We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic outdoor lobster bake”
Review of Capt'n Hook's

Capt'n Hook's
Ranked #46 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic outdoor lobster bake”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We love this place because it is casual and outdoors. There are cool fire pits and dogs are welcome. It is very family friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great Maine experience for eating outdoors”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Each year, we try to experience outdoor eating in the area and this year we chose Capt'n Hook's. The order time was pretty prompt, even during the busy summer. There is plenty of seating and it is so relaxing. We got bottle drinks out of the cooler which they had a nice variety. Since this IS a tourist area, expect to pay more than usual. This is New England and near the coast you will pay a bit inflated price for food. Just saying. I ordered the swordfish special which was pretty good. This place is known for its lobster meals so if you are searching for lobster, this is the place to come. There are some lobster pounds in Wells, ME and there is one I am not impressed with (another review). I like lobster rolls which are heated and know just the place for those (another review). I loved the music and the whole atmosphere of this establishment. I have eaten here a few times since and as always, they pull through with great food. They do have a website too, http://www.captainhookstakeout.com/

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowTheWorldYouCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“All you can eat Lobster on Wed nights”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stopped by for dinner on a Wed night It seemed very crowded so we thoght must be great. How much lobster can you eat. For the price that other restaurants charge for twin locsters You can eat all you want. The line to pick up was long but moved as quick as they could get the lobsters outof the water two at a time Pleant of picnic tables while others tailgetting If you loke lobster worth the trip

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fingerlakes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best lobster value in Wells/Ogunquit, Fun, Outdoor dining! Great chowder!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My favorite place to get lobster! Their prices are fantastic and the food so tasty! My husband and I always get the lobster dinner that comes with potatoes and corn and love that the prices are so good! Try their clam chowder! It is thick, creamy, and has plenty of meat. My grandmother enjoys their fried haddock sandwich when we go.

It is an outdoor dining place that has beautiful, mature shade trees and a fun picnic feel. Outdoor dining only so come on a good weather day. They also do takeout if weather is bad.

I cannot recommend this place enough! Eat here, you will not be sorry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ABPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware if you're thirsty...”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place has decent food and drinks but the drinks are very expensive. My friend and I had some appetizers and probably 3 rounds of drinks (or so)- the bill was outrageous. Also, don't be fooled- the drink special of the day is by no means cheap!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kristeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Capt'n Hook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing