We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and restful at the same time”
Review of The Garrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garrison
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and restful at the same time”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed with a girl friend for 3 nights at the Garrison. The owners are so accommodating and friendly to all who stay with them. The room was very clean. The view of the marsh and rolling lawn were a big plus, and the price was very reasonable, a great value.

We will be staying there again next year, for a week this time..

Anne

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    45
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
50
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Beautiful setting, very clean. Excellent staff, really friendly. This is not your average motel. The grounds are lovely, the pool is spacious. The rooms are clean and set up for maximum space. This is a great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have been going to Maine every summer since I was a young child and was used to staying in a friend's cottage; however, a few years ago she stopped renting out her cottage as she is there full time now.
My family and I tried several hotel efficiencies, suites and cottages and although nice, we did not like them enough to return again.
Last year we stayed in a cottage at the Garrison. Our cottage was spacious, extremely clean and well maintained. It was a great home away from home!
The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and professional.
The grounds were beautiful. I loved having my coffee on my deck every morning enjoying the view! In the afternoons, if not at the beach, our family spent hours in the pool or playing lawn games! Many of the other families remarked that they had been staying at the Garrison for 20+ years!
Needless to say, I can't imagine staying anywhere else for our family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handm316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The 1st thing we noticed about our suite at The Garrison was that it was super clean...everything was scrubbed clean & smelled fresh! The suite was quite roomy & having a practically full kitchen was wonderful! We'd eat our breakfast & pack a lunch & then go out to dinner in the evening...having the kitchen was a real money saver. We were very very comfortable!
We hope to return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martym112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Garrison Suites is located in a perfect part of Wells! It's right up the street from Wells beach, located across the street from Congdons donuts and many other great restaurants and fun locations (mini golf, etc). My family stayed for two nights and because we are a larger family, we rented two suites. Both were very nice, clean, and comfortable! We all slept great and although we spent most time outdoors, it was nice having a great place to stay and return to after a long day out. The staff was wonderful and when we received our key they gave us a $20 dollar off gift card for 1 out of 3 restaurants near by! The pool was clean and enjoyable and the scenery surrounding the area was gorgeous! I would absolutely stay there again! It was perfect for our small vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

i have been going to maine for years i have rented homes and hotels. this was our 1st stay at the garrison suites .. they were by far the best place we have been at . very very nice clean big and comfortable. the service was exceptional . the owners are amazing at what they do. i locked my key in room and called them and they immediately came to our service .i highly recommend the garrison suites in wells for your next stay . i will definitely be returning .. maria sabella

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melcarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Garrison Suites. We were in a standard two queen room, which was a little cozy for a family of four, but if you are travelling on a budget and, like us, don't spend much time in your room, it was just fine. The room was clean and the Garrison looked down over the Rachel Carson Nature Preserve and then across to the Atlantic which was very nice. The office staff were very friendly. The pool was clean and inviting. The shuttle bus stops right outside which is convenient. Congdon's doughnuts is across the road and is a must for breakfast, lunch or just a doughnut to take the beach! My only negative, which is why I didn't give a 5-star rating, is the location, it is on a very busy road. There is a pedestrian crossing and the cars do stop for you, so it was easy to walk across the road, but hard to pull out of the Garrison in the car, but other than that, I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room in the same building as the office and the suites' laundry facilities which was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKTY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.1 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.5 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison

Property: The Garrison
Address: 1099 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4511 (Formerly Garrison Suites, Motel and Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garrison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Suites, Motel And Cottages Hotel Wells
Garrison Hotel Wells
Garrison Motel Wells
The Garrison Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing