We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian Restaurant Around In Mass, N.H. And Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varano's Italian Restaurant

Varano's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Best Italian Restaurant Around In Mass, N.H. And Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This has to one of the best Italian restaurants i ever had been to. The service was great. The food was the best i ever had. My wife and i will be back as much as we can.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    112
    51
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food; staff went above and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Love Italian food, both here and in Italy. Have not ever been disappointed by the authenticity of Varano's food. Absolutely fresh seafood, with on-target seasoning of sauces. The fresh bread with fresh chopped garlic in good olive oil for dipping--perfect way to begin a meal. Just a few hundred yards from the ocean, so stop to breathe the salt air before going in.
I visited for the 3rd or 4th time in May 2014 with 6 other women (we were at a conference nearby). One of our party left her headlights on by mistake. The wait staff found us and alerted us, but it was too late. Dead battery. One of the owners walked out with us, jumper cables in hand, and connected my car to my colleague's and got us on our way. That's service above and beyond!
My only complaint about the restaurant is the noise level. For a large party at a big round table, it was a bit distracting to hear so much background noise as we tried to talk.
The margarita I ordered in honor of Cinco de Maio was rather weak, but maybe they did that on purpose recognizing us as somewhat older ladies, not the Cinco de Maio party crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatie
1 review
“Good food good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Our waitress Mandie directed us in good choices for our meals, wine and desserts. With her help we enjoyed our evening of dinning and We relaxed and enjoyed our evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry and Karen... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damn Good Italian/Sicilian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We went to Varano's last month for the first time, being Sicilian myself I tend to be a bit hesitant dining at an Italian restaurant when outside a major metropolitan area. We had Brian as our waiter and he had recommended some dishes to us based on our likes especially if you like veal. Well he was spot on with his recommendations and Varano's cannoli's for desert are to die for!. Last night was our third visit in six weeks and we will be DEFINITELY dining there next month when we staying in Wells Maine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
2 reviews
“Great again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our favorite Italian restaurant in Maine! Although it's a 45 minute drive from our home, we don't hesitate to take the trip often. We have NEVER been disappointed! Whether we choose to dine in the lower bar with our favorite bartender Charlie or have cocktails below with him and dine in the main dining room with Brian as our waiter, the entire experience is always A+++. The menu consists of a great variety of choices, although my personal favorite is the Veal Parmesan, you can't go wrong with ant choice. While I choose to mention Charlie and Brian specifically, I must also say the ENTIRE staff makes each of our experiences at Varano's fantastic. Whether you are visiting Maine for pleasure or business or are a resident, Varano's is a must!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hofbrau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varano's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Varano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing