We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a family and convenient to beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Metro Boston
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine for a family and convenient to beaches”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Needed to rent a cottage to accommodate our party, the cottage was rustic but clean. Luckily it was a little chilly during our stay, as the AC was pretty weak. Full kitchen was great and allowed for flexibility. Beds were just okay, pull-out couch was acceptable. Office staff was nice but limited in offering useful dining advice in the area. For the right price I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_C1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. We're glad you stayed with us.

The cottage is a great option for large parties, and is very cost effective! We did re-check the AC unit after your comments. The AC is designed to be able to cool that size of the room.

We're sorry that we were not able to provide more dining options for you. We have partnerships with local restaurants for discounts for our guests! We will try to do a better job to communicate some of our deals.


Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    84
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
86
84
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked through hotwire and didn't know what we were getting but were pleasantly surprised. This inn has a heated outdoor pool, picnic tables and grill for guest use, chairs on the balcony, free wifi and more. They are also right by the blue light trolley stop which takes you to kennebunk, ogunquit, york and more which we loved! (no need to drive). You are also walking distance to stores, restaurants and a private beach (moody beach). Just take a left on furbish and keep going until you hit the beach...it's a little known secret. No need to park, and no beach passes needed. it's free!!!

Room Tip: I'd pick one further from the pool/highway, if you want a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaJoy926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. We're glad you stayed with us.

Your amenities you listed are spot on! We're always trying to provide more to our guests and each year we keep adding more and more amenities while providing competitive rates!

The trolley is operated specific times of the year, but is a great option when riding around route 1 to visit the other areas. We encourage guests to use this option as parking sometimes is difficult to the high volume of traffic during our peak seasons. The trolley does pick and drop you off at our location.

Moody beach is only located 0.9 miles from our place. A nice 20-30 minute walk!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This two bedroom rental was great, only bad thing I would have to say was the size of the bathroom. The living room and small kitchen were recently updated and worked out great. Not having to eat out for every meal was a huge cost savings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. We're glad you liked our suite option!

The bathroom size is smaller in our suite than our regular standard rooms, due to the fact of the full size kitchen available in the suites.

We're happy to hear that you utilized the kitchen amenities in the suite saving you some money while you were enjoying the beautiful southern maine coast!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Maine. Our room was immaculately clean. The grounds were beautifully kept and the staff, well, they were just wonderful! The owner, himself, went out of his way to make sure every need was met! Each staff member was friendly, accommodating and informative, especially Mike at front desk. We will return next year, for a longer stay, and we will be staying in a cottage next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gossamer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. We do train our houskeeping staff with strict procedures, and also have inspection processes in place to ensure all of our rooms are ready, clean, and have been properly maintained for our guests.

We're excited to hear that you will be returning. Our cottages are great for families who'd like to stay for an extended time and they also include kitchen facilities. It is also a very cost effective solution as it can hold up to 6 people.

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

a great place to stay and the service is amazing. the rooms are very nice with great furniture and overall it is a clean and convenient place to stay. plus the motel staff is very nice and freindly.i would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbpatel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We did renovate our property just a year ago, and have very modern furniture in our rooms.

We're glad to hear that you would recommend us!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I can't say enough about this Motel! The service at all levels was great! Have stayed once before and will go back next year. Very clean, comfortable, and located close to beach, restaurants, and attractions of any interest. The price is reasonable too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello -

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and are very excited to host you again in the near future!

We do have competitive prices compared to other properties in the area. We try to offer as many amenities while still keeping the rates at a reasonable level.

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
ABVI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Rooms were clean, quiet and updated. Pool was nice but not heated as advertised. Price was great. Rooms are very damp unless the air conditioner is on 62 degrees. Maine gets chilly at night so we had to keep the A/C low making the room damp. Keurig in room with 2 free cups a day was a bonus! Nice staff, hotel us valise to everything. The wifi was horrible!!! Very slow if it worked at all! Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyb3281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIWells, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Nancy!

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our property. We do heat our pool when needed. We try to keep it between 78-82 degrees, depending on the time of the season. We're glad you liked the coffee machines. This is a new amenity we're offering this year, and your feedback tells us that we should keep it going forward!

The wifi also has been set up this year. We do have a very large property. There are a couple of things we're currently looking at: Changing service providers, and adding additional units to extend the wifi power.

Most importantly, we're happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
283 reviews
2.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#14 of 28 in Wells
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Address: 424 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4020 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing