We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Wells”
Review of The Boon Island Ale House - CLOSED

The Boon Island Ale House
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Casual, Comfortably Elegant Chef Inspired Restaurant with a Nautical flare.
Newton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in Wells”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We actually stayed in Captain Phil and Tina's Guest House. They are super people and are very hard workers. They leave you feeling like you've always known them. The food was the best overall that we found on our recent trip. The burgers are top notch and are like no burger we've ever eaten. The pizza is also great. Well for that matter the fries rock and all the food we ate was great. And great value! You'll want to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaSadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    27
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wells, maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had 39 guests for a rehearsal dinner...Tina planned everything for us...simply perfect. The food rocked it...our families couldn't say enough positive about the clam chowder, porcini stuffed ravioli, baked haddock and chicken marsala. Stephen, the other owner and his dad Phil just made everything special for us. Grammy Terry was the best hostess ever. We have such lasting memories of an awesome evening with family and friends, which will forever including the Boon Island Family...
Anyone looking for a great dinner, drink, awesome service or a place to go to celebrate a special occasion...you can't go wrong with Boon Island.-
Cheers

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parrill25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“personal pizza and fish tacos were the bomb!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friend raves about their bar menu. He was soo right. Their 5 cheese pizza was spot on and their fish tacos were a value and delicious! Service was johnny on the spot and their knowledge of the drink menu was great! A great stop on route 1.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ted12600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am not sure what they do to their burgers but we leave their full and longing for the next visit. Other menu choices such as Fish Tacos or Lobster Mac and Cheese are tasty and well prepared. The Bloody Mary's are my favorite but the beer choices are extensive. Steve the son of the original owners Tina and Phil works hard behind the bar and greeting patrons. This is a fun, friendly establishment where you feel like a local even if you are just passing through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank itravelSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't order the pizza...”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

3rd or 4th time here, most recently under new management , dad got the 2 for $20 lobster roll special-delicious! Sadly, very disheartened by the lobster pizza which we had ordered on special a year ago (and was fantastic) but this time the dough was thick and really doughy and tasted kinda cheap, there was hardly any lobster on it. Oh well. Had really good burgers and appetizers there in the past. Not sure if we'll go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boon Island Ale House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing