We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Wells, Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drake's Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
franklin, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay in Wells, Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The people are the friendliest around. The rooms are clean and the prices are great. There are motel units, cottages a deli and a nice pool and game room. Pet friendly too. Centrally located, very near beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pru990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kennebunks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My boyfriend & I were looking for a place to stay for a few weeks while we waited for
our new apartment to be ready. Trying to find people who were not narrow minded & able to see our dog (an American Staffordshire terrier/bullmastiff) for the dog he was, seemed to be impossible. No one would even attempt to meet him once they heard the breed he was…..Until we met Shelli, Bob, & their son Chris! They were perfect for us & for our dog. They set us up in one of their adorable cottages, which was perfect! The prices were quite reasonable. It was spacious, & cutely decorated in a beach theme. Since this was going to be our home for a while, we were happy to have the stove top, mini fridge, kitchen table, etc. The cottage also came with all the utensils, pots, pans, cups, plates, etc. that you would need. Shelli offered to clean the cottage once a week, but I opted to clean it myself since they had done more than enough for us already. She did supply the vacuum & all cleaning materials needed, which was awesome. They also provided extra paper towels, trash bags, bath tissue, bath amenities, towels (bath & kitchen), dish soap, sponges; bed sheets/pillow cases, etc. upon request. There was a nice clean outdoor pool, & laundry facility. There was also a game room with a pool table & board games. They have a number of grills on site, which we utilize many times. The atmosphere was
relaxing and fun. Everyone was so friendly, from the staff to the residents at the campground. Shelli, Bob, & Chris were always walking around interacting with the residents, guests & their dogs. They are very personable, & make you feel like you are family or close friends that are staying with them. There are plenty of places to walk your dog, & “doggie stations” with bags & trash cans around the property. The grounds were clean & well kept. It is a short drive to the beach, however parking at any beach in the summer is tricky, so the resort provides a well maintained Volkswagon bus that will drive guests to & from Drakes Island Beach upon request. We did not utilize that service but I can see how families traveling with children or who are just looking for a relaxing trip to the beach would love this. This would be a great place for a family reunion or function. Our family will be staying here when they come to visit for sure. We strongly recommend the Drakes Island Resort. We could not have found a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Some cottages have screened in porches or larger decks but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrus223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We found this place online through bring fido.com We were in town for a wedding and really wanted to bring out dog with us. We arrived a bit late 8:30pm. We rang the call box and Shelli was there moments later with a big smile and called us by name! They are more than just dog tolerant they are dog friendly and excited. The first thing she said to our husky, Stoli was "let her out of the car and stretch her legs, I want to meet her" We went into the office to check in. Everything was all set we got out key and details about leaving her in the room while we were wedding...they even offered to take her out if we got delayed. There is a small store/lunch counter/camp store on property called the Tourist Trap. We went there for breakfast perfect for a quick coffee and breakfast sandwich and a few items you might need. Very reasonable prices for breakfast. We were there three nights and stayed in the motel section. The rooms have been recently painted, cable tv, mini fridge and fantastic hot water with great water pressure. The motel rooms are a typical basic motel room. We do not need more than this. We hope to come back and rent one of the cottages next time for a get away. There is a campground out back with a pool. The pool was not open as it was cold and end of the season. Everyone in the campground was wonderful and very friendly as we walked our dog around the loop we met many nice people and four legged friends. They do not provide every day housekeeping for the safety of dogs on site (so they don't get out). You can exchange your towels at the office each morning if you would like. We didn't need to as two towels for each person were plenty. They were much more plush then normal motel towels. We had a fantastic time, we were close to Ogunquit, Kennibunkport and even Portland but not in the middle of it all. We will be back!

Room Tip: The motel is great if you are look for a basic clean place to crash while you are out and about in M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review! I look forward to seeing you again and give Stoli a big hug from me!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A vacation is supposed to be a fun, restful, stress-free time...& my stay (3rd time, but 1st review) this past Summer at Drake's Island Resort was just that. The fact that the beach on the Atlantic Ocean is right around the corner is a BIG plus...if you don't want to drive & pay for parking, the staff will even shuttle you there & back in their cool vintage VW bus! Nice break to take a dip in their beautiful pool, too!
While wanting to have my own space visiting friends who have a small place nearby, I stayed in one of the many motel rooms w/one Queen bed...cozy & clean w/working air conditioner, fridge, & TV, & the shower pressure was great! The grounds are lovely...having a picnic area, guest laundry facility, & game room on the property is a nice bonus.
Since the Resort is on the main drag, yet set back a bit so traffic noises aren't an issue, it's very easy to access all the attractions the beautiful area has to offer...via the Trolley that stops right out front or independently exploring the "road less traveled" ...great restaurants (the on-premise del/coffee shop is great & so convenient)...all very casual (definitely gotta have some Lobstah!), antique shops, historical sites, the best donuts on the East Coast, shopping, etc. Many activities for families w/children seemed to be available, too.
The owners & staff couldn't be nicer & the rates, especially for "peak season", amenities, convenience, proximity to the ocean, & guest comfort, remain the best in the area.

Room Tip: There is NO bad room or cottage at the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We look forward to seeing you again !
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just spent an entire week in one of their studio cottages. We've been going to the Wells, ME area for the past 20 years and have not come across such a clean, relaxed, and extremely friendly resort as this. The owners are the nicest people you'll ever meet - extremely helpful and accommodating. The location is convenient to the beach and to all points of interest along the Maine coast. Large relaxing game room for the younger folks and adults alike. The pool is one of the nicest we've ever seen - salt water/chlorine mix. The community fire pit was a plus for us. As a side note, be aware that studio cottages do only have limited space, so the refrigerator, stove (no oven), and counter space is on the small side. Despite these minor details, we definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent 6 nights in one of the cottages. Very clean and comfortable. The pool and grounds were very clean. The Beach bus was awesome, and the location of the hotel is very convenient for traveling to other destinations. The owners were very nice and accommadating. I will be going back again. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD48115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The cottage was very clean. We were there for a wedding and the owners went out of their way to accommodate the bride and groom. It was a super friendly atmosphere but noisy from one of the campers below our cottage. The room set up was a bit odd and the blinds to the patio door didn't close all the way leaving you with a feeling that you were being watched while you were sleeping. The children's room had no air conditioner and was impossible to cool down. I found it very odd that they did not at least do fresh towels each day and they expected you to clean the place before you left. Also, bring ear plugs because the train is not far away and goes by a couple of times during the night and the whistle sounds like a sick cow dying . Had the wedding party not requested we stay here, we would have stayed at Lafayette's Ocean Front.

Room Tip: take a cottage, the rooms are not well insulated and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPC773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I am so sorry that you had mixed feelings staying with us. We strive to make sure all our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. I would like to address your concerns about your stay and say thank you for your information so that we can strive to make these changes now that we know about them.

The policy regarding daily maid service is because we are pet friendly and for the safety of our 4 legged guest we do not enter any units. We would not want to disturb or take the chance of any pet getting out of the cottage. We offer at 9 am every morning for our guests to come to the office and exchange your towels for the following days.
The cleaning request is asking our guest to not leave dishes, glasses and utensils dirty in the sink and we provide vacuums for your convenience during your stay.
I wish I had know about the back bedroom being hot for the children, I would tried to correct that for you. This is the first time we have been told that the back bedroom gets hot, we will look at getting a small air conditioner for one of the windows in that bedroom .
We have never received a complaint regarding the vertical blinds on the slider doors. I guess that is because this cottage faces the woods with nothing else around it, I will be changing these to curtains in the future.
Regarding the camper that was noisy on Saturday night, this was due to a Birthday celebration and they were all done by 10:00pm as I was by the pool area as the wedding party was still swimming and gathering around .
The train noise, I am sorry that bothered you, unfortunately there is nothing I am able to correct with this
Again I am very sorry that you had a bad experience and I realize that if you did not have 5 people you would have stayed else where.
Thank you
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.5 mi away
The Beach Rose Inn
The Beach Rose Inn
#4 of 9 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake's Island Resort

Property: Drake's Island Resort
Address: 2073 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4717
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drake's Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property provides 9 Motel rooms with Queen beds or 2 double beds with A/C, Mini Fridge. We also offer 13 cottages that range in size and sleeping capacity.Our pool is a salt water pool which is unique and very spacious.We are pet friendly.We offer weekend Beach shuttle to Drakes Island Beach in our vintage 1971 VW bus. Our property is family owned and operated.Thank you for checking us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Drake's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake's Island Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing