We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven By The Sea continues to wow us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Again we had yt anoother wonderful visit at Haven By The Sea. As always what sets this property apart from any other that we have visited is the warm welcome from the Innkeepers. John ans Susan go to great lengths to be sure that all guests are comfortable and well taken care of.

The short walk to the beach was our initial attraction to this place. However the sumptous brakfasts on the patio, the extraordinarily fun early evening cocktail hours and pristine accomodations are what keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltermNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband surprised me with this 30 year anniversary get-away....and he scored megapoints with this one. The place was an on old church converted with fireplaces and beautiful furnishings that you can curl up read and relax for hours. Susan and John were the greatest hosts, made you feel right at home, they had suggestions for local restaurants and even made the reservations for us. Every morning on the deck over looking the marsh was beautiful, and for the breakfast everything was fresh and homemade. Susan's raspberry and white chocolate scone were to die for, still need to get the recipe for them. We would definitely recommend this, HAVEN BY THE SEA to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaWoodstockCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

What a great vacation - this place is terrific! One short block from the beach in a quiet residential area; beautifully restored church with great architectural features that is filled with eclectic antique and new furnishings; EXCEPTIONAL hospitality! The owners take great care of their guests. The breakfast is a gourmet delight and Susan easily accommodated gluten-free options. Happy Hour is a feature we've never experienced at a B&B and John's service adds to the friendly and festive atmosphere. We highly recommend Haven by the Sea.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellanlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Let me start by saying the Inn Keepers (John and Susan) are very nice folks to stay with. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived at their front door. We were greeted by John who took the time to show us around the Inn and even helped us carry bags to our room. We could tell right off John and Susan are very proud of their Inn which was very clean with a well thought out floor plan. There are 2 different sitting areas in the Inn, plus a large dining area for Breakfast and Happy hour. They also have a nice deck off the back to use when the weather permits (we used the deck both days for both breakfast and happy hour). Our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable for the two of us. The Inn is located just a short walk (2 minutes) from the beach (Ocean) with direct access. Susan prepared our breakfast both mornings and John served the tables. The breakfast was EXCELLENT both mornings. The 1st morning we had our choice of 5 different juices, yogurt cup with fresh strawberries and stuffed French toast for the main course. The second morning we had choice of 5 juices, yogurt cup with fresh pineapple and maple souffle for the main course. We also enjoyed the happy hour time offered by the Inn. They have a great Martini list and John is a very capable bartender. He makes an awesome martini. The bar (called Temptations) was well stocked... John and Sue always made a point to introduce us to all the folks who were on the deck at the time we were. They both came out during the happy hour time to converse with all the guest. My wife and I totally recommend this Inn. The owners are great people and the Inn was very comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbarrett32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

"Haven By The Sea" is aptly named; John and Susan have an extraordinary attention to detail. The wonderfully restored seaside church offers a relaxing, elegant, and comfortable venue for a seaside vacation while the hosts create evening drinks at the Temptations bar and creative breakfast menus to suit their guests. I’m sure all their guests are praying they’ll be able to return soon to enjoy the ocean, local seafood, and an immaculate home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at Haven By The Sea for two days on our return trip to Boston from a Rotary convention in Montreal. We are from the Pacific Northwest and wanted to visit the south Maine coast. Haven By The Sea seemed like the perfect place for us. Perfect it was. John and Susan are consummate hosts. They have done wonders with the old church which they have converted into an elegant inn. The inn is conveniently located to the beach and many fine places to dine, shop and enjoy the Maine coast. Given the opportunity, we would stay again at Haven By The Sea in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFYakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Can't ask for more! Charming inn, great location, wonderful hosts. The place has character. A converted church that is is well appointed. Close to beach and sites. Easy to get to and plenty of parking. A deck over the marsh and steps to the beach. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
4.0 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,048 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven By The Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090-4240
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £128 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven By The Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Haven By The Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing