We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drake's Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic we will be back!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We found this place online through bring fido.com We were in town for a wedding and really wanted to bring out dog with us. We arrived a bit late 8:30pm. We rang the call box and Shelli was there moments later with a big smile and called us by name! They are more than just dog tolerant they are dog friendly and excited. The first thing she said to our husky, Stoli was "let her out of the car and stretch her legs, I want to meet her" We went into the office to check in. Everything was all set we got out key and details about leaving her in the room while we were wedding...they even offered to take her out if we got delayed. There is a small store/lunch counter/camp store on property called the Tourist Trap. We went there for breakfast perfect for a quick coffee and breakfast sandwich and a few items you might need. Very reasonable prices for breakfast. We were there three nights and stayed in the motel section. The rooms have been recently painted, cable tv, mini fridge and fantastic hot water with great water pressure. The motel rooms are a typical basic motel room. We do not need more than this. We hope to come back and rent one of the cottages next time for a get away. There is a campground out back with a pool. The pool was not open as it was cold and end of the season. Everyone in the campground was wonderful and very friendly as we walked our dog around the loop we met many nice people and four legged friends. They do not provide every day housekeeping for the safety of dogs on site (so they don't get out). You can exchange your towels at the office each morning if you would like. We didn't need to as two towels for each person were plenty. They were much more plush then normal motel towels. We had a fantastic time, we were close to Ogunquit, Kennibunkport and even Portland but not in the middle of it all. We will be back!

Room Tip: The motel is great if you are look for a basic clean place to crash while you are out and about in M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review! I look forward to seeing you again and give Stoli a big hug from me!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A vacation is supposed to be a fun, restful, stress-free time...& my stay (3rd time, but 1st review) this past Summer at Drake's Island Resort was just that. The fact that the beach on the Atlantic Ocean is right around the corner is a BIG plus...if you don't want to drive & pay for parking, the staff will even shuttle you there & back in their cool vintage VW bus! Nice break to take a dip in their beautiful pool, too!
While wanting to have my own space visiting friends who have a small place nearby, I stayed in one of the many motel rooms w/one Queen bed...cozy & clean w/working air conditioner, fridge, & TV, & the shower pressure was great! The grounds are lovely...having a picnic area, guest laundry facility, & game room on the property is a nice bonus.
Since the Resort is on the main drag, yet set back a bit so traffic noises aren't an issue, it's very easy to access all the attractions the beautiful area has to offer...via the Trolley that stops right out front or independently exploring the "road less traveled" ...great restaurants (the on-premise del/coffee shop is great & so convenient)...all very casual (definitely gotta have some Lobstah!), antique shops, historical sites, the best donuts on the East Coast, shopping, etc. Many activities for families w/children seemed to be available, too.
The owners & staff couldn't be nicer & the rates, especially for "peak season", amenities, convenience, proximity to the ocean, & guest comfort, remain the best in the area.

Room Tip: There is NO bad room or cottage at the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We look forward to seeing you again !
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just spent an entire week in one of their studio cottages. We've been going to the Wells, ME area for the past 20 years and have not come across such a clean, relaxed, and extremely friendly resort as this. The owners are the nicest people you'll ever meet - extremely helpful and accommodating. The location is convenient to the beach and to all points of interest along the Maine coast. Large relaxing game room for the younger folks and adults alike. The pool is one of the nicest we've ever seen - salt water/chlorine mix. The community fire pit was a plus for us. As a side note, be aware that studio cottages do only have limited space, so the refrigerator, stove (no oven), and counter space is on the small side. Despite these minor details, we definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent 6 nights in one of the cottages. Very clean and comfortable. The pool and grounds were very clean. The Beach bus was awesome, and the location of the hotel is very convenient for traveling to other destinations. The owners were very nice and accommadating. I will be going back again. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD48115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The cottage was very clean. We were there for a wedding and the owners went out of their way to accommodate the bride and groom. It was a super friendly atmosphere but noisy from one of the campers below our cottage. The room set up was a bit odd and the blinds to the patio door didn't close all the way leaving you with a feeling that you were being watched while you were sleeping. The children's room had no air conditioner and was impossible to cool down. I found it very odd that they did not at least do fresh towels each day and they expected you to clean the place before you left. Also, bring ear plugs because the train is not far away and goes by a couple of times during the night and the whistle sounds like a sick cow dying . Had the wedding party not requested we stay here, we would have stayed at Lafayette's Ocean Front.

Room Tip: take a cottage, the rooms are not well insulated and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPC773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I am so sorry that you had mixed feelings staying with us. We strive to make sure all our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. I would like to address your concerns about your stay and say thank you for your information so that we can strive to make these changes now that we know about them.

The policy regarding daily maid service is because we are pet friendly and for the safety of our 4 legged guest we do not enter any units. We would not want to disturb or take the chance of any pet getting out of the cottage. We offer at 9 am every morning for our guests to come to the office and exchange your towels for the following days.
The cleaning request is asking our guest to not leave dishes, glasses and utensils dirty in the sink and we provide vacuums for your convenience during your stay.
I wish I had know about the back bedroom being hot for the children, I would tried to correct that for you. This is the first time we have been told that the back bedroom gets hot, we will look at getting a small air conditioner for one of the windows in that bedroom .
We have never received a complaint regarding the vertical blinds on the slider doors. I guess that is because this cottage faces the woods with nothing else around it, I will be changing these to curtains in the future.
Regarding the camper that was noisy on Saturday night, this was due to a Birthday celebration and they were all done by 10:00pm as I was by the pool area as the wedding party was still swimming and gathering around .
The train noise, I am sorry that bothered you, unfortunately there is nothing I am able to correct with this
Again I am very sorry that you had a bad experience and I realize that if you did not have 5 people you would have stayed else where.
Thank you
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our family stayed for a week in this very clean, relaxed and very friendly resort. We loved the convenience to the beach, shops and eateries in the area, and also appreciated having the beach bus available. We also loved the convenience of having the coffee shop and deli on site, for a quick cup and sandwich on the way to the beach, all at a reasonable, affordable price!

Room Tip: The cottages let your family spread out a bit, with screened in porches and dining spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lieselsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Such a well kept place and the people that own and run it go out of there way to make it a great place to stay . Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a place to stay . It is located in wells and very convenient to stores and restaurants. There son Bruce who works there goes out of his way to make it a great place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmbiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.5 mi away
The Beach Rose Inn
The Beach Rose Inn
#1 of 9 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake's Island Resort

Property: Drake's Island Resort
Address: 2073 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4717
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drake's Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property provides 9 Motel rooms with Queen beds or 2 double beds with A/C, Mini Fridge. We also offer 13 cottages that range in size and sleeping capacity.Our pool is a salt water pool which is unique and very spacious.We are pet friendly.We offer weekend Beach shuttle to Drakes Island Beach in our vintage 1971 VW bus. Our property is family owned and operated.Thank you for checking us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Drake's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake's Island Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing