We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT, again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drake's Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Florence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“PERFECT, again...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just got back and booked another long weekend before we left. Shelli and Bob are always so nice to everyone. They treat every person, kid or dog like family!
They are constantly updating rooms and grounds around the resort. Well worth the money and drive from wherever you come from.
They recently added Keurig machines in every room! What a great idea... call early, they book up quickly. Enjoy....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and again ! Its always great to see my "summer friends"! I knew you would love the cottage!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for 4 days. It was immaculate, extremely comfortable and very bright and cheery. I met one of the owners Shelli and she could not have been more accommodating. She did everything she could to make our stay a memorable one. I also met Karen who also did anything to make us happy. The salt water pool was inviting...there are BBQ's for grilling and laundry facilities. Shelli gave us all the restaurants we should not miss and boy were they outstanding. From the minute I made the phone call to make the reservation to the minute we left, Shelli made us feel so special. Those of you who want that expensive hotel on the water.....go ahead....unless you want to be treated like royalty and leave knowing that when you are ready to go back to Maine...Shelli and "home" will be waiting for you. Thank you Shelli

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you and I look forward to seeing you again soon! Maybe next time we can do Ice Cream in the BUS!!!! Enjoyed our time looking at your amazing pictures of your adventures!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our recent stay was perfect for our family of 4 in #15-grandma-grandpa-daughter-grand daughter. It was very clean and well appointed, two bed rooms and the bunk beds made a hit as did the tv in each room. Screened porch was great for dinner and breakfast morning sun and cool afternoon breeze. The salt water pool was a real treat. We will return in the future to this friendly location.

Room Tip: #15 gets a nice breeze and am sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was great meeting the family and I look forward to watching your beautiful granddaughter grow up visiting Drakes Island Resort!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I visited Drake's Island Resort recently with a group of abuot 18 people. The owners could not have been more accommodating to us. The rooms were spotless and the pool area is beautiful. Our group enjoyed the recently intalled basketball hoop in the pool :) As if that isn't enough to make for a great place, the price was also phenomenal. And Maple Leaves Chinese next door is AWESOME...and within stumbling distance back home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygal4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Marie, Québec
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are from Quebec. I wrote to Shellie before our trip, to make sure that we will be fine with our son of 20 months old. She wrote me back very quickly and she make sure that everything was fine. The pool was very clean and all the environment too. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli L, Owner at Drake's Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I hope to see that beautiful baby every year and your awesome Jeep!
Shelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Drake's Island Resort is the hidden gem of Wells. I hesitate to write a review since I don't want to share this ideal location with anyone. Located on Route 1 in the heart of the Maine beaches. Pet friendly which is what drew us to this resort in the first place. Family orientated and the owners are the nicest folk ever. Cottages are always clean and fresh for our stay! Beach is a 3 minute drive or you can take the "Beach Bus" that is provided by Drake's.

New additions this year, are hardwood floors and a full size fridge in the cottages! The latter I tell you is so helpful with 2 small children.

There is so much to do in the area. We hit Kennebunkport and Ogunquit during our stay. Don't feel like driving to a restaurant, cross the street and walk to Capt'n Hooks. Outside seating and incredible food! Highly recomment the lobster bake!

The pool area is always welcoming and clean. The park is always quiet so you can enjoy sitting outside. Folks are very respectful and are very friendly. I have not one bad thing to say about this spot. We are already planning our summer 2015 vacation.

Thanks again for the time of our lives Shelli and Bob!

Scott, Jessica, Joey, Annika and Oliver and Penelope (the pups)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When you travel with a pack of dogs (between 5-8 golden retrievers) and cat it can sometimes be difficult to find a place to stay ;-) but not when your In Wells, ME. Shellie and Bob run the most fantastic place. We have traveled up the coast of Maine at least twice a summer for more than 20 years. We have stayed in a lot of different places up and down the coast but never have we had the combination of pet friendly and. really clean, updated, well maintained accomadations. Since Bob and Shellie took over Drakes it is our must stay place! The cabins are adorable and spacious - fluffy towels, flat screen tv's and Keruig machines. Shellie and her entire family are just awesome people and it always feels like we are stopping at a friends place. We look forward to staying at Drakes Island Resort as much as we do reaching our home in northern Maine!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.5 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
1.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake's Island Resort

Property: Drake's Island Resort
Address: 2073 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4717
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drake's Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property provides 9 Motel rooms with Queen beds or 2 double beds with A/C, Mini Fridge. We also offer 13 cottages that range in size and sleeping capacity.Our pool is a salt water pool which is unique and very spacious.We are pet friendly.We offer weekend Beach shuttle to Drakes Island Beach in our vintage 1971 VW bus. Our property is family owned and operated.Thank you for checking us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Drake's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake's Island Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing