We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day Week-end”
Review of The Garrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garrison
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Jay, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Week-end”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

What a plesant place to stay. Owners very accomodating and friendly. The units are extremely clean and comfortable. This is our second Memorial Day stay as we were there in 2010 and plan on going back for Columbus Day and then again for Memorial Day of 2012. Just an example of the professionalism of the owner, I happened to forget a copy of a 1951 Sporting News page in the room and I called from home when I realized I did not have it. After some searching, Garrison Suites came through and promptly mailed it to me. Can't say enough about the place ........

Room Tip: Weekly specials are available on different rooms and cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLagoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    41
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Went to Wells for an overnight (I usually go to Ogunquit every year for a week) to visit some friends who were renting a house. Thought I would easily find a room for the night for myself, a friend and my daughter. Had a tough time. I went into the USA Motor Inn who referred us to the Garrison. The woman at the front desk was so friendly, they even gave us a small break on the price. We got an efficiency (small kitchen, table and chairs) The place was immaculate. Bathroom spotless. Nice little working refrig for ice for our cooler. Lovely pool that we took a dip in before dinner. Overlooks the marshes/water. Little play area for the kids. There were other bigger size cottage units that looked very nice as well. We had a little deck to sit out on. Even though we stayed there unplanned, I would absolutely go back (with reservations this time) and recommend the Garrison to anyone going to Wells Maine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The pool was great. Excellent food. Great place to visti. This is our second year visiting and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Immaculate suite and grounds, very pleasant... fully recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

After a long drive we were anxious for a good night's sleep.....opened one bed and found a mass of hair in the middle of the sheet....not our color! If it had not been so late we would have checked out immediately. We did, however, sleep in the other bed, but were ill at ease. In the morning, my husband went to the office and told the man on duty what we found in one bed. His response was when asked to come to the room, that it was o.k., he would take my husband's word and have housekeeping check it later. Needless to say, we won't be staying there on our trips to Maine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newfiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have vacationed in Wells for ~ 20 years. This is the first time we've stayed at the Garrison Suites. It's conviently located on Rt 1, close to beaches, shopping, restaurants, etc. We stayed in a suite, which was newly furbished and clean. Suites were a bit small for the four of us, but not overbearing (may not be a factor for others). The pool area was very nice, and the grounds were kept up well. Nice views of the ocean in the distant too. Staff was accomodating and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms provide easier access to cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had a good visit to the Garrison Suites and found the accommodation comfortable and well located. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.0 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison

Property: The Garrison
Address: 1099 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4511 (Formerly Garrison Suites, Motel and Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garrison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Garrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Suites, Motel And Cottages Hotel Wells
Garrison Hotel Wells
Garrison Motel Wells
The Garrison Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing