part by paying hotel guests, most of whom are not prepared or expecting this on their vacation. We still enjoyed our stay however and are preparing to return in June when the outdoor pool will hopefully be open!

Room Tip: check the pictures on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    157
    35
    28
    16
See reviews for
333
201
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A group of gals have been going to VBS for 4-5 years and have always had a good experience. We request the same condo and have always been satisfied with every part of our stay. Staff is always pleasant and helpful. Can't wait to get back next year. MM

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boylston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Everything was such well taken care of! It was like staying in a house with the full kitchen and great rooms! Very homing feeling! The pool area and gaming area was very clean. People who stayed with me also used the fitness center and loved it! The place is so close to great restaurants. It is a great hotel to use as a starting ground to adventure out to other parts of Maine! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nee238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We rented a 2-bedroom suite in August 2012 and we liked our stay. The ''Village'' is well located and not too far from the ocean. Beds were comfortable and the room and bathrooms were cleaned everyday. The only negative aspect was that the carpet in our room was dirty and needed to be deeply cleaned. Overall, we had a good time but I think the price is a little bit high for a room with a dirty carpet.

Room Tip: Before your stay ask for a deep carpet cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Sebastien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked our church Couple's Retreat at Village by the Sea. It was a wonderful time, and every couple who attended loved their accommodations! We did not hear one negative comment from any of the couples who attended. Each unit was clean as well as comfortably and appropriately appointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay at VBTS very much. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.
The rooms are spacious and clean, well decorated and very cozy...I felt very much at home.
The proximity to the beaches, shops and stores made everything easy and fun.
The suite had everything I needed, it was definitely more than I expected.
I will return as soon as I am able, and highly recommend this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: I visited in the winter, there were only about 10 people visiting. All of the suites a very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed here several times a year for the past several years and have always had a great stay! On New Years Eve, especially we travel with friends cook prime rib and lobsters to ring in the New Year. The units are spacious and nicely decorated and when our friend needed a ground floor no steps unit due to surgery we were accommodated immediately. My only negative ( and its a minor one) is that the indoor pool is always crowded with children. Adult swim time would be an added bonus. We will be back several more times this year and again on New Years weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the marsh seem to be the larger suites. However, every one we have stayed in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing