We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So fresh!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borealis Breads

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Wells
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So fresh!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We went there yesterday, and everything was so fresh and delicious. Brought some home and made sandwiches for lunch today. I can't wait for lunch time! Thank you. Amybeth Hurst, Portland, ME

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amybeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If Bread is your passion, don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This location is not a restaurant, but rather a retail store as part of a wholesale operation. Don't expect to find hot bulkies fresh out of the oven...the restaurants got those. But every other bread you can imagine is here. And plenty of it. Topping off that special meal with a fresh loaf from Borealis will put smiles on your guests' faces. They also offer made-to-order lunch sandwiches that will please the working crowd around noon. Sauces, condiments, and other specialty items are featured in the store. Take-out only.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BST102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Coxsackie
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not much to it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stopped in and there is not much to this place. yes - they have breads, but the crusts are very dark - some people do like that but I don't. They have a sandwich menu of about 8 sandwiches, but I think a little on the pricey side. Bought some large rolls and the crust was too chewy and had to pull to eat it. Two tables to eat at but basically a take out place. I won't bother going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hot coffee, very good food and pleasant service! Worth the stop in. :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stopped in initially for some coffee and a vegetarian meal because a local business suggested this place. Coffee was very hot & very good! The bread (I had the olive and my friend had the rye) was wonderful and the sun dried tomato spread on the veggie sandwich was yummy: ingredients were fresh and crispy. We took our time and they never rushed us out. :-) While we were in there a few different groups of people came and went. Everyone was relaxed and enjoyed their meals. Laid back atmosphere. :D

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LEER2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, ME
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We wanted a quick lunch on a snowy day and the chicken noodle soup was just right. It was very flavorful and warm. We also had a ham and cheese sandwich on Italian bread. All the breads looked so delicious, it was hard to make a selection. Only downside, the price seemed a bit high for just soup, sandwich and coffee.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borealis Breads also viewed

 

Been to Borealis Breads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing