We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood and drinks”
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Hamburg, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great seafood and drinks”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We make a stop at Mike's part of our annual pilgrimage to/from Nova Scotia. Going both ways, it is the reward for a long day of driving! Mike's is busy but the service is superb and fast. The seafood couldn't be any fresher. We recommend it with enthusiasm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald Munroe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    385
    214
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ate dinner at Mike's Clam Shack while staying in Wells for the weekend, and we were very pleased with our experience. There was a line out the door and we were told the dining room had a wait of 35-40 mins, but we were able to sit right down at a table in the tavern with no wait at all. Our waitress was friendly, although she didn't stop at our table often because it was so busy, and the prices were quite high, but not any higher than any other seafood restaurant in the area. I had the baked lobster Mac and cheese, which was creamy and absolutely delicious, with large pieces of lobster in it. Our bacon wrapped scallops were tender and hot, and my boyfriend had the steamed clams, which were very good. Definitely try this place out!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizmacmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lobster to fly”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

wanted to take some lobsters back to Nebraska to share the bounty with friends, hotel recommended the fish market associated with Mike's. They did a fantastic job packing them up the evening before we left, 24 hours later there we were with live lobsters ready to cook. And they were great....!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OmahaTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great First Night in Maine”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Picked Mike's because any place with that many cars on a Tuesday night should be good. Super friendly staff on the front door and great wait staff. Our meals were all terrific. I had the stuffed sole special...yum! My husband had surf and turf with to die for clam strips... light and tender. And my son had a hugh hamburger. Fabulous meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quintessential Maine Lobsta!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've eaten at Mike's several times over the years and we've never been disappointed. They make delicious lobster rolls and fish and chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing