We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you need a table for 14”
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“When you need a table for 14”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place has all the food options you need with family from age 60 to 2. They were able to accommodate us with minimal wait time. Food is very good, especially the swordfish but others like the chicken tenders just as much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmur559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    375
    209
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Eat There”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We usually go to Maine once a year off season and we always make a stop at Mike's Clam Shack. It's a large restaurant so usually there is no waiting. I always order the lobster and have not tried too many other things but I have always liked the food and the wait staff has always been nice. The prices are really reasonable also. Easy location right on Route 1. It's a nice ride to get there and Wells is a great little town to visit. There are several restaurants in the area but some of my favorites have closed and others aren't as good as Mike's. It appears to be clean and neat and there is a bar for some that like that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good family place”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

atmosphere could use a little attention, great choc cream pie, ask for extra crispy when ordering fried food as mine could have been a little crispier/browner

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Haven't had a bad meal yet.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We eat at Mike's Clam Shack when we visit Wells and we have always had a very good meal. I would suggest going early during high peak vacation season. It is a popular eatery and it is always full around the usual dinner time (7-9PM).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great seafood and drinks”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We make a stop at Mike's part of our annual pilgrimage to/from Nova Scotia. Going both ways, it is the reward for a long day of driving! Mike's is busy but the service is superb and fast. The seafood couldn't be any fresher. We recommend it with enthusiasm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald Munroe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing