We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nice experience.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Although it's been a couple of years since my last stay at this hotel complex, we will certainly be back again.
Its location can't be beat-directly on Wells Beach...with many rooms that open right onto a beach-side patio.
The hotel is convenient to route 1, shopping, gas and food.
General-public parking is tight here in-season, although the hotel does a good job 'guarding' its own designated parking areas.
The rooms are good-spacious, clean and neat. We had a mini-fridge and coffee maker in our room as well as the appropriate bathroom amenities. The property is well-maintained even in the dead of winter.
This stay we tried the 'marsh view' building which was a first for me but very nice.
Customer service at LaFayettes is always top-notch, friendly and helpful; I have never had a negative experience with the folks at check in or while making reservations.
This hotel has a wonderful indoor heated pool and jacuzzi (with a timed waterfall even!), a small reading 'library' and guest-use computers in the lobby, plenty of local tourism information and is adjacent to a small casual (trays/bus your own tables) restaurant.
During this stay (September) the restaurant closed at 2 pm, however we tried a quick breakfast there (complimentary coffee coupons given by the hotel) and it was fine- very quick, nothing fancy but it did the job. (plus, the coffee was HUGE)
Prices at LaFayettes are not bottom of the barrel, but the value is there, found in the excellent location, excellent service and many amenities offered. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Wells.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have spent many years staying at Wells Beach. We first stayed at LaFayettes when it was Forbes! It is the same yet better. They continually update their facility with new carpeting, new TVs, etc. The location is unbeatable. Walk out the door, and the beauty of Wells Beach is at your feet. Many of the rooms are Beachfront and these are lovely and there are choices in regard to beachfront. For a more modest budget you can rent a perfectly comfortable room in the Original Building and walk through the building and be out on the patio--oceanside! The motel has a terrific indoor simming pool which is a hit with the children. Each room has a fridge and they have laundry facilities on site, which is pretty important if you travel with children. You are within walking distance (a couple of minutes, honestly) of a playground, snack bar, arcade, candy store, convenience store). A major grocery store is about two miles down the road and the public transportation takes you there if you do not want to drive. The staff is friendly, helpful and accomodating. Many times we booked a room for a few days only to decide to stay longer and they always make it happen. The rooms are clean as can be, and are in very good condition. The housekeeping staff is always friendly and helpful. This is not a "fancy" place, it is clean and comfortable, and perfect for anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms that are oceanside---to the left of the parking lot are quiet and wonderful. You are on t...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wilymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had a great stay here - location, location, location, great service we didn't want to leave! Will be back soon:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

June 29-July 2 we rented a room in the main building (Ledgeview) on the 3rd floor that had two double beds. We chose a room with no view to save money. They gave us a cot for one of our sons for free. The room was not at all fancy, and if you have high expectations for the decor of your accommodations this might not be the place for you. It was great for us because it was clean and comfortable and we didn't have to worry about ruining stuff (with two boys, 6 & 8, this is a realistic concern). I was worried about noise but it was pretty quiet. It helped that we were on the third floor--no one above us--and we had the AC unit on all the time to drown out other sounds.The hotel is in a great location because the beach is right there, the arcade is next door, you can walk to a couple of places to eat, it's near the "real" grocery store, etc. Note that during high tide there isn't a whole lot of beach space and people are crowded together in the sand against the ledge wall. At low tide people have room to spread out. My kids loved exploring the rocks during low tide. Further south there are some great tidepools (but don't catch any lobsters you see; you can get fined big $). We did rent a room for my mom in the "original building" and I thought the building was creepy but she said it was fine. We didn't use the pool but it looked great and definitely got use from other visitors. The only thing that bugged me was that we asked the front desk staff if we could keep our car parked in their lot for an extra few hours on the day we checked out and they said no. It was the Saturday before the 4th and all the public parking was gone by 8:30 or 9 a.m., but their lot was only 1/4 full by the time we left at 11. Otherwise they were very friendly and accommodating. We would go again.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank flyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

we first stayed here about 2 yrs ago in july, had a great time
we were in one of there king suite ocean front rooms, relatively
new and clean and comfortable.we could walk out onto a large sunny patio (ocean front)
and then there were stairs down to the beach area. it was a rainy summer that year,
and we lucked out with a perfect weekend, and it was very quiet there- we had a great time.

this year we went for our 2nd visit- not so great.
they put us in a ocean front room but on the 3rd floor (3 flights of stairs- only access)
this room was original to the 70's. it was old and dirty and way outdated. the place was fully booked - so this was all that was available. the beds were horrible! we were all so sore + tired trying to sleep on these old delapitated mattresses. They also had a bad insect problem on the our floor. there were these small winged bugs just covering everything exterior- the doors, windows, walls, lights etc... and they were in side the room
everywhere also! (though not in the same masses as outside) and there were also sand fleas everywhere. it was every room on this floor with these insect problems.
we called the front desk and they had US come down for a can of raid. we went to work with the raid and knocked alot of the bugs back. we were quite put off and grossed out and now worried of bed bugs, so we slept on our towels. we couldnt wait to get out of there, we found a room at the cliff house for the end of the weekend and went there, it
was great- no bugs, great beds , and about the same price to boot.

so our experience was one xtreme to another here,
please note they even charge about the same price for the new rooms vs the old rooms,
i would suggest only staying here if you can get one of the newer bug free rooms

Room Tip: ask for an updated room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

I apologize that your stay at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach did not meet your expectations. We are proud to offer exceptionally clean and well-maintained accommodations. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the mosquitoes and flies that also inhabit the beach area. They can get into the rooms if the doors are left open. We have a diligent staff who do spray and try to control the flies. We welcome guest feedback and constructive criticism. I hope that you are able to find accommodations that better meet your needs the next time you visit Wells Beach.



Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a trip late to Maine and found all the great reviews for this place which made our decision easier. It was the right decision as we are overlooking the beach (right on it) and have easy access to a pool. Restaurants are close by and there is plenty for the kids (and adults) to do. Would highly recommend the place. While the decor wouldnt be my choice - it's spotless and everythingfrom the AC to the microwave works perfectly. Clearly the place is well maintained.

The beach is only accessable at low tide.
At high tide you basically can walk off the steps into the water. There are multiple buildings so if you don't want to look at a parking lot make sure you ask for the ocean front rooms (I'm guessing you pay more but IMO its worth it). If you stay on the ground floor you have access right outside your room to a big terrace area. All rooms have some access to the terrance but the ground floor rooms have areas sectioned of.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lafayette Oceanfront resort can not be beat for off season travel. We have spent many weekends here over the years during the winter months, and have never been disappointed. Hotel is clean and well kept. Rooms face the ocean , and if you book early you can get an ocean front balcony right on the beach. Get up early and take in a sunrise, than crawl back into bed. Can't beat it!
Friday check ins usually have fresh baked cookies waiting in the lobby for you. We will continue to call this our favorite off season hotel.
In season is great also if you like the beach crowd

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach.

Sincerely,

Katheryn Kelly
General Manager
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort at Wells Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
431 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £36 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing