We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at village by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
n.h.
1 review
“stay at village by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

service friendly and helpful throughout stay
rooms clean, comfortable and roomy, kitchen complete with utensils
location central to coastal routes, restaurants, attractions and beaches
good for antiquing.

Room Tip: rooms on hill have better views rooms available for those who can not do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank css540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    157
    35
    28
    16
See reviews for
333
200
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had a great long weekend at Village By The Sea! My friend got married in Maine and the reception was held at VBTS. The cocktail hour in the garden near the gazebo was beautiful and the reception space was awesome! Food and drink selection was great. The hotel staff was very friendly and room rates were reasonable. The housekeeping staff was especially nice and excellent at their jobs! My only gripe was our room, unit 11E. This unit was dated and in need of updates to the kitchen, bathrooms and common areas. Bedrooms were comfortable, but in need of heavier curtains: at night, the bedrooms were flooded with light from the parking lots and it was difficult to sleep. This unit has a strange lay-out also. Other units my friends were staying in, however, were beautifully decorated, well-maintained, and updated. The pools at VBTS were nice as was the fitness room. The views of the marsh and coastline were awesome! Would love to stay at VBTS again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Village by the Sea! It is a great location between Kenneybunkport and Ogunquit. We were able to visit both during our stay. All of the neighboring beaches were beautiful! Our room was very clean and we had a great view of the wild life marshes where we were able to see beautiful birds while drinking our morning coffee. The room was more than adequate. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms which was perfect for the four of us that were staying together. I would definately recommend staying here even for a weekend trip like we did!

....there is also a Dunkin Donuts right acorss the street. Every New Englanders must have!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weeks vacation here at the Village by the Sea and we would whole heartedly recommend that this 'IS' the place to stay! This property 'is perfect' and so clean and cared for! We felt like we were at home and the staff was both very gracious and accommodating! We would love to return for another stay in the future, as we felt we made a great choice!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We always enjoy our stay at VBS. The rooms are spacious clean and most have a view of the water-(even if its a mile away). It has all the amenities of home and the staff is very helpful and pleasant. We usually have our yearly family reunion there. We all get our own units and then get together to enjoy cooking lobster or getting together and going to nearby town of Ogunquit or for a breath taking walk along Marginal Way. I would highly recommend Village By the Sea if you want to have beautiful surroundings- spacious clean rooms-pool (both indoor and out) and just down the road from the beach.Off season works best for us--both economically and the crowds are much less- You get a lot for what you pay for. It's become a tradition with our family to meet up at VBS. Great place to make Great memories with the family!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katekt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only one night and we wished we could have stayed longer. We definitely want to come back for a family vacation with the siblings and in laws. Very affordable and lots of room for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were in town for a wedding and stayed here for 2 nights. We would definitely like to come back in the future for an extended period. The rates are very reasonable, the rooms were magnificent and very well maintained. The staff was very pleasant and the scenery was beautiful. I would highly recommend Village By the Sea. So would my other family members who stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing