We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Harbor Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Misty Harbor is a great place for a winter getaway as well as summer. Walking on the beach is great without the crowds of summer. The beach is less than a mile away and no parking issues in the off season.
The swimming pool, hot tub and sauna are very clean and comfortable. The staff is pleasant and helpful. There are many great places to eat within a short drive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fotofox69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

My son booked this motel online and was not familiar with the area. Our room was a king w/a pullout sofa. The sofa made a terrible bed, not comfortable at all. My son woke up both nights with a aching back. The room had a kitchen and seemed to be furnished, we only used drinking glasses. There were no toiletries as I recall so be sure you bring your own. It was in bad need of redecorating, really outdated. I would imagine stained but I tried to not look too much! The king size bed was comfortable, no problem there. I would imagine it was overpriced but I dared not ask my husband! We went in Oct. but there is a indoor pool and it is only a short distance to the beach. It is in a good location, we went to nearby Wells, Kennebunkport and Portland. I usually say "goodbye room" and am rather sad, this time I was not!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived without a booking, checked trip advisor reviews and online prices and checked in. It was a quiet off peak mid week night. The service from reception was excellent. The room was very spacious, bed comfortable, very clean. Great shower.

The only draw back for us was the security lighting- which is great, but no block out curtains. Not too bad ..... a simple thing to remedy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here had booked for 4 days then added another day on. The rooms were nice , indoor pool and whirlpool were all clean and maintained all the time. We saw them checking both for chemicals etc. There is an outside deck with both sun and shade. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit unsure. Chose to book it anyway as I wanted to be able to walk the mile to the beach and from the resort it is a mile. The only time we heard anyone was the last day their were children upstairs but outside the rooms running. I blame the parents not the resort for this. We didn't have a problem with people over us at all. We had no rowdy kids or adults and were at the pool at all different times. We never had any problem with our room or the maids. We never left out kindles or laptops either. We did however have a pile of change mostly quarters on the table and not 1 even went missing. Common sense I would think. I do wish they had in room safes anything of value we took with us. Not sure who the manager is as we never needed to see them. Check in and out was organized and timely. Yes we would return again. Great location and the rooms are perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eptcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here last weekend with my mother, brother, and husband. We had a two bedroom unit for three nights and it worked out perfect! It 1 had queen bed in each of the bedrooms and a pull out queen sofa in the living room. I was a little nervous after reading some of the bad reviews but we had no problems with our room whatsoever. It was very clean and had everything we needed kitchen wise! Things are a little out dated but everything is kept clean so that wasn't a real issue.

We opted for the beach everyday so we never tried the pool, although it did look busy!

It is located in a great area. Less than a mile from the beach and 4 restaurants in walking distance, that all have good food! Not to mention that it is across the street from a shopping center that has a grocery store and movie theater for rainy days!

Overall, it was a good time, centrally located to the beach, clean and spacious. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lfratt320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there years ago and had pleasant stays. New managers are not up to the job. Place has become quite seedy. It's full of rowdy kids in the pool at all hours. Hot tub looked like a public toilet. Other than its relatively close proximity (one mile) to the beach it's got nothing going for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobalouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My family and I just returned from what was supposed to be five days at the misty harbor but left after the second night. We went out early evening around 330pm came back around 8pm that night and found someone had been in our room, we asked to speak to the manager but he was not available until the next day. Todd the manager denied anyone being in our room than later, confirmed they were there, to perform a service to clean yet they didn't clean they only helped themselves to my purse found in the middle of the room. Todd the manager, stated this did not happen calling us liars even though we slept that second night with a chair behind the door because was not available until morning. His response you had a deadbolt, yes to which you and your staff have the key. My FOUR year old was not staying one more day there on top of which the pull out sofa for the one bedroom unit was disgusting all stained we put sheets on it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerryD, Manager at Misty Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Erica E. and Family,

First of all, our sincerest apology that we could not make you feel comfortable. We pride ourselves on creating a clean, comfortable atmosphere where families can feel at home. When the registration office contacted management about your concern over a missing dishcloth and your handbag having been discovered on the floor upon your return to your suite, but that nothing was missing from it, we felt there must be a logical explanation.

Unfortunately we then had a miscommunication, and we apologize for someone from management not responding better to your situation immediately. The next day, upon checking with the housekeeper, in her 12th season with us, it was discovered that she had in fact serviced the room. Again, as nothing was missing, we surmised that maybe the purse was not placed securely on the shelf. When you stated that you did not believe that to be the case and mentioned calling the police, you were encouraged to do so. We stand behind our staff, most of whom have been with us multiple years. We do not believe it is likely that if someone had indeed gone through your bag that they would not put it back as they had found it.

As for your safety and security, all rooms do have deadbolts and our staff does not have ready access to these keys and they are trained not to enter rooms when occupied and/or dead bolted.

Lastly I must apologize again if you found the sleep sofa mattress offensive. Please rest assured that messes are sanitized when stains occur but some stains do not fully wash out, all mattresses are covered with a mattress pad and linens. We are very conscientious of the fact that a clean resort is the first step in making guests feel at home and comfortable.

Once again, we are VERY sorry this situation caused you such concern and you were not completely comfortable here.

Sincerely,

Derry Downey,
Misty Harbor Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Harbor Resort

Address: 60 Mile Rd, Wells Beach, Wells, ME 04090-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Harbor Resort is an all suite condominium hotel resort adjacent to the Rachel Carson Wildlife Refuge, and just 3/4 mile from beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Guest enjoy spacious, air conditioned one and two bedroom condominium suites complete with full kitchens, dining area and scenic views of the marshlands and ocean beyond.Resort Amenities include indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, pool deck, exercise room, outdoor playground, grills, picnic tables and more. We have resort wide Free Wireless Internet access. Popular Varano's Italian Restaurant is located on the premises, and the trolley stops at our entrance in season. Misty Harbor Resort is open year round with many off season specials available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Misty Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Harbor Hotel Wells
Misty Harbor Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing