We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just got back from Maine. Spent 2 nights. Had oceanfront room. We stayed in the renovated rooms. They are very nice!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank audreyglencarbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel is a great find. The room right on the ocean was perfect, the service was good, the hot tub was great, and best of all watching the full moon rise over the ocean was amazing. We'll be going back again hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnston2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Roadtripping in Maine and wanted an oceanfront room. It was off season, cool and rainy but an oceanfront room was calling our names anyways. We picked Lafayettes thanks to tripadvisor. Staff was accomodating and nice. We paid off season rates for an upgrade room. Outside of the building made us wonder about our choice when we approached. It was clean and maintained but older. The inside of the room was perfect though. It was small but very inviting, clean and updated. We were in the 2nd floor (only 2 floors) and had a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table outside. Refrig and micro along with a big flatscreen tv. Shower, toilet area was small but all looked new. Sink was outside the shower area. They made great use of older building and small rooms. We were impressed and very comfortable. Wonderful view of the beach from the room. Slept with the door partly open to listen to the waves. Room had a small loveseat, chair and coffee table in front of the sliding doors out onto the balcony. Would love to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iowa-emt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at Lafayette's. There were 6 in our party, 2 high schoolers, 2 middle schoolers, hubby and I. The room was clean and met our needs, the indoor heated pool was excellent as was the jacuzzi. The decor of the main building, which is where we stayed, reminds me of the 70's but that to doesn't matter. The staff is great, very friendly and they work hard to ensure their guests have a great stay. Everything was very clean! Beds and pillows were comfortable too - rooms had a fridge, microwave and hairdryer. They also provided towels for use at the pool.

Our room was on the first floor, and there was a patio that overlooked a small parking lot between the building and the beach. We watched the sunrise two mornings and were pretty much the only ones out there.

The location is great - it's definitely at the beach - we walked on the beach a number of times. Local restaurants are plentiful. My husband and our 16 year old son both wished we had been able to stay longer - it was a great trip!

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 in your room you may want to stay on the ground floor as the patio will acco...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New_Englander225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Lafayette during the week as we live 30 minutes inland and we had to be out of our house while we were having some work done. It was the greatest room/suite on the water, very cute and tasteful room decor! The staff was so pleasant and accommodating that we bought them all donuts after we went to breakfast. We would stay there again in a minute!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Even though we stayed here when the weather was definetly not at its best..the veiw and location of this place is amazing!! The room was very clean and up to date and my husband has a really hardtime sleeping in different beds, and the bed we had was extremely comfortable. The staff was more then just polite they were friendly and very helpful. I would definetly reccomend this resort to anyone during any season of the year. We had a balcony room on the water and i am in hopes to be able to go back there again someday with my children.

Room Tip: a room on the water with a balcony!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've been going here with family and friends for years. It's a wonderful resort, despite not being anything other than ordinary in terms of accommodations. Said another way, you don't go here because you are looking for a high-end resort, you go here for the location! This is an ideal vacation spot if you want to be right on the beach.

Here's what I think you'll love about this place...

-Location- right on the beach, and minutes from restaurants, Ogonquit, mini-golf, kayaking, biking, Kennebunkport, and the highway (95).
-Accommodations- it's not fancy, but it's clean, housekeeping does a great job (particularly given that this is a beachfront resort with lots of sand coming in and out of the rooms), you have many choices in terms of types of rooms (beachfront, ocean-view, street-view, etc.), so you can adjust according to your budget).
-Hospitality- this is a very friendly bunch! It's a very New England feeling place, almost a throw back in some ways. Their reservation system for example is still very paper based, with limited computer integration....a small, meaningless detail to be sure, but it's kind of nice to take a step back to a simpler time and watch them work this way. You'll be impressed by how low-key and friendly everyone is, my favorite being Toni who has been there forever I think!
-Beach- it's a very fun beach, primarily because it's hard pack sand, with some cool rock environments scattered throughout. Kids love to hunt for snails and such, play bocce, soccer, or any other sport. Adults love games too! The surf is great for boogie boarding, skimming, etc. Yes the water tends to be cold, but this is Maine! The beach is also great for walking, with rows of homes to look at when you're not looking at the surf.
-Pool- there's a great indoor pool and hot-tub in the main building of the resort. It's always a good temperature, clean and a fun place to spend some time when not at the beach.
-Local shops- there's a half dozen small shops on the property, including a throw-back arcade that's a lot of fun with kids. The shops have everything you'll need like newspapers, coffee, beach supply's, essentials, etc., as well as souvenirs, candy and wine!
-Local restaurant - there's a more than adequate restaurant right in the middle of the property, maybe 50 feet from the beach. It has good breakfast, lunch and dinner, including the classic deep-fried seafood you'd expect to get in Maine on vacation! You also get vouchers for free coffee here when you check in which is a nice touch.
-Relaxing- this is just one of those places where you are almost forced to unwind and relax....leave your iPhone at home!
-Proximity- it's very convenient to a lot of other great destinations, like Ogonquit, Kennebunkport, Portland, etc. And there's plenty of restaurants nearby as well, particularly in Ogonquit. There's also a lot of great places to get live lobsters, or cooked lobsters if you want to eat on the beach like we do a lot.
-Ice cream - one of the best ice cream places anywhere in the world is in Wells....it's called ScoopDeck and it's located just South on Route 1....everyone will know where it is. Don't miss this place, it has dozens of creative flavors you'll love! The line gets long but goes fast.
-Value - unless you base your value judgements on how high-end your room is, I think you'll agree with me after going that there's great value here. The rooms are in the $150-$250/night range at peak season, which isn't bad at all given all you get at a great location.

Here's a list of some things you may not like as much, but more meant just as information for you so you are aware:

-Noise - this is a family place, the rooms are on the older side so the insulation isn't great. It's by no means an excessively noisy spot, but don't expect to have total peace and quiet here....it's just not that type of resort. But I'm rather finicky about noise (ask my wife!), and I love it here so that should tell you something. I just go with a different mindset, knowing what to anticipate and accept. I'd try to get a top floor room if you are overly sensitive to noise from above.
-Parking - they are very strict about parking, with designated spots reserved only for guests. Of course this is a great thing if you are a guest, but if you are planning to have friends or even multiple cars just beware. They only allow one parking spot per room, and they do enforce this. There's some other parking options nearby, but nothing too great so plan accordingly. They also have free public parking right at the lobby area of the hotel near the beach, but this fills up fast as you'd imagine. TIP: On the day you check-out, move your car early in the morning to one of these free spots, that way you don't have to find a spot after check out if you plan to hang around the beach.
-Tide - Nothing you can do about this one, but the tides do swallow up the beach each day based on the tide schedule. Not a big deal to us, as we just plan accordingly and hit the pool or head out. But check the tide schedules so you know when high tide occurs and adjust as needed. It's only a couple of hours max each day that the entire beach is underwater, and often occurs early or late enough not to matter....but not always!
-Traffic - just beware that traffic on Route 1, particularly Southbound, can be heavy. It usually moves along, but plan accordingly just in case. There's also some trolley services you can take as well, but they face the same traffic you will.

Hope this is helpful, we love this spot and I think you will too! Just go with the mindset that you are spending time at an older resort, in an awesome location with wonderful people....hard to beat that with your family!

Room Tip: Check out their website before you call so you understand what your room options are. There's ma...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opinionsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,037 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £36 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing