We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not near a beach” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ne'r Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Dunlap, Illinois
1 review
“Not near a beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room was from 1950, the bathroom had a sink 12"x12", no place to store a toothbrush and no outlets. This is not near a beach, you must drive and then hope you can find a place to park. This place has not been updated since the 1950's and the pictures do not tell what this place really looks like. The bed was awful, we rolled together into the middle. Never again.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NerBeachMotel, Owner at Ne'r Beach Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your vacation at our motel. We strive to make all our guests comfortable and excited to be here on vacation. We know that most family's work hard all year to be able to get away for a few days to a week once a year on vacation. That being said we want you and all our guests to be glad that you have chosen our motel to vacation at.
The beach area is only 1/2 a mile from our motel to Sandy Moody Beach. It is about a 15 minute walk. Some of the other beaches are further away that require paid parking. We do have a trolley system that stops out front of our motel about every 20 minutes. This trolley system will take you to the beach so you will not have to worry about parking.
Yes this motel is an older construction. We have gone through and updated some of the rooms. Not all of the units have been done yet, it's a work in progress. We strive to make sure all the rooms are clean and comfortable for all our guests.
Should any of our guests have issues whit anything in the rooms or on the property we would like to be informed so we can remedy the issues as quickly as possible. Had we known that your family was uncomfortable with the bed in your unit, we would have been more than happy to move you into another room that would of made you more comfortable. The issue of not having enough storage space on the vanity top is something we will address.
Thank you,
Ne'r Beach Motel
Michael O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    20
    5
    16
See reviews for
49
46
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
québec
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

For many years noe we visit Ne'r beach hotel in Wells. The room with kitchenette are usefull, clean and big enough for a family. The BBQs outside and picnic tables make the cooking easier after a great day at the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mafalda44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NerBeachMotel, Front Office Manager at Ne'r Beach Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are so glad to hear the you had such a great time here with your family. We love to see the family's around the grilling area enjoying a good meal. We were happy to have you here with your family and are excited about having you back again next summer.
Thank You for making us your family's vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have now gone to Ne'r Beach for a couple of years. We often go to Wells on a whim if the weather is good. We are able to get 1 or 2 nights during peak season. They are helpful in making sure our needs are met. Keep up the good work !!

Room Tip: They have many different rooms available. We were able to get the 2 room apt for a long weekend with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NerBeachMotel, Front Office Manager at Ne'r Beach Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are more than happy to fit you in for one or two nights during the summer season when we have the availability. Its hard sometimes to get away for more than a day or two and we understand that. If you can only be here for a couple of days we want you to enjoy yourself the entire time your here. Glad to have you stay any time your in town.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a second time recently and rate it somewhere between average and very good.
As for location it's very good, one half mile to beach and next to a good place for breakfast and sandwiches "Pine Tree Farm"
The grounds are very good, nice pool and sitting area with gas fireplaces and an outdoor kitchen area that is very clean and has everything one would need including large pots for lobster cooking.
Our room had a small table and two chairs, a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave.
Housekeeping and maintenance could have been just a little more thorough.
Everyone was very pleasant to deal with
We will stay there again.....CHIVE ON.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 307stevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NerBeachMotel, Manager at Ne'r Beach Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are glad you had a pleasant time at our motel. We love to see the family's out at the grilling area sharing a meal with friends and family. We look forward to having you at our motel again.
Thank You
Ne'r Beach Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this Motel last minute before a holiday weekend. when we got there our key was not on the office door as promised so I called the number on the door and the property manager was there in a few minutes and was very apologetic. He gave us an upgrade for our troubles....it was late and we were tired. the room was very clean and had updated carpeting and nice little fridge, toaster, coffee maker. the pool was fantastic and they had grills and tables for outdoor cooking. the landscaping was really beautiful and they even grow vegetables that the guests are welcome to pick.
there is a great cafe for breakfast right next door and its a 1/4mile walk to the beach. i would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms away from rt 1 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hampster7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to Maine for the night and was initially going to camp,but because I forgot our tent poles I was out seeking a hotel room! This was the closest and with vacancies so as hesitant as I was I stopped and got a room. The pictures online make it look like a complete run down dive but to my suprise it wasnt that bad...or atleast room 8 wasnt!! While yes it could use some updating as far as rip wood paneling off the walls,and replace vents so it doesnt look nasty.Otherwise it was clean,the bed was comfortable,the bathroom clean,and the tv and rugs looked new.The grounds are nice and well kept and are only right down the street from the beach. My only real complaint was the ac was rattling!

Room Tip: Im not sure on other rooms but room 8 was decent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great place and great low prices off season....They have all the necessities and with a kitchen included you can use their cooking facilities for Barbecuing you're favorite dish and boiling lobsters and saving tons on restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Akapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.4 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
2.7 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ne'r Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ne'r Beach Motel

Property: Ne'r Beach Motel
Address: 395 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ne'r Beach Motel is centrally located on U.S. Route One, 1.5 miles north of Ogunquit and 5 miles south of Kennebunkport.Our location is convenient and offers easy access to all area attractions, including Perkins Cove, the Marginal Way, and the Ogunquit Playhouse. During summer months, we are a Trolley Stop for service to beaches, shops, restaurants, and the Amtrak service from Boston to Portland. Ne'r Beach Motel is a Ne'r ten minute walk to beautiful Moody-Ogunquit Beach, one of the nicest sandy beaches on the East Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ne'r Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ne`r Beach Hotel Wells
Ne'r Beach Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing