We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place off-season”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've been coming here 2-3 times a year for 12 years now, usually October-April. The off-season rates are excellent and I love the quiet beach at those times of year. I avoid the place in the summer; the rates are astronomical and the beach is crazy-crowded. That's to be expected, and some people don't mind, but it's not my style and not in my price range.
Lafeyette's is essentially a motel but I hate to call it that, because it's so much more. It's not quite a "resort", as the name claims, but it's got all the necessary amenities plus an awesome pool and hot tub with waterfall! And it's RIGHT on the ocean! And the rooms have fridges and microwaves! I'm not going to mention the special amenities my favorite rooms have, because then they'd be even more popular and harder for me to book! This is one awesome place and my favorite quick getaway. Oh, and the people at the front desk are friendly and helfpul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquidion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

My boyfriend and I came here just to get away for the night. We got a room with an ocean view which was very reasonably priced and very very clean. The staff was as friendly and helpful as they could possibly be. Our main reason for going was to sit by the pool and just relax. Upon arrival we learned that our room was not in the main building where the pool is located.The woman at the front desk immediately changed our room to one with a view in the main building. The pool is clean and great to lounge by. Great for people with kids or just looking to get away. We are planning a trip back later in the winter for my birthday. A great break up to winter monotony.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been coming here for many years, always a good experience. The ocean is at your door front, can hear the surf 24/7. Great restaurants in the area. The locals are also very friendly and helpful.

The one thing I would like to see change is taking the $1.00 charge for 'phone' of from the bill, seems so silly in the 21st century,given the fact there is free WIFI. They may also need to upgrade to an electronic system for booking and check - in, and accept credit cards rather than a check for paying the first nights stay to hold a room.

Room Tip: Staying in the oceanfront rooms is the best
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night wish could have been longer.Beautiful view, room located on beach.Great staff,very clean and comfortable,great shower.Just what we needed.If you're in need of a great seafood dinner just ask staff...suggested place called Mike's restaurant.Great food an reasonably priced.If you are a early riser check out beautiful sunrise.We will keep this place on are list

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rihunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had the best time here, friendly staff, great room, perfect ocean views , can't wait to go back. If your in need of a recharge Maine is the place and this is the resort. Close to all the outlets and terrific restaurants, great small shops and antiques , plus the beach , just wonderful .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just returned from a girls only weekend and stayed at Lafayette's. What a pleasant surprise to find the rooms totally redone in the main building. Very nice job and the only thing I would recommend is more mirror space than just the one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank townclerk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The facilities and service at the Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort was top notch. Yes, the decor is a bit outdated but it was clean and well kept. Staff were friendly and courteous the whole time we were there. We booked here because they had rooms right on the beach and we were treated to five wonderful sunrises. Falling asleep with the sound of the ocean lapping on the beach evening can't be beat. Location is also close to Kennebunkport and beach as well as many other attractions. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Oceanfront view is a must.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £36 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing