We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the Bate's Motel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Bate's Motel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Well... Felt a little like bates motel. One of the cheaper ones on border of ogunquit. Some of the aspects of the rooms have been updated. Carpet beds tv etc... My wive blew out electric with hairdryer!! Get to use old fashion lock and key locks! Nice pool on premises, most of staff also lives on premises. You can BBQ as there are several grills to use. The breakfast place across the street gives a discount and the food is really well prepared with a clean dining room with a very country
feel. Overall descent hotel with a bunch of little annoyances that I can tolerate for a 3 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoutinguncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our competitive prices. We try to be reasonable especially during the summer months.

We do realize because the property is a little bit older structurally wise, that things like blowing the circuit may occur. We appreciate that you allowed our staff to handle the little annoyances over your 3 night stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    76
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
73
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The wifi does not work unless you are in the main building but the customer service is terrible you have to get your own towels and some of the staff is rude and arrogant they are never wrong also if you want an extra pillow or sheet you also have get them yourself. Good place bad service

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacalover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. I am surprised and disappointed to hear that the staff was rude to you. If you'd like to share more details on what specifically happened, I would be more than happy to look into it.

Regarding getting your towels at front desk: There are times where the front office is extremely busy. Since we are a family owned/operated business it is difficult to leave the office unattended outside of houskeeping hours. We apologize for the inconvenience but if we were not as busy we would have walked and delivered them to your door.

We do not advertise that we have wi-fi in our rooms. Wi-fi is available in the office area. Our property is fairly large, and although we have some access points around the property we understand that the signal is not strong. We have plans in the near future to invest in the equipment and installation for network coverage over the 45,000 square feet area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We just enjoyed a wonderful weekend here. The recently renovated place is the perfect spot to enjoy the best of Southern Maine. The room was very clean and spacious, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend it and want to come back with friends and family soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! The greatest compliment we can receive is that you will be coming back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have known this place as the Midway and now the Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages. The place is newly renovated and they have done a wonderful job. The place is being run impeccably and the people who run the place are the most accommodating and very friendly people to deal with! A+++. Marion C.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! We are glad to hear that you notice our efforts in transforming the property. More importantly, it makes us happy to know that our staff was friendly to you and your family! We are excited to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was very impressed with our stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. The grounds were very clean. You could see work being put into the cottages. I would recordmend this place excellent location price is right. I am going back for a week in July with daughter and grandchildren.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memeof09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
As we've stated before, the best compliment we can receive is that you will come back! We are excited to see you again in July and hope your experience in the cottages are the same as our hotel units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a great place if you want something convenient, close to both Wells and Ogunquit, and very affordable. The staff is helpful and nice, and you also get discount to nearby restaurants when you're a customer at the hotel. For surfers, this is a great place as it is located midway between the Ogunquit river mouth break and the Wells Jetties. Also, the rooms are big and comfortable. The WiFi access is fast and reliable and there is also an outside pool. Overall, a very good place to stay for a low budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. One of the things we plan on doing in the near future, is enabling all of our units with Wi-FI access. Because of the large land area, and trees, we have had difficulty boosting the signal however we offer our office area for guests to use the wifi.

We are glad you liked the location. It is great for travelers to stay here because they are in the middle of all the major attractions (kennebunk, wells, ogunquit, kennebunkport)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the ABVI in Wells,Maine. The motel is nicely renovated, quiet, and pleasant. Our room was clean and tastfully furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you! We love hearing when a guest will come back. We look forward to hosting you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#9 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beach Rose Inn
The Beach Rose Inn
#4 of 9 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Address: 424 Post Road, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing