We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Owners, Great Pool...Great All Around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drake's Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I visited Drake's Island Resort recently with a group of abuot 18 people. The owners could not have been more accommodating to us. The rooms were spotless and the pool area is beautiful. Our group enjoyed the recently intalled basketball hoop in the pool :) As if that isn't enough to make for a great place, the price was also phenomenal. And Maple Leaves Chinese next door is AWESOME...and within stumbling distance back home!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygal4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again!
Shelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are from Quebec. I wrote to Shellie before our trip, to make sure that we will be fine with our son of 20 months old. She wrote me back very quickly and she make sure that everything was fine. The pool was very clean and all the environment too. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us! I hope to see that beautiful baby every year and your awesome Jeep!
Shelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Drake's Island Resort is the hidden gem of Wells. I hesitate to write a review since I don't want to share this ideal location with anyone. Located on Route 1 in the heart of the Maine beaches. Pet friendly which is what drew us to this resort in the first place. Family orientated and the owners are the nicest folk ever. Cottages are always clean and fresh for our stay! Beach is a 3 minute drive or you can take the "Beach Bus" that is provided by Drake's.

New additions this year, are hardwood floors and a full size fridge in the cottages! The latter I tell you is so helpful with 2 small children.

There is so much to do in the area. We hit Kennebunkport and Ogunquit during our stay. Don't feel like driving to a restaurant, cross the street and walk to Capt'n Hooks. Outside seating and incredible food! Highly recomment the lobster bake!

The pool area is always welcoming and clean. The park is always quiet so you can enjoy sitting outside. Folks are very respectful and are very friendly. I have not one bad thing to say about this spot. We are already planning our summer 2015 vacation.

Thanks again for the time of our lives Shelli and Bob!

Scott, Jessica, Joey, Annika and Oliver and Penelope (the pups)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When you travel with a pack of dogs (between 5-8 golden retrievers) and cat it can sometimes be difficult to find a place to stay ;-) but not when your In Wells, ME. Shellie and Bob run the most fantastic place. We have traveled up the coast of Maine at least twice a summer for more than 20 years. We have stayed in a lot of different places up and down the coast but never have we had the combination of pet friendly and. really clean, updated, well maintained accomadations. Since Bob and Shellie took over Drakes it is our must stay place! The cabins are adorable and spacious - fluffy towels, flat screen tv's and Keruig machines. Shellie and her entire family are just awesome people and it always feels like we are stopping at a friends place. We look forward to staying at Drakes Island Resort as much as we do reaching our home in northern Maine!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Always a great time. Renovated motel rooms. Shellie and Bob make great hosts. We stay there any time we want to go to Maine Definitely will be going back soon. We always see the same faces year after year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been staying at Drakes Island for the last 3-4 years. Every year it gets better, the owners Bob and Shelli are over-accommodating, what ever you need to make your stay better they will be there and make sure it happens. The rooms are absolutely spectacular, clean, roomy, and very well maintained. Minutes from the beach by the transportation they provide mind you.......As a meeting planner, I am always looking at hotel rooms, this is one place I can tell you if you stay you will not be disappointed. You will continue like I have done to go back year after year.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both cottages and hotel rooms, both are above average....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We started staying at Drakes Island Resort a few years ago and since then it's become our go to / home away from home in Wells Maine.

The property is clean and well maintained and the family running it make you feel right at home.

We have a favorite cabin we stay in and we are never disappointed. The resort is located in a convenient section of Rte 1 and within walking distance of quite a few restaurants. There is a convenience store nearby as well.

Our favorite feature of the cottages are the porches. Each of them have outdoor seating so you can relax and enjoy the sea breezes. Some are screened in as well.

It is also a pet friendly property. We do not have a dog - but we get to see all of the families who travel with them.

Room Tip: We love the cabins and we are slowly trying them all. They have different options from studio, 1 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed_n_SueNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#5 of 29 in Wells
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.5 mi away
The Beach Rose Inn
The Beach Rose Inn
#3 of 9 in Wells
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake's Island Resort

Address: 2073 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4717
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range: £136 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drake's Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property provides 9 Motel rooms with Queen beds or 2 double beds with A/C, Mini Fridge. We also offer 13 cottages that range in size and sleeping capacity.Our pool is a salt water pool which is unique and very spacious.We are pet friendly.We offer weekend Beach shuttle to Drakes Island Beach in our vintage 1971 VW bus. Our property is family owned and operated.Thank you for checking us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Drake's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake's Island Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing