We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love Lafayettes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“love Lafayettes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had a great stay here - location, location, location, great service we didn't want to leave! Will be back soon:)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    110
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
136
126
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

June 29-July 2 we rented a room in the main building (Ledgeview) on the 3rd floor that had two double beds. We chose a room with no view to save money. They gave us a cot for one of our sons for free. The room was not at all fancy, and if you have high expectations for the decor of your accommodations this might not be the place for you. It was great for us because it was clean and comfortable and we didn't have to worry about ruining stuff (with two boys, 6 & 8, this is a realistic concern). I was worried about noise but it was pretty quiet. It helped that we were on the third floor--no one above us--and we had the AC unit on all the time to drown out other sounds.The hotel is in a great location because the beach is right there, the arcade is next door, you can walk to a couple of places to eat, it's near the "real" grocery store, etc. Note that during high tide there isn't a whole lot of beach space and people are crowded together in the sand against the ledge wall. At low tide people have room to spread out. My kids loved exploring the rocks during low tide. Further south there are some great tidepools (but don't catch any lobsters you see; you can get fined big $). We did rent a room for my mom in the "original building" and I thought the building was creepy but she said it was fine. We didn't use the pool but it looked great and definitely got use from other visitors. The only thing that bugged me was that we asked the front desk staff if we could keep our car parked in their lot for an extra few hours on the day we checked out and they said no. It was the Saturday before the 4th and all the public parking was gone by 8:30 or 9 a.m., but their lot was only 1/4 full by the time we left at 11. Otherwise they were very friendly and accommodating. We would go again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

we first stayed here about 2 yrs ago in july, had a great time
we were in one of there king suite ocean front rooms, relatively
new and clean and comfortable.we could walk out onto a large sunny patio (ocean front)
and then there were stairs down to the beach area. it was a rainy summer that year,
and we lucked out with a perfect weekend, and it was very quiet there- we had a great time.

this year we went for our 2nd visit- not so great.
they put us in a ocean front room but on the 3rd floor (3 flights of stairs- only access)
this room was original to the 70's. it was old and dirty and way outdated. the place was fully booked - so this was all that was available. the beds were horrible! we were all so sore + tired trying to sleep on these old delapitated mattresses. They also had a bad insect problem on the our floor. there were these small winged bugs just covering everything exterior- the doors, windows, walls, lights etc... and they were in side the room
everywhere also! (though not in the same masses as outside) and there were also sand fleas everywhere. it was every room on this floor with these insect problems.
we called the front desk and they had US come down for a can of raid. we went to work with the raid and knocked alot of the bugs back. we were quite put off and grossed out and now worried of bed bugs, so we slept on our towels. we couldnt wait to get out of there, we found a room at the cliff house for the end of the weekend and went there, it
was great- no bugs, great beds , and about the same price to boot.

so our experience was one xtreme to another here,
please note they even charge about the same price for the new rooms vs the old rooms,
i would suggest only staying here if you can get one of the newer bug free rooms

Room Tip: ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
I apologize that your stay at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach did not meet your expectations. We are proud to offer exceptionally clean and well-maintained accommodations. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the mosquitoes and flies that also inhabit the beach area. They can get into the rooms if the doors are left open. We have a diligent staff who do spray and try to control the flies. We welcome guest feedback and constructive criticism. I hope that you are able to find accommodations that better meet your needs the next time you visit Wells Beach.



Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a trip late to Maine and found all the great reviews for this place which made our decision easier. It was the right decision as we are overlooking the beach (right on it) and have easy access to a pool. Restaurants are close by and there is plenty for the kids (and adults) to do. Would highly recommend the place. While the decor wouldnt be my choice - it's spotless and everythingfrom the AC to the microwave works perfectly. Clearly the place is well maintained.

The beach is only accessable at low tide.
At high tide you basically can walk off the steps into the water. There are multiple buildings so if you don't want to look at a parking lot make sure you ask for the ocean front rooms (I'm guessing you pay more but IMO its worth it). If you stay on the ground floor you have access right outside your room to a big terrace area. All rooms have some access to the terrance but the ground floor rooms have areas sectioned of.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lafayette Oceanfront resort can not be beat for off season travel. We have spent many weekends here over the years during the winter months, and have never been disappointed. Hotel is clean and well kept. Rooms face the ocean , and if you book early you can get an ocean front balcony right on the beach. Get up early and take in a sunrise, than crawl back into bed. Can't beat it!
Friday check ins usually have fresh baked cookies waiting in the lobby for you. We will continue to call this our favorite off season hotel.
In season is great also if you like the beach crowd

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climax, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our very first visit to Maine !!! We stayed at Lafayette from July 24-31st..and it was by far the nicest vacation we've ever had..the room was absolutely gorgeous..stayed in the newly renovated Wells Beach Motor Inn building that had an oceanfront room w/balcony. VERY clean..very pretty, no complaints at all..you felt like you were the only ones there..no noises coming from other rooms...totally relaxing and enjoyable. The bed was more comfy than my own !!! King size bed as well..loved the beachy feel of the room decor..very very nice!!! The beach was just steps away..incredible beaches..the Forbes Restaurant just steps away for morning coffee to take back to your room(FREE coffee as compliments from motel..NICE touch..thank you!!!!) and sit out on the balcony with. HIGHLY recommend this as the place to vacation and stay!!! I loved Wells and the surrounding area..and will definitely be a return customer !! I wished we were still there..never wanted to leave!!! Thanks for a very very memorable happy vacation !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseR530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I made reservations over the phone. The service was excellent. When we arrived, the front desk people were friendly & helpful. Very Clean. Great cleaning staff..friendly.
Our room was newly renovated & was on the waterfront. Absoulutely beautiful. A small refrigerator, microwave, iron board & iron and hairdryer is in the room. You can go to the lobby if you need anything. (games, books, computer, menu's, towels(for pool). Washer & dryers are available.
A small restaurant is right on the property for breakfast & lunch for take out or inside eating. A great but small cafe is right there to walk to, right next to the excess parking lot.
This is a well patrolled area & I don't recommend partying..lot of families & no smoking.
It is pricey, but I searched many places to reserve & they are all pricey if you want the waterfront.
Trolley service to take you many different places all day long & at night as well.
I love Wells & highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor w/small balcony best. The first floor is better for families w/kids where you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippymunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing