We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been coming here for decades!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Egg and I

The Egg and I
Ranked #27 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast primarily
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Been coming here for decades!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food is fantastic, inexpensive, and the staff is always courteous and upbeat. We have enjoyed it for decades, me since I was a child. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go Early - Get Bob's Hash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopped for breakfast and was seated right away. Offered coffee - asked for iced coffee - no problem. Lovely large cup of iced coffee with milk. I wanted home made hash - Bob's hash with the eggs benedict was the only choice for me. Crunchy hash brown potatoes - unexpectedly good. Poached eggs were slightly over done, the enlish muffins were soggy, and the hollaindaise was not the best - however, the hash delivered. Yummy, salty goodness.What was even better was the to go menu for a sandwich for the beach. BLT was ready to go when I was ready. Even better, the second cup of coffee to go - was a treat I did not ask for.... This gal got my attention and a better than average gratuity. Will return for sure, trying something different for the main event. They open at 6. Go before 8a unless you want to wait.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seacoastbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Food was very good, service was great. Atmosphere was great also. Definitely recommend. Very accommodating to the handicapped.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not All It's Cracked Up To Be”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friend and I (against our better judgement) made a stop here after hearing all the ooh's and aaahh's about "how WONDERFUL the breakfast is here!". First of all, our waiter was rather weird and on the verge of creepy, which I am sure was his schtick, but it came across as uncomfortable and strangely like a bad string of pick up lines. Yuck.
The coffee was the WORST (as it is in many Maine restaurants, another phenomenon we just don't get) and the service was SLOOOOOOOWWWW....and when the food arrived, it looked like the loneliest bacon and eggs I had ever seen. Sad, soft, and insipid. The toast was cold and limp, and the prices were astronomical for the culinary offering. There are MUCH better places for breakfast, such as Amore, or the Pine Tree Place Cafe and Market. Or Congdon's for that matter. Skip the touristo trap here and explore other options. This Egg is neither fresh nor all it's cracked up to be..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenMountainMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

They serve a great breakfast that isn't expensive and the service is great too.The only thing about it is if you don't get there early there's a long waiting line for service...and they are only open until 1 or 2 PM...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Egg and I also viewed

 

Been to The Egg and I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing