We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Adorable Cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Harbor View Cottages
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife & I stayed at New Harbor View Cottages for one week & had a great time. We stayed in cabin 6 for one night which was a cozy one bedroom with a full kitchen & a very nice screened in porch overlooking the Ocean. We then moved to cabin 9 which is a very nice 2 bedroom with an updated full kitchen & a large screened in porch overlooking the Ocean. Cabin 9 was unavailable on our first night so we stayed in Cabin 6 which had a great sky light. We also had lots of room for our dog to run. It is a very pet friendly resort.

The owners, Deb & Adam, are on the property all the time to take care of any needs. The property is very well maintained and the cabins are very clean. They have a very nice heated pool along with several outdoor grills & picnic tables which we used often.

The area is amazingly beautiful. Close walk to the Ocean. Lovely small towns right on the Ocean just minutes north & south of the cottages. Lots to do & several great restaurants. We booked the same week for 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

my wife and i and our 3 dogs just spent 1 week in cabin 3, it was a 1 bedroom cottage, with a full kitchen, everything you would have in your own kitchen, this place had. it had a queen size bed, very comfortable, and a good size screened in porch with 2 relaxing chairs.the only draw back to this cabin was that the toilet was in 1 little cubicle and right across the door way was the shower in its own cubicle, and the only sink was in the kitchen, it took a couple of days to get accustomed to it but it all worked out in the end.The owners are always on the property and are very friendly. it is very convenient to anything you need, hannafords grocery store, gas stations for ice and anything else you need is in walking distance. Our plan is to be back next year, but with having 3 dogs we will be getting a 2 bedroom cottage.

Room Tip: cottage 1&2 and 3 are right on the side of a gas station, so at times you do hear a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneeyeWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was our first year staying a New Harbor View Cottages in Maine, we loved our stay and already booked for 2014. Deb and Adam are awesome and the cottages are extremely adorable and clean. We were able to take our two dogs with us which was awesome.

Thank you again Deb and Adam, see you in 2014....

Dawn/Sandy and the puppies :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our forth year returning to this charming, dog friendly set of cottages. Deb has been firm and always forthright in her dealings and keeps a consistant quality. We love the simplicity of her approach, "leave the way you found it", every year we just relax completely in these neat cottages. Pet friendly makes it a real bonus for us dog lovers. Less than a mile to the beach, we hit the water every day and the weather was great. Three o'clock check in worked great for us having driven in from Vermont, and we appreciate her keeping us up to date. Deb keeps us posted by email and is really handy in the check out process. We loved the cabin, I wanted to take the bed home with me, and the pool was a nice bonus.

The convenient trolly takes you everywhere, beach, town, shopping, other towns and restaurants (all for a $1). We look forward to returning next year. This is a great place for couples with pets. Wells Beach is lovely.

Room Tip: Check In is at 3pm, so plan accordingly and enjoy your first day at the beach, in town or shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0722Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

It is the last day of our weeks stay at New Harbor View Cottages and we are sad to be leaving tomorrow. We found the cottage to be clean and equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing vacation. It was especially nice to have a full size refrigerator and a built in dishwasher. The beds were comfortable and freshly made up for us upon arrival. We made use of the dishes, glassware, etc... I am fussy about cleanliness and felt the cupboards, counters and appliances were all squeaky clean. The cottages are housekeeping units so you do need to keep your cottage tidy and are expected to leave it how you found it. We enjoyed the BBQ grill and picnic table right outside our door. In the evening and first thing in the morning it is especially nice to sit in the screened porch and enjoy a beverage. Our two small dogs stayed in their crate while we visited the beach each day. It was wonderful to have a great place to stay in Wells where we could bring the dogs. I highly recommend the New Harbor View for folks who are looking for a stress free get away in a relaxing cottage environment that is close to all the local amenities. We found the proprietors Deb and Adam to be accommodating and attentive to our needs. Overall a great place to stay. We will tell our friends about it and plan to return next summer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is our 2nd time to Wells and first time staying here. Would def recommend New Harbor View Cottages!!! The first thing we noticed was how clean the cottage was. Very tastefully decorated. I've stayed in a lot of cottages over the years and this one was one of the cleanest. The pool is solar panel heated so it keeps in line with the weather. We enjoyed taking a dip after a lazy day at the beach. Although we didnt bring our pets it was so nice to see the other people's dogs. Very friendly people. As far as the poster below's list of "chores" it is no different from any other cottage stay. There is a quick turn around on Saturday and asking to leave the cottage the way you found it is totally resonalbe. They must not have stayed in a cottage before. If you dont want that you should be staying at a hotel. Im sad to see our week come to an end and would totally stay here again. Oh! The location is great as well. Thank you for a GREAT vacation!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We loved cottage #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axd0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place was terrible. Check in isn't until 3pm and we were pushed aside until 3:20pm. They insisted on full payment before arrival and will never give a refund even if you don't spend a minute there! Upon entering the cottage you're presented with lists of chores including taking out trash, vacuuming, and sweeping. The furniture is dated and extremely uncomfortable. The wifi never worked the entire week we were there! The pool was tiny and not heated as advertised, the bathroom was so small you could barely move or wash properly, and the towels are only replaced every other day as long as you put the dirty ones outside... never staying here again!! We spent an extra night at N'er Beach motel (pet friendly) and had a great experience. The only reason New Harbor is still in business is that they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stubbedtoe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSFWellsME, Owner at New Harbor View Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We were certainly surprised by this review. These guests were very friendly during their stay and we were unaware of any problems. Cottage #11 is our most popular cottage. Please read Craig and Linda's review from July 17, 2012. They stay in Cottage #11 every year and they have nothing but wonderful comments about this cottage, our pool, and New Harbor View.

Yes, our check in is at 3pm (as are most cottages and hotels), we change towels every other day to preserve the environment, our pool is heated by solar panels, and we ask our guests to leave the cottage as they found it, as stated on our website.

I was unaware that these guests were having trouble with the WIFI until their departure. I certainly would have addressed this issue during their stay.

These guests arrived at 9am and wanted to check in before the previous guests had checked out. When I reminded them that our check in was at 3pm, they arrived again at 1pm and watched my husband and I scurry between cottages in 95 degree weather to get them all cleaned by 3pm. We began checking in our new guests at 3:05 pm, when we finished all the cottages. Also, these guests made their final payment at check in.

I wish these guests had voiced their comments during their stay. We certainly would have make every effort to rectify these issues to make their visit to New Harbor View, a very pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#5 of 29 in Wells
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#16 of 29 in Wells
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbor View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbor View Cottages

Address: 1061 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4511
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Harbor View Cottages, owned and operated by the Ford Family (Adam Deb,& Cole) are located about a mile from the beach in the picturesque and friendly Wells, Maine. Our completely furnished 1 and 2 bedroom cottages provide the simple pleasures of yesteryear with the amenities of today. Our non-smoking restored/updated cottages offer lazy windswept screened porches, fully equipped kitchens and baths, warm aged knotty pine interiors, AC, heat, ceiling fans, color cable TV & WIFI. Many cottages have water views. We are pet friendly too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Harbor View Cottages Hotel Wells
New Harbor View Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing